Help us out with our homestead and regenerative farm in Ginestar, Spain

  • Espanha
  • Favorito 807 vezes
  • Última atividade: 21 mar. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    We're a family of four living in a small stone casita on an 8 acre piece of land in Catalonia. Our aim is to establish a self-sufficient homestead while farming almonds and olives using agroforestry, regenerative agriculture and permaculture practices. We're interested in growing food for ourselves and others whilst building soil and healing the land. We're trying to live as simply and sustainably as we can and unlearn some of our 'civilised' habits.

    We're a sociable bunch and enjoy conversation, good food/drink and musical happenings.

    Before we came to settle here five years ago we 'unschooled' our boys and spent a year driving around the Mediterranean in a big Hymer motorhome.

    I (Selina) am studying for a four year diploma in professional herbalism and aim to grow an extensive herb garden and hopefully practice as a medical herbalist in the years to come.

    I have a deep passion for nurturing our connections to land and life and hope to continue to share and deepen that love.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We're happy to share all our learning up to date on permaculture and regenerative agriculture practices as well as any other knowledge we've gained by travelling and living in the Catalunyan countryside. Helpers will get a feel for 'life on the land' and how regenerative agriculture and permaculture can be part of the solution for a changing climate. Our children speak Catalan and the adults get by with cobbled together Spanish and Catalan. We enjoy discussions, communal meals and occasional music-making.

    I (Selina) have started herbalism studies and may be able to offer some beginner knowledge for interested folks

    This area of Catalonia offers much for lovers of the outdoors and our immediate surroundings are rural and very beautiful. There are opportunities for walking, cycling and kayaking amongst other things and there is lots of wildlife to enjoy. The river Ebro is famous for fishing.

    The major cities of Reus, Tarragona, Tortosa and Barcelona are close enough to visit. There are beaches half an hour's drive away but these can be difficult to access without independent transport.

    Our farm has panoramic mountain views and is in a quiet undisturbed spot, making it the perfect place to focus on painting, writing and yoga or any other pursuit that requires a certain amount of peace and beauty!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We like all kinds of helpers and we need all kinds of different help! From moving sheep fencing to dog walking, shovelling manure to dry stone wall repair and everything in between.

    This year, we're open to hosting people for longer or shorter lengths of time. We feel we'd be an ideal place for couples or groups of friends with an interest in setting up their own projects/homesteads to really get a good grounding in the realities, challenges and joys of taking on land, animals and a simpler-not-necessarily-easier way of life. As Rob and I are busy with online work and study we're really looking for people that are able to be self-sufficient and resilient.

    We have vegetable gardens, young fruit trees, olive trees, almond trees, 4 sheep, 6 chickens, 1 dog, 4 goats and two sons. All of this demands our time and attention and we appreciate help with all of it, although tasks do change throughout the seasons.

    We're essentially a regenerative homestead and there are many unglamorous daily tasks that we look for assistance with as well as occasional building projects and our main harvests in Mid-August/Sept and the end of October to the middle of November.

    The work is generally pretty physical, so we appreciate volunteers who are not scared to get stuck in and can accept that our set-up is not one that offers much luxury! Particular skills/knowledge that we could use at the moment

    - Gardening knowledge and experience. Weeding, planting, pruning, putting in irrigation, a vigilance for spotting problems with the plants

    - Tree maintenence. Pruning using hand saws, secateurs, or loppers.

    - Dry stone walling skills or experience of having built/rebuilt dry stone wall under the instruction of someone else

    - Timber frame construction (doesn't have to be anything fancy but some experience with knowing how to put up simple structures)

    - Farm animal care. Helping with goat milking, feeding, watering, giving love but mainly understanding the importance of rotational/mob grazing of ruminants, and fully embracing the essential work of moving animal fences regularly (see Polyface farm and Joel Salatin)

    - General land management; mowing, strimming etc

    From mid-August we need any willing and able people for almond harvesting - No special skills or experience are required for this, but a sense of enthusiasm and fun is helpful as it is hot and sweaty work!

    We're happy to hear from any potential volunteers whatever the level of skill and experience but an interest in and enthusiam for the kind of work we're doing here is essential. A good positive attitude and an ability to get on with tasks without supervision together with a sense of humour, a love of outdoor life and a genuine willingness to help restore our land and all the injured places of the world.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Catalan: Iniciante
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    We have a small and very basic caravan that is dry and has a woodburner. We're hoping that practical and creative volunteers can improve and make beautiful this little space. Other accommodation during the spring, summer and autumn months is under canvas. We have various tents of varying sizes so can usually accomodate most travelling permutations. It's worth pointing out that staying here is largely an outdoor experience. Toilets are outdoor compost loos and washing facilities are rudimentary and under the sky. The volunteer kitchen (that we also occasionally use) is also outdoors! It's a primitive way to live but there is a whole lot of satisfaction to be found in that - and no better way to fully connect with nature.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is so much to do within a couple of hour's drive! From the Ebro Delta, to the bustle of Barcelona, this region is full of potential. Our nearest village has a couple of basic shops and several bars and is a couple of kilometres away. Our nearest towns, Mora d'ebre and Mora la nova are approximately 20 mins away as is our nearest railway station. There are two buses a day through the village to the town. You can reach a number of beaches within 30 mins by car.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have plenty of space for caravans and campervans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 568678116559

Comentário (22)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Beautiful place in the countryside, surrounded by nature, near the sea and near the mountains in Ulldecona, Spain
Help our son with his English and walk our affectionate dog in Ibiza, Spain