Permaculture and experimental project in a big house on Ré island, France



Favorito 308 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descrição


    Hey workawayers !

    We are Dorian and Axel, two great friend building project together since two years. We started to set up a permaculture and experimental project in a big house on Ré island in the summer 2018. We welcomed workawayer from the very beginning of the project, bringing good vibes in this place and lot of sharing, giving us the will to continue on this direction and the project move from temporary to permanent. The 5th Cardinal Point was reborn. We need help to improve this place in exchange of leaving there. For that, everyone is welcomed, the garden is quite wild and our philosophie is to adapt to the original inhabitants ( birds and trees ) in the same time as we adapt the place to our needs. The property is 2000 m2 but there is an important diversity of plant and area so that is already an island in itself. This summer, for the second year the veggie garden produced well and we are sure that next year will be fantastic.
    The second dimension of our project is about Art. Axel use the place to continue on his artwork and do some project with Dorian, friends, and every free-spirit that feel like it. We love when our guest leave something to the place after a long stay, like a murals, dreamcatchers, sculpture... We also love music and we have a good discography at home as well as some attempt to create our own.
    Dorian is the more permanent inhabitant and is working for sustainable and communal project on the mainland, and will be at least present in the morning and evenings.
    In 2019 we started to welcome guest on the BnB principle so that people can provide of the place without invest themselves in the community. We are very happy about that and welcomed over 60 people that provided of the calm and the beauty of our garden as well as discover our lifestyle. This activity provided us with an economic system that valorise our work as well as bringing money to our project that can be invested to make the place more sustainable. We would like to propose more activity next summer : Yoga, Permaculture initiation, discovery of the edible plant, balm workshops.... As a volunteer you are welcome to share your knowledge/ passion with the people that are staying in our place, we can even organise special events.
    From September 2019 we would like to work on the electric system and water system to make the house more autonomous so we are very happy to receive people that have skills on those domain.
    We are trying to leave in harmony with the world and ourselves so we are most interested in conscious livestyle, permaculture, art of any kind, low pollution lifestyle, modest consumption, respect of the other being...
    We would like to share with you all the facilities of the commons, we some attention to put on things of course. Sorry we can't offer you meals in this project. So far we always had dinner altogether and put things in common. We very lucky to leave in a place where food is abondant and we can have food from different channel : veggie patch/ harvesting sea and forest/ good deal-hunting/ save the food that is dumped at the market ( there is too much)... So we can organise to have healthy meal at very low price, but spending time cooking is essential ( and nice ).
    We are very tolerant with every food practice except maybe eating ultra- processed food that are toxic for us and the planet. We are very tolerant in general and our only one rule is respect.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You could learn french and we could share our culture very simply through the knowledge of gardening, and opened-mind discussions around a fire. We are passioned about art (psychadelism !), plant ( edible, sacred, curative,...) and music ( we have tones of record :D ), permaculture, conscious livestyle.

  • Ajuda


    Take care of the vegetable garden, preserving the nature, harvest/collect/process food or just maintain the place with us in an easygoing atmosphere. You can also propose your own project or offering us some learning. For example yoga teaching, cooking workshop, art and craft session....

    here is some specific work to do this automne : paint the walls of some room, create new space to cultivate, some bike to repair, instal solar panel/ wind turbin/ system to save power, improve the system to collect rainwater, prepare wood for the winter. The contribution you can give to the house and the community will depends on your aspirations and skills! There is always lot to do in this house and expect to be working around 2/3 hours par day. Of course you be able to organise the time as you want to provide also of the place and this part of the world. The organisation change from time to time : collective workshop are hold in the morning or the afternoon depending on what we is best for you and for us.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    There are different option. In summer we tend to leave outside in hammock, hut, tent or under the stars. You can build your own accommodation according to your imagination. You can also have a room in the house of course. If you make a request we will tell you what is available for the period you ask.
    For food ; An open space for food sharing for the diner, big meals and plates... grilled fishes or big stoved vegetables in a wok !

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We have some bikes you can use to go around the island, the sea is at sight, and we are 10 min walk to the center of the village, were during summer there is restaurant, bars, farmers market, post-office, and many tourist. Because yes this island is very touristy, it can be a bit crazy some time, beware of considering driving to the continent or back on some saturdays, there is traffic jam on the bridge. 5 minute walk down the street, there is the most important patch of forest of the island, pretty wide wild and quiet. There is many sites to see in the island and i will learn you about the best places.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.7)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 551447235717