Help us in our historic farm in the northern part of Hurup, Denmark



Favorito 357 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

  • Descrição


    Status from 13th march 2022. Travellers are welcome again after the covid-19-lockdown.

    Our place is an old fjord farm in the northern part of Denmark - in Thy. The farm dates back to the 15th century and the area is brimming with old history from the Bronze Age and the Viking Age in Denmark. The farm is situated beautifully directly at Skibsted Fjord - where you can see thousands of birds in the season, collect oysters, fish and swim.

    We are living 3 generations together on the farm - working and dreaming together. Me and my husband, our 2 kids age 13 and 16 and my parents that are both in their 70thies.

    We run the farm as a b&b / holiday / retreat center and we also breed Hereford Cattle … and we have Orpington chickens, a fat cat, 3 very slim one and 2 Labrador dogs. In the summertime there are always guests on the farm - on regular holiday or doing a course or attending a retreat (for an example painting, surfing, yoga). In the winter time it is more quiet and I normally teach a lot of yoga on the farm - and I'm also trying to build up more retreat and course activities.

    We LOVE our old place that are in our care until the next generations are taking over, the nature, the buildings, the animals, the fruits, the garden, the water - and we ALWAYS have a lot of projects going on - and always to little time to do them all :). The farm is old and there is a lot of maintenance work on the houses - painting, woodwork and smaller construction work. The garden (the normal garden and the vegetable garden, a small permaculturegarden and an area of forestgarden) constantly needs attention - and extra hands.

    For a few years we have been trying to clean up our old stable to make room for a new hall. Perhaps 2022 will be the year where we will have a head start :)? The smaller projects for the rest of the year and next year (some need to do, some nice to do): we want to create a better garbage-sorting system for the guests, renovate the garage into a gardenhouse in the yogahouse; we dream about constructing an outdoor sauna, an outdoor baking oven, chalk the stables inside, paint the roof, give love to our old apple forest nearby the farm, learn how to make honey, spend more time on our marketing, spend time designing yoga clothing that are not made out of polyester .... the list is endless and always changing and growing. Don't expect it all to happen in the weeks you are here :).

    Who are we?
    My husbond works as a highschool teacher - and teaches philosophy and mathematics. I have several educations :), in literature, modern culture, Chinese, public management and ledership, grafic facilitation and yoga & meditation (Kundalini and Yin Yoga). I mainly work on the farm, and I also run a small yoga business, where I teach classes, do workshops and facilitates retreats here on the farm. I also have a small company doing consulting jobs in the cultural sector. My parents are now retired from their jobs as journalist and nurse - and they are both very active and participates in a lot of the tasks on the farm. In the summertime we normally also have an employee living on the farm that are helping us with the cleaning and gardening.

    We are very big on food. We bake most of our bread, and we cook wholesome fresh food every day. I love to use wild nature and our own farm products in the cooking.

    We love music - My husband has a huge record collection and he's a hi fi 'nerd' - building loud speakers etc. I play the Gong, the piano and I'm currently learning how to play the church organ and the Indian Harmonium. The kids plays violin and piano. We also enjoy newspapers, books and quality film and tv-series.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will experience how life is at an Scandinavian agriturismo farm that opens up to a lot of different people - and where the passion is about food production, a life style closer to nature, yoga, activities in nature such as surfing, gathering foods and tending to our old buildings. And we are very interested in learning new things and methods from you.

    You will also experience a active working community - where everybody are motivated to make the impossible possible.

    Sometimes we will work side-by-side. Sometimes you have a job to do on your own. If you have a preference please let us know.

    When I have yoga events you are welcome to participate for free. If you are interested in learning more about how to run your own place, do retreats etc. this could alsom be a interesting place for you.

    Although it is sometimes VERY busy in the farm, there is time for coffee or tea and a chat. We help each other with the duties in the daily life.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    There are MANY different possibilities for you to help with here on Skibstedgaard, depending on your skills and interests! Here are som of the main things where we could use an extra hand :)

    1. GARDENING! We have a VERY big garden, so if you like to work with gardening, it would great with a helping hand / try out your own projects in the garden. We have both a conventional garden with flowers etc. - and an large vegetable garden and a work-in-progress perma culture garden ... and a bit of old garden that we are trying to turn into a foodproducing garden.
    Right now we are also trying to do some replanting in the hedges and garden. So if you have garden skills/intereste - don't hesitate.

    a) We always need help with painting etc. inside and outside.
    b) I also would appreciate some help preparing the renovation of our stable. We need to clean up and prepare the building for the project - and it would be great with a helping hand.

    3. SMALL CONSTRUCTIONS! This year and next year I need help to renovate an old garage into a vegetable house. And I also dream of building a little firesheed in the garden, an outdoor sauna and an outdoor baking oven.

    4. FOREST! Working in the forest - we have a little forest - part of it is with fruit trees. And the forest really needs attention. So if you have experience with forestry please don't hesitate to come stay with us. We also needs help to plant new trees as wind shields etc.

    5. ART! If you are an artist we welcome you if you want to help us giving the summerhouse the right facilities and maybe enrich it with your own art or even arrange a local workshop :). 3 kilometers from the farm the Danish national gallery are establishing a branch - so quite a lot of interesting art events are taking place in 2021/22 in the area.

    6. DAILY FARM. We can always need extra help the daily chores on our farm.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    German - we would all love to improve our spoken german :).

  • Acomodação


    There are several opportunities depending of the amount of people you are and the season:

    You will can stay in the cottage where we are currently working with the perma-garden. The summer house is 600 meters from the farm. When there are yoga-courses or tourists, you will have to pay attention to this / and sometime move to another part of the farm while the course is on.

    If you are the outdoor type - you are welcome to camp while you are here. We have tents etc. that you can use / or you can bring your own.

    You fix your own food / alone or with other work awayers. You can use the products from the garden, and we will pay for other ingrediences you might need. From time to time we all eat lunch together depending on the time of year and on what everybody is doing. When we eat together - we normally take turns in preparing lunch for each other.

    We will provide bed linnen and towels. We expect that you will clean your own room while you are staying with us - and that you clean and tidy up before you leave us :).

    Please let us know if you have any allergies.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The train station is only 3 km away from the farm - with direct connections to the near by citys. There are direct trains to Copenhagen every day (4,5 hours by train).
    The nearest airport is Midtjyllands Airport / Aalborg Airport / Billund Airport.
    The local bus runs by the farm (but not so often).
    We have bikes on the farm that you can borrow while you are here.

    We will be happy to pick you up at the train station when you arrive. If we have the time we can also arrange for you to be picked up in the Airports :).

    While you are here there are a lot of nice nature events and cultural events that you can participate in. Some stuff is for free - some cost money.

    If you like surfing the place is very close to the 30 super surf spots called Cold Hawaii.

    If you like nature - you are living right in it - and we are very close to the National Park in Thy.

    And you can also just hang out here on the farm - enjoy swimming, walking, reading, doing yoga etc. :)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 526411939795