Growing vegetables and sustainable trees on Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 71 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/09/2022

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi, We're Marlene and Peter Lewis. We have a lovely 69 acre farm nestled in the valley in Cedar on Vancouver Island. We're located 20 minutes south of Nanaimo, 5 minutes from the Nanaimo airport and 15 min from the Duke Point ferry terminal.

    We're growing mostly vegetables, some flowers and fruit, and we're growing 14 acres of Empress Splendour trees in partnership with a unique company. These trees are a source of sustainable lumber and the leaves are an excellent source of carbon draw-down.

    We are close to the ocean, many rivers, lakes, streams, mountains, provincial and regional parks. There are endless spectacular outdoor activities right here at our door step.

    We're looking for help with ongoing tasks on the farm with our produce and trees. We have travelled a lot in our lives and understand the needs of travellers and backpackers. We love to encourage travelling and support people who love to travel and explore the world.

    We can accommodate 1 single traveller with your own cottage on our lovely farm. If someone would like to pitch their tent or stay in your camper van here, we have lots of room for that also and can accommodate a couple.

    We are looking for fully vaccinated, non-smoking Workawayers and don't accept any kind of drug use. We do not accept non-vaccinated Workawayers.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are experienced travellers who have travelled much of Canada and numerous other countries and continents in the world. We're happy to provide tips of fabulous sites and experiences for travellers. Peter is a professional photographer who is happy to give photography tips and support to those who share the same passion. Most of the photographs on our website (empressacres.ca) were taken by him.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    During the summer, we are looking for help with watering the produce and trees, planting new crops, weeding the produce gardens, spreading mulch, mowing lawn, picking crops/pickling cucumbers and other vegetables, improving our irrigations system, organizing a workshop. At a later time, we would like help with building chicken tractors/coops, a market stand, fencing, interior house painting, etc. as the tasks and opportunities arise. We would love to have people here who are interested in learning about and contribute to our beautiful farm. We're happy to teach and provide support to those coming here and be part of our life. We are happy to encourage people to work on their own time schedule.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    In the warm months, we provide a private cottage with lots of natural light set on 69 acres of farmland with fields and trees. There are also 2 lovely outdoor bathrooms and showers for you to use. In the cooler months, there is 1 large, comfortable, well furnished room with a fridge, mini-oven, queen bed, table, lamps, cupboards and a shared bathroom with tub and shower. Peter and I live on the main floor and have our own ensuite bathroom. We are happy to share the kitchen and dining area for dinners. We work from home and would like everyone to respect one another's time.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    If you love nature and being outdoors, you couldn't find yourself in a more perfect location. Hiking, fishing, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, cycling, walking, photography...there is so much to explore and discover all around the area. If you need transportation, we can make arrangements for that.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have reliable wi-fi around much of the farm.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have space on the farm to park your campervan and possibly a motorhome.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week




Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 521458729958