Natural building and agroforestry in the mountains of Gerês, Portugal

  • Favorito 411 vezes
  • Última atividade: 18 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our land is a secluded hectare of terraced oak forest nestled into the southeast-facing slope of a valley fed by numerous springs. The base of the property runs along a fresh spring-fed creek with multiple bathing spots, and the top of the property catches views of the Peneda-Gerês mountain range.

    I (Escott) bought the property last year as an experiment in off-grid living and agroforestry, with the eventual intention of hosting friends for small arts and meditation gatherings throughout the year. Although I'm a mechanical engineer by education, the patterns of humans and natural systems will always be infinitely more beautiful to me than machines, and my life and project reflects this. I live here with my exceptional partner Kat, an artist, cook, and general maker with a soft spot for fruit, brassicas, and trying to make everything herself.

    The project is in its infanthood, and still evolving day by day. The philosophy behind the design is based heavily in regenerative principles, with an emphasis on sustainable food forestry and natural building using wood and materials from the land. It is a place of active creation, devoted learning, deep play, and meditation. I hope you can find yourself here, as I have.

    We're quite remote, so having a car/van greatly increases your ability to explore independently, but we're very happy to take you with us when we go on trips to town/friends' places so it's not an insurmountable obstacle, especially if you're looking to spend focused time on the land and occupy yourself here.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The surrounding area is rich ecologically as well as culturally. The land is nestled in a small valley along the foothills of Gerês National Park, with a view of the mountains across the river. Historically, the Minho valley is sometimes referred to as the cradle of Portugal, holding the oldest medieval villages in the country.

    The community in these hills is always growing and changing. we're involved in a few local cooperatives including the building of a small-scale sociocratic school along with some families in a nearby town, and there are often meetups and exchanges between cultures.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The nature of the tasks on the land varies depending on the season and which projects are on the go! However, there is almost always energy to be poured into the annual garden and food forest (building new beds, pulling brambles, propagating plants, clearing thickets, designing and planting new sections of food forest), and consistently construction work around the property (carpentry with a focus on roundwood timber framing, foundation work, stonework for steps and paths). We're also open to artists in residency; if you want to contribute to the project in a more creative and artistic way, we're very open to suggestions and seeing if we can turn your dream into a reality here.

    This is a very 'hands in the dirt' site; so if you want to expand your experience of hands in the soil or on tools, this is the place for you!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Japonês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We are both actively learning Portuguese, and very eager to practice :)

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    At the moment (until we rebuild the caravan!), we can only offer basic camping accommodation; a canvas tent with a view of the mountains, pitched within a beautiful grove of forest, as well as a simple camping mattress and sleeping bag.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The coastline of the Atlantic is a 40 minute drive to the West, and the mountains of Peneda-Gerês National Park 20 minutes to the East.
    There are natural hot springs, hikes through ancient oak forest, a coastline with surf spots, medieval towns, all within 45 minutes driving. The two nearest [tiny] villages are within 10 minutes walk away.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    The property is accessible by van, and there is a spot to park within a few dozen metres of running water, [solar] electricity, and a comfortable compost toilet. The access is a steep concrete track - the traction is excellent, however the turnaround space atop the hill limits vehicle length to ~6m max.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We love animals! However, we don't love when they dig up the garden- we trust you to ensure your lovely beast doesn't do this while on the land. Also please note that Nimbu, our little black cat, is very sweet with people but does not get on so well with dogs, so inside of the yurt is a no-dog zone. If your dog is known to have problems with cats (chasing them up trees etc.), we ask that they don't stay on the land for extended periods.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 586866899924

Comentário (2)


Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)




Volunteer with horses and general help in Figueira, Algarve, Portugal
Come to us! Join the journey towards a self-sufficient life in Sao Pedro do Sul, Portugal