atualizado  

Come and help putting a 300 year old farm back in shape in north Ardèche, France

  • Favorito 221 vezes
  • Última atividade: 23 jul. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    ABOUT US

    After experiencing a corporate lifestyle in the U.S. Greg moved to Alaska, where he lived in the wilderness and later a Bush pilot for 15 years.

    Evelyne was born in France and lived ten years in Alaska where she met her husband Greg.

    Before coming to France, we lived on a sailboat in the Caribbean and then sailed it accross the Atlantic and bought our project farm.

    We decided that agriculture would be an interesting way of life for us, raising goats and making cheese to sell in local markets.

    We have been renovating our 300 year old farm and house since 2007.

    We have an 14 year old son.

    We have accomplished a lot but there is still plenty to do.


    WHAT TO EXPECT


    To profit most from the experience, you should appreciate living in a natural environment, interacting with nature, and other Workaways from different countries and cultures.

    The air is very clean and fresh because we are at 860 meters of altitude and our farm is surrounded by forest. We are not technically considered a bio farm, however, we value and try to live by its principles.

    It is a physical lifestyle. It is advised to bring strong shoes and hiking boots if you have them. Having lived in the Alaskan bush for many years, we live rustically.

    Getting older, we often have more to do each day that we have time for. Sometimes things get hectic.

    We have both travelled a lot in the past and enjoy meeting people from different countries and cultures.

    Normally, we work from 8 am to 1 pm have lunch and then Workaways are free to do what they want. We value hard work but also enjoy having a good time too !

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    TO SEE AND DO HERE

    We are near the top of a small mountain ridge. The area is ideal for hiking or mountain biking. There is a « Gaulois » site further up from us with a fantastic panoramic view. You have a good chance to come accross « chevreuils » or « sangliers » and other wildlife while hiking.

    The village is 2 kms away and has a small café

    There is also a XII century roman church nearby.

    During the summer the village has evening activities.

    Often Workaways hang out in the evening at the house playing music while sampling local beverages, watching movies, sometimes singing karaoke and dancing.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    WHAT YOU CAN HELP WITH

    - rebuilding old stone walls
    - finishing renovation of our 300 year old house and helping to restore a second building of the same age
    - cutting and splitting wood for winter cooking and winter heat
    - landscaping
    - repairing fences
    - painting walls inside and out.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Tents in a small walled garden on level grass lawn. We have single and two persons tents, with basic sleeping bags and mats available. If you have your own personal equipment you are Welcome to bring it.

    Meals are normally simple. If you like to cook, help preparing meals is appreciated. In the past we had no problem adapting to all kinds of diet from vegan to carnivore. We often have big meals with friends coming over when we make pizzas in our old stone oven.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live in a remote location and therefore It is not easy to get here by public transportation. However, Workaways have hitchhiked here and remarked it was quite easy. Part of the charm of the place is that it is in a remote location, workaways are required to provide their own transportation coming and going. Two days out of the week we are regularly traveling to towns where there is public transportation from Lyon or Valence. We will be glad to pick you up and take you back one person only in Annonay on Fridays afternoon and Saint. Vallier sur Rhône Sundays.
    There’s no problem if you have a camping van there is a big flat place to park.

    This is a wonderful place to go hiking. We live at 850 meters and you can hike up to over 1000 meters. The altitude helps keep daily temperatures cool during the hot summer. You can see very old small villages and farms or go to Lalouvesc, where there are a lot of tourist activities. Otherwise, just enjoy the forest, streams, wildlife and beautiful views.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 539471161923

Comentário (31)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.7)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicação: (4.9)

















































Live in a remote little village and help with some cleaning around the house close to Royan, South West of France
Help around house building, goat farming and gardening in Jura, France