Looking for volunteers to teach English and help with social work to children in a costral area in Raha, Lagasa, Sulawesi, Indonesia



Favorito 45 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
  • Descrição


    Hello workawayers! I am Melisa 23 years old, an English teacher and a part time tour guide. I love playing rubik cube and puzzle, playing guitar, reading English novel with fiction or non-fiction genre, traveling, biking, and cooking. I live in a small place, Raha southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia, with my mom, dad, two sisters, and one young brother. My mom is bugis tribe and my dad is muna tribe. So, I understand 2 different traditional languages from my parents. You will have many great friends and family here! Basically, I am an open minded person and highly motivated to learn, work or run social activities, and meet new people from around the world.

    Actually, I have been participating in social projects since I was a college student in 2013. While active in college and social projects, I also was a tour guide for guest from Poland and taught bahasa for English Teaching Assistance from America, previously from Seattle and New Jersey. With my persistence, I got a great chance to get scholarship for joining short course and leadership training in USA for 6 weeks by US. Embassy. When I back from America, I am interested in establishing a maker space for kids and youth around my place in Raha, Lagasa, southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia.

    Basically, I have been living near the coastal area for about 18 years. This area has many children and youth who have many learning needs. Most of them need the ability to technology, access to reading books, and the importance of good behaviour towards others and environment. Furthermore, with social sensitivity, I have the initiative to start creating a possitive environment for children as well as youth in this coastal area. This community is a new learning space for children in coastal area, lagasa in Raha Southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia where we will have some programs for children and youth, such us clean up-day, one day speaking English, gadget literacy, reading literacy, movie night, story telling, role play, art performance, and games. We will have two meetings in a week for running our activity, for instance, checking their understanding about their reading lists then giving reward for those who read some books that they are interested in and do some creative activities. Currently, we are opening for books donation to create a small library for them. Kids will be so happy to get English reading books that can be used in learning.

    We are looking for people or voluteers to help our community with English lesson, gadget literacy, arts, etc... in creative ways. Besides, I have a new small English course in my house named English Private Center. Curently, I teach English to children and youth in my house. You could help me to teach them English at afternoon or at night.

    We will be so happy when you teach those childrens and adults with your awesome ideas! Feel free to apply your own crative ideas! Students will be so happy when you bring your English books or any learning stuff to teach them. Students are very funny and loving to learn while playing with you in a fun ways.

    There will also be more free time for you to visit some tourism objects near by my house, learn traditional culture, learn bahasa indonesia and traditional language, communicate with local people around coastal or fisherman area, and etc.

    We cannot wait to work with a kind person like you!

    Best regards,

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will have great time for hanging out, learning our culture, Indonesian language, traditional language, making traditional foods, communicating with local people in coastal place or around my house, and visiting some local people activities. Our volunteers will also learn about our culture and way of life in my place, Lagasa, Southeast Sulawesi in Indonesia. They will live with me and my family in our house and will be warmly welcomed into our community.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    I need volunteer who can teach English, share knowledge, and empower childrens and youth in my place to learn English.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Indonesian: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    You will stay and sleep in my house as your host. If we have multiple volunteers, people of the same sex share a room ( boy with boys and girl with girls ), except a families. We have 3 rooms and 2 toilets. You will have the choice of staying in one of the rooms in my house. We provide a mattress, a mosquito net, fan, blanket and pillows. The bathroom is local style with cold shower and squat toilet. We will provide you three meals each day, prepared by my mom and I which also we can adapt depending on your preference (and its availability), including: breakfast (cakes/bread, egg, fruits, tea, coffee, or water), lunch (local food: rice, vegetable, fish/tofu/tempe/egg), and dinner (bread, fruit, rice or vegetables). You also can try healthy traditional foods from us. You also could drink tea, coffee, or milk whenever you want. You could make it by your own or we can help you to make it.
    Note: You can reach us by taking a flight from Makassar to Muna Barat (from Hasanuddin airport to Sugimanuru airport) and we will pick you up on the airport and take you to our house.
    A further note is that we also open to having a discussion about something you like or dislike in order to avoid any misunderstandings between us.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Basically, my house is just about 7 minutes from coastal or fisherman area, 15 minutes from the central place for watching some events. The house is also near by some tourism objects, such as meleura beach, napabale lake, liangkabori cave, wakila mountain, and etc.. We just spent about 20-25 minutes to be there by motor motorcycle or car. We can also explore some tourism objects that will spend 2 hours from my house.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 588125859791