Experience Australian wildlife up close while helping with permaculture, gardening and bush regeneration

Country

Austrália

atualizado  

Favorito 38 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    26/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our 20 acre property is at the beginning of the Hunter Valley just 15 minutes from the Sydney-Newcastle railway. We will pick up and drop off at the station.

    We moved here from Sydney 7 years ago for a "tree change" and absolutely love it. We have pasture and a beautiful rainforest gully which we are regenerating (it was full of weeds), two horses, a miniature pony, chickens and a dog. We are husband Phil, wife José and adult son James, his partner Gaby. Our daughter Helen lives in Newcastle and visits regularly to ride. Horse riding is our passion and we regularly go to competitions.

    We have inherited permaculture features, plants and trees and want to do more (swales, food forest etc) . We grow vegetables and have fruit and nut trees. We are learning about regenerative farming to improve the pasture and capture water. We will shortly start making biochar. The property backs onto a native conservation area/forest with many delightful, well marked bushwalks. There is an abundance of birds and wildlife; kangaroos and wallabies, frogs and insects. There are wombats too but we have only ever seen them via a wildlife camera.

    We escaped the worst of the floods in June but the property is very wet and there are drains to be dug, garden beds to be refreshed and weeds to be pulled.

    We run an equestrian mapping software business from home. For overseas visitors, we would love to practise our languages and perhaps give you a break from speaking English all the time which can be tiring. We have a spare, very comfortable double room in an annexe to our country house. There is room to park a van, caravan etc. James and Gaby are very musical and Phil and Jose love to listen, so musicians are very welcome. We love cooking all different styles including vegetarian, family meals and are keen to learn new recipes from all over the world.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Experience the australian bush and its beautiful animals, plants, birds and insects first hand. Learn about permaculture, bush regeneration and regenerative farming. Enjoy home cooking (meat eaters and vegetarians welcome). Visit the wine region of the Hunter Valley and cultural centre of Newcastle. Learn how to look after horses and chickens (collect the eggs!). One of our horses is suitable for beginners to ride. We would love to have the chance to practise our languages and give you a break from speaking English all the time.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Mainly gardening and weeding of paddocks and bush area. No prior experience necessary but be aware it is physical. Fixing things (mechanical, building, carpentry). Digging. Picking fruit and nuts. The dog is always keen for a walk!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Korean: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I studied German and French at university but am quite rusty. We lived in the Netherlands for 5 years.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A very comfortable double room in an annexe to a simple country house. Shared bathroom, living room and kitchen. Meals provided - meat or vegetarian. We are keen and adventurous cooks. You are very welcome to cook too.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Visit the vineyards, Newcastle which is New South Wales' second city. Beaches, bush walks. We are 15 minutes from the Sydney to Newcastle railway and happy to drop off/pick up.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We run a software business from home. The internet is has been recently improved with an external antenna but is not "city speed". You can zoom etc. We have good Telstra mobile reception but other telcos have no coverage.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    No problem parking a vehicle large or small.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 561656342725