Help need it for transforming a wild plot in a small sky watcher retreat in El Hierro, Canary Islands



Favorito 99 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    84.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

  • Descrição


    After many years thinking about it, I have just bought a small piece of land in El Hierro.
    The project is to built little cottages with recycled wood to allow travellers to stay and enjoy this beautiful spot.
    I really would love to built a little place for sky watchers as here we have one of the most clean skies in the planet.
    But at the moment, the plot is completely wild and it.s a lot to be done here.
    In this first stage, the help is basically removing grass, removing rock, spreading gravel and sand, sanding and painting wood, building basic structures with stones and wood ...
    They are all physically demanding job. Nothing impossible, but definitively very far of being working in the computer or cleaning the house. And it would be aprox 4/5 hours/day monday-friday

    About where to stay, you will stay in a twin beds bedroom and you will share the kitchen, bathroom and dining area with me (and my coworker that usually is around too).
    I provide basic food (rice, pasta, veggies, milk, cereals...) I,m close to a vegetarian diet but you are welcome to cook whatever you like. I,m happy to cook for everyone if I,m in home but you should be ready to help yourself.
    The house is very close to the plot (15 minutes walking), so we can go together in the car but also you can go/back walking if I stay longer or If I have to work from home (I do quite computer job too).
    By Christmas I really hope have some cottages ready, so stay in the plot would be possible also.

    I,m a very quiet person and having peace and silence is very important to me. If you are noisy/party people, please, this is not your place.
    I,m not fan of drugs and I prefer healthy people around.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The Canary Islands have a very special climate. Working outdoors in winter is very pleasant.
    The plot where the job will be done is part of a natural park. The vegetation here is very specific and unusual so anyone interested in biodiversity will enjoy the place.
    Also is an interesting place for those enjoying the sky watcher. My dream is building up a little domestic observatory on the plot.
    About interaction with workawayers, It will be mainly during working hours in the morning-afternoon. You can enjoy your free time going to hiking or swimming, or just relax on the plot where the views are really great.
    I,m usually very busy during the week but I try to relax in weekends going to beach or forest with friends, and you are very welcome to come with us.
    I,m in the learning process about how to transform a wild plot in an eco farm, so I,m happy to listen any advise or ideas from my guests. I,m mainly learning (and I.ll share the knowledge) to built simple structures with stones and recycled wood. Also how to manage the watering.
    Of course, always happy to help with Spanish language learning.

  • Ajuda


    On the farm. Weeding (the area is still quite wild, so most of the weeding is actually removing scrub), preparing the land for cultivation (taking out stones, building paths, using stones for wind protection walls, installing watering system), preparing small structures with stones and wood (dry toilet, shower, a little green house, the kitchen area, a wood stove).
    The task is very simple but you should be happy with physical tasks outside.
    At home. Keep the kitchen clean and tidy after use. Keep common areas tidy.

    En la finca. Limpiar una parcela de malas hierbas, preparar la tierra para cultivo, preparación de pequeñas estructuras.
    El trabajo es muy simple pero deberás estar feliz con trabajos físicos en el exterior.
    En la casa. Mantener limpia y ordenada la cocina después de usarla. Mantener ordenadas las zonas comunes.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Italiano: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    You will have a bedroom with two single beds and you will share a bathroom, a toilet and a living room.
    Basic food is provided (rice, pasta, veggies, milk, cereals...)
    I,m almost vegetarian but you are free to buy/cook any meet or fish if you like it.
    You will help yourself, but we can eat/cook together depending my working schedule

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    El Hierro is a very quite island, perfect for reset yourself. This is not a good place for party people.
    The help will be outside and you will get dirty everyday.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Internet is only available on the plot, but not in the house.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    They are always welcome. They could just park in the plot where they will have water and kitchen facilities.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Only little dogs well trained (sólo perros pequeños y bien educados) NO CATS. Sorry, I,m allergic to cats (soy alérgica a los gatos)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Máximo 4-5 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 553699589975