Help renovate an old cottage and practice English in Pays de la Loire, France

Country

França

Favorito 142 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    07/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    37

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello, we are a couple of french, living in the West of the France. My husband and I have 52 years old. I was a teacher and now i am retired. My husband is archaeologist.

    We live in the countryside close to a city that is Le Mans, 200 km from Paris. This town is famous because it welcomes every year a world car race "24 hours of le Mans”.

    We have both peace and the proximity to nature, but also cultural activities of a big city. we have a old house surrounded by a field and an orchard. In the region, the ballads by bicycle and on foot are easy; the forest is close.

    Hoping you like our region, do not hesitate to contact us.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Prática de idiomas

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    If you wish, I can teach you speaking the French language, French cuisine, permaculture, beekeeping, make bread with yeast, the realization of organic paint, etc... Our hobbies are divided between sports activities (yoga, tai chi chuan, bike) and cultural activities (cinema, theatre...).

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I am looking for a workawayer who would like to experience living in the French countryside just outside Le Mans.

    I need help in the following areas :

    Renovation of old house (french cottage) : cleanning, using some natural matérials (coating and paint to whitewash), I can teach you how to use simple machines for DIY (like the drill).

    Practise and correct my spoken English. This can be through conversation on day to day topics, life, reading a book, listening to music, etc I do not expect you to be a qualified teacher just someone who has a good level of English and recognizes and corrects my mistakes, especially accent. If you want, i can help you for your french practice. To Le Mans's university, it exists some french courses (for a price very cheap and it's 25 hours a week). There are 15 hours of classes that take place every night and 10 hours of battery life on your computer).


    Some work in the garden (weeding, planting, cutting grass, etc). Being an ecologist I love nature and my garden is one of my big passions. I use permaculture methods of gardening and would welcome any new ideas on this. I can also teach you what I know if you are interested in this.

    I try to clean the house once every two weeks and any help to hoover, mop floors, etc. would really be appreciated
    If you have some cookery skills I would love to try food from your country. If you are interested in learning some French cuisine I know some good recipes, my husband Gerrard is also a very good cook and has helped my last 2 workawayers learn some new recipes

    The number of hours a day to work is 5 hours, on Monday to Friday. Sometimes the hours can be more but only if you are happy and want to do this to take extra time off to compensate. For example my last workawayer sometimes done extra hours so he could take off Friday and visit Paris for the weekend.

    I respect the workaway ethic and do not believe in taking advantage of people. For me it is more about building long lasting friendships. Whoever comes here will be treated like family and be able to experience an authentic French way of living. If you need privacy this is respected, you will have your own room. If you want to socialise and meet some of my friends you also have this option and are most welcome.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Your accommodation is a bedroom in our house. Meals are taken together. I'm a vegetarian; My husband eat a little meat and fish.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our village which is 2 km away from us offers all basic services (sports, yoga, Bank, doctors...). 15 km away from this village is located the large city Le Mans, which has 120,000 inhabitants. This city has a University and all the services of a big city. The old city centre has a very beautiful and interesting historical heritage (the middle ages houses, wall Gallo-Roman, museums, abbeys...).

    Within a radius of 50 km, the South of the Department is characterized by a mild climate (presence of vineyards). In the North-West of the Department can be climbing and trecking in State forests. A little further, 250 km, you can get on the coast of Brittany and Normandy regions. To get to the village or the city of Le Mans, we will lend you a bike or my car for free (only gasoline will be at your charge: €2 for outward and return for exemple between le mans and my home). A bus also exists between our village and the city of Le Mans (€2 way and back). If you want to go to Paris, there is the TGV (high-speed train). In an hour you beings in Paris.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 25 hours a week









Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 569485676673