Help me care for foster puppies in Vila Nova do Ceira, Gois, rural Central Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favorito 195 vezes
  • Última atividade: 30/11/2022

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I am English, a retired teacher and live in a rural area in central Portugal in a comfortable house with plenty of space. The accommodation for Workaways is an en suite bedroom with a kitchen and living room. You will have to top floor of the house mostly to yourself. the bed is kingsize and very comfortable. There is also an extra bedroom. I like to meet new people and am very relaxed about sharing my space.
    I have a dog and two house cats, and I foster puppies for a local animal shelter - at the moment I am looking after five who live outside. Because the aim is to get the puppies adopted, the number and age of the puppies I have with me is always changing. I usually need help with their day to day care and particularly walking when they are ready to be lead trained. Now I have five eight-month-old posengos. The three boys are big and strong already and all five are gorgeous but a handful.
    The countryside around is green with many beautiful walks. I am 100 metres from a river beach which has a cafe serving drinks and food in the summer months, the local villages are small and friendly and there are many beautiful walks in a valley surrounded by forested hills.
    I do not have a car but there are enough shops for my needs in walking distance. Once you are here there are few local buses so exploring the wider area is not really possible without a car. I have borrowed a bicycle for workaways to use.
    PUPPY UPDATE August 2022:
    I still have five from the litter of six that came to me at three weeks. They are now about eight months old, teenagers. They need daily training walks and lots of love, attention and behaviour management to help make them more adoptable.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de animais
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The local Portuguese and English community are very friendly and kind. People are always happy to say hello and talk as you are walking around. There are growing numbers of residents from various European countries and many visitors during July and August especially. For most of the year it is an experience of traditional rural Portuguese life.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Priority is helping with the puppies. I have a litter of six who are approx 7/8 weeks at time of writing. Now it is picking up poo and playing, as they get older they will need more exercise and some basic training. There are two older ones that I am working on socialising and lead training. All the puppies are registered for adoption and they usually find good homes when they are ready. My job is to give them a good start.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There are two spare bedrooms and shower rooms. The house has two kitchens with cooker, fridge, dish washer and washing machines. It can easily be treated as two separate accomodations if required. It has been renovated to a comfortable standard and there is enough space for privacy or shared living as needed. There is also lots of outside space.

    I don't cook for myself every day so I would expect guests to prepare most of their own meals. I am very happy to share when I am cooking, I enjoy it. There are two fully equipped kitchens So no problems with sharing space. I can provide basic supplies. Sometimes I have to be away but there will always be someone responsible present. I need Workaway to be flexible.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    To make the most of local sights it would be good to have your own transport as there is a limited bus service. Coimbra is about a 40 minute drive from my house and from there the rail services are excellent. There is a bus to Coimbra about 0700 or 0800 hours and a return in the evening. There are also local taxis.
    I enjoy a lot of walking and am able to get a lift to a local town with a friend occasionally.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Excellent internet connection through most of house

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Safe off-road parking close to house

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 519167542172

Comentário (7)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)









Come and help starting a "permaculture" project in Povoa de Atalaia, Portugal
Help out at a small organic quinta near Lagos, Portugal