Help with gardening, homestead development, and off grid maintenance on our organic, ecological, homestead in Mendocino County, N Cali, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 124 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    21/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a young 40's couple with a 5 year old child living on our organic, ecological, off-grid homestead in Mendocino County, Northern California. Our location is in the forest 35 minutes away from the town of Ukiah, along an unpaved road. A volunteer would be best to have their own vehicle, or at least be prepared for periods of solitude and off-grid self reliance.

    Aside from experience and cultural exchange, we offer most dinners and lunches daily, and a converted van with a futon or a travel trailer as private sleeping quarters. There is a volunteer guest structure that includes a small kitchen and relaxation area with electricity and laundry. We have a beautiful detached bathouse (that we all share), and even a solar hot tub in the summer.


    Our homestead is super tranquil, with great options for listening to sounds of the forest, relaxing in a hammock in the shade, and even enjoying an evening soak at Irie Springs, our solar hot tub on a hill! With a view! We occasionally invite a few friends to socialize around the campfire.

    Seth is an avid gardener,carpenter, and surfer, fluent in Spanish. Dandelion is an herbalist and medicine maker, who loves hot springs and yoga. We both love food experimentation, world travel, music and dancing, and our friendly dogs Yuri and Torilla

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    There is much to learn here about homesteading and permaculture skills here, e.g: gardening, harvesting, food preservation, etc. As well as operation and maintenance of off grid power and water systems. Solar power, small scale drip irrigation, etc. There may also be opportunities to learn natural building techniques such as strawbale construction and earth plastering, or more conventional construction techniques involving carpentry or tile work.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We regularly need help with garden tasks, landscape maintenanace, and off grid systems maintenance. In winter we need help thinning the forest for fire protection. In spring we are cleaning and weeding garden beds, planting seeds, moving compost, weed mowing, e.t.c. Harvesting, drying, canning, and freezing our personal food crops happens throughout late summer and early fall.
    We also are regularly building new infrastructure, as well as completing construction of our straw bale house.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer a private sleeping area (a converted van or a travel trailer), and semi-private kitchen and relaxation area in a large tent carport. You also have access to a beautiful bath house shared with us. These areas are slightly removed from our personal living zone and offer plenty of privacy. We will supply you at a minimum with organic garden fruits and vegetables, eggs from our chickens, and some basic provisions that we purchase such as grains and seasonings. We do love to cook as well, and will invite you or prepare for you most dinners, and many lunches and snacks. We love to cook in our solar oven all summer.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Ample access to private space and time, internet access is via 4G cellular service, limited to certain major carriers.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have flat accessable areas to park your home. The gravel roadway to our location is subject to potholes, ruts, some sections of mud in winter and spring. Vans can access majority of time, larger motorhomes can access in dry weather .

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    1 dog may be acceptable. Other smaller pets? Possibly. Not a good place to bring a cat.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 511886814382