Join our family and help with daily life in beautiful Victoria, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

atualizado  

Favorito 143 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    01/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    96.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Please let us know your estimated arrival date and length of stay when sending your initial message.
    We also like to schedule a WhatsApp call (if dates work for both sides) with potential WorkAway volunteers. This is to help answer any questions you may have and to give a better idea of our family and the home environment.

    Hi there, we are a busy homeschooling family of 5, consisting of me (mama), my husband and our 3 children - 9, 7, and 1 year old. My husband works as an IT Engineer, which keeps him very busy at times, but he loves the job. We live in the scenically beautiful Westshore area of Greater Victoria. We have traveled a great deal and always enjoy meeting people from other countries, and hope others will also enjoy experiencing all that our part of Canada has to offer!

    Our first year hosting through WorkAway was in 2019, during a 6 month period we had 9 volunteers (back-to-back) stay with us - each volunteer became like a member of the family and we knew we wanted to keep hosting. We honestly love the company of volunteers and always look back on our time fondly. We were living overseas during the pandemic so unfortunately couldn't host for the last 2.5 years. We are so happy to be back home in Victoria now and to continue with more WorkAway opportunities.

    One of our family’s interests is enjoying the nature that surrounds us as we live close to beaches, parks, forests, and trails. We're keen on welcoming a new friend into our home while also learning about your culture, language, and hopefully food 😉

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We would like our volunteers to feel comfortable while staying with us, so please feel free to join in any of our family’s activities.

    Our home is a mix of Canadian and South-Asian roots, which allows for a unique cultural exchange. My husband and I are bilingual - both of us speak English and Urdu/Hindi.

    Victoria offers a variety of events which suit different tastes, so there is a little something for everyone. We have cultural celebrations, nature exploration, seasonal festivals, historic landmarks, farmers markets, volunteering opportunities, libraries, and recreation centers – just to name a few. There are local buses and ferries which allow you to explore the city or venture out and discover more of the West Coast region. If you enjoy nature there are many possibilities, some of which include hiking, kayaking, berry picking, and cycling. For those who like to keep busy in a city setting, we are about 20-30 minutes away from downtown Victoria, the capital of BC.

    Finally, if you are a Workawayer who is hoping to improve their English, I have years of teaching experience and could help with lessons or examination study (TOEFL, TOEIC, IELTS, SAT).

    If there is anything you would like to teach us such as a new language, recipes, art, handicrafts, sports, we always love learning!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for volunteers who are conscientious, enthusiastic, AND (most importantly) who also enjoy being part of a family ❤️.

    *Please note we are not looking for volunteers who will spend ALL their free time in their room, on their devices in shared spaces or avoiding interactions. This kind of a volunteer will not be a suitable match for our friendly and communicative family*

    Our best WorkAway experiences have been with volunteers who gladly conversed with us, who were considerate of our home and family, and who were helpful in projects around the house.

    Since we are a homeschooling family, help with lessons is always welcome but not necessary. You do not need teaching experience - patience and a good attitude are key. Many volunteers have introduced our children to their own personal hobbies and passions such as: watercolour painting, piano, yoga, baking, soccer, sketching, nature walks, creating stories - the list goes on and on ☺️

    No two days are the same here, so you will not need to do all tasks listed below, but it will give you an idea of what other Workawayers have helped us with previously.

    Homeschooling: reading books, playing sports, explaining basic Math concepts, baking, arts and crafts, spelling practice, piano practice, teaching yoga

    Kitchen: snack and meal preparation, help keeping the kitchen tidy and organized

    General household: cleaning, organization, general maintenance, construction (help with small home repairs)

    Gardening: lending a hand in weeding, raking leaves, watering grass, mowing the lawn

    We are flexible, but our ideal help schedule would be 25 hours per week. There will be a lot of free time for you!

    Lastly and most importantly, we are accommodating, honest, and considerate people - we expect the same from others in our home. If we feel the volunteer has no interest in the Workaway exchange, we will politely ask them to leave. We have always had great interactions with our volunteers and hope to continue these lovely exchanges.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Hindi: Fluente
    Urdu: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I have extensive experience teaching English and have also taught exam preparation courses for TOEFL, TOIEC, IELTS, and SAT. Teaching is my passion and if you would like to improve your English skills, we will surely accomplish a great deal! My children and I would like the opportunity to learn any of the following languages: Japanese, Arabic, Spanish, Dari/Farsi

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will have a medium size bedroom with 1 bed (suitable for 2 people). There is a detached full washroom with towels and most toiletries. Our rooms are upstairs, so you will have a reasonable amount of privacy. There is a shared office/playroom on the ground floor which is only used occasionally during the day. You will have access to all food/ingredients in the kitchen, which is a shared space on the upper floor, so please feel free to make any snacks or meals you like. We ask that volunteers feel comfortable preparing meals if they do not like some of my cooking (I'm unfortunately not a gourmet chef 😂).

    *Please note as we do not consume alcohol and pork, we kindly ask volunteers to respect our wishes and also not consume these items in the house*

    At this time, we can only accept non-smoking guests. As we try to model and teach our children about tidiness, we hope that our guest will also keep their living area in a neat manner.

    We also have 1 bicycle and helmet which you can use at your convenience. We live in an uphill, quiet residential area with the closest bus stop less than 1km walk away. The bus comes every 20mins - however, most times we are able to drop volunteers to a main transportation (bus) location, which is about a 5-7min drive away.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Workaways can also explore further away places in our region such as Tofino, Port Renfrew and the Gulf Islands. With the mildest climate in Canada, you will also see gardens bloom year-round in the Greater Victoria area. The city is tied closely to both land and sea and the rugged natural beauty of the Pacific Coast encourages all-season adventures in the great outdoors. Easy to explore by foot and at your own pace, a visit to Victoria can be as relaxing and rejuvenating as it is educational and exciting. Take advantage of the diverse historical, architectural and multicultural makeup that comes from being the oldest city in the Pacific Northwest. From First Nations history to British colonial and Asian traditions, and the landmarks, culture, cuisine, festivals and vibrant atmosphere that come with them, Victoria, B.C. is one of the world's favorite destinations. Volunteers may want to also visit the big city of Vancouver on a weekend too. As a traveler you will also cross paths with many tourists from other different cultures who visit this beautiful area of Canada.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have nice, quiet office space that is next to your room. If you like working around others, we have lovely, bright space in our living room and dining area too. Our internet connection is strong and throughout the house.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 25 hours a week, there will be a lot of free time for you!

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)












Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 549282562372