Exchange languages and be an older brother or sister to our kids in Reggio Emilia, Italy



Favorito 28 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias


 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Hi there!
    We are a family of four and live in Reggio Emilia, in Italy. Sara (me), Mauro (my husband), Adele (born 2014), Marcello (born 2016) are the members of this family.
    We are easy-going people, very sociable, rooted in this town which has been hometown for many
    generations for both of us. We are also lovers of the mountains around us, the Appennino
    Reggiano, where Mauro’s family comes from.
    We spend most of our little free time either with family, or friends or travelling or at Mauro’s
    holiday house in Marola in the Appennines.
    Mauro is a very sociable person, he loves sport and action; we all often travel to places where he is
    involved in open-sea or -lake swimming competitions, and we like taking a few week-ends off
    along the year to enjoy beautiful sea or lake places in Italy following his competition places.
    Me, Sara, I am a person who likes to be with others, who loves foreign languages, and everything
    which comes from another Country or another culture, basically everything that is different. This is
    the main reason why my occupation is based on daily international exchanges. My job includes welcoming educators from all over the world and helping them getting oriented through the weeks of professional development they spend in Reggio Emilia at the International Centre.
    Reggio Emilia is in fact hometown also to professor Loris Malaguzzi, famous educator who gave
    birth to the Reggio Emilia world-known preschools and infant-toddler centres. Our children attend
    one of those schools of course.
    Adele, our older daughter, is a sweet little girl… a little introvert just at the beginning, then her character
    unrolls and comes out as she becomes friend with someone, she makes easily friends; she is a very determined person.
    Marcello, our second-born does not want to be second to anyone of course, and is very active and
    determined (even stubborn), he loves action play, being funny and “on the stage” at all time, he
    has a fervid imagination and likes to create stories with his toy characters and animals. He also
    loves his older sister, and follows her wherever she goes.
    This was about us…

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are happy to exchange on language skills, and to help our guest practice and learn Italian. We are glad to help our guest getting to know the place and the surroundings. We can share some cooking experience of Italian food.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    What do we expect from the workawayer?
    We would like our guest/volunteer to help us mainly with Adele and Marcello. Mauro and I work 36 to 40 hours per week and need sometimes an extra help, in for example picking the children up in school and stay with them until we get home, walking them to the library, or to their activities, or to a the playground or home or other places in town where they can spend an enjoyable time with an “older sister/brother”. Needless to say that we prefer people with experience with children, who are aware of what it means to be with them and let them play or enjoy other activities, though being
    prepared to their “no’s” and rejections, but also being motivated and willing to put oneself into play and not just simply looking after them. Own initiative is very appreciated.
    We are based in Italy so we all speak Italian. We speak English too and the children are familiar
    with an English-speaking environment. We expect the workawayer to be as much fluent in English
    as to feel at ease using it at all time with our children.
    During the summer period, when we are not on vacation the children attend a summer camp in town and
    spend a lot of time at grandma’s house (3 km away from where we live) with pool and a big
    garden where they love to play and look after cats and dog and obviously swim. That is why we
    expect the workawayer to have basic swimming skills in order to guarantee them a certain level of

    How long can we host?
    We can welcome helpers even for a relatively short time, but please do not consider our availability to just
    borrow a one-night stay or a few-days stay along your trip through Italy. We would like to give a sort of
    continuity to children, therefore we are thinking of one-month stays just to give a rough idea, but
    we are open to adjust this length according your needs or intentions.

    How many hours per day or week?
    The hours per day we ask the workawayer to help us is 4-5 per day, week-ends are free.
    We need help mostly during the afternoons, but we may ask to look after the children one evening here and there, instead of day. We are flexible in leaving days off or longer week-ends. At the same time, we are happy to invite our helper in our week-end activities if she/he wishes to.

    Regarding our habits...
    Daily schedule: during weekdays we wake up a little after 6 am and wake children up at 7 am normally. We go to bed (or we put children to bed) pretty early, like between 9 and 10 pm. Saturdays and Sundays are of course another story.
    Mauro is home around 6:30-7:00 pm, Sara's timetable varies, but I work 36 to 40 hours per week. Children are in school from 7:30 am to 4:00 pm.
    Meals: We usually do not eat lunch at home, but our guests can cook their meals. We usually have dinner altogether at 7:00 or 8:00 pm. We follow a mediterranean pretty varied diet.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    We can offer a single private bedroom, the apartment has an extra small bathroom that we use as laundry, but can be of exclusive use for the guest. Our house is not huge, it is a nearly 100 squared meters apartment and we use all its space.
    Because the children share a room, the guest room will be available for the helper.
    Part of the furniture in the guest room is used by us.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our house is located in the very first outskirt of the town, that is everything is easily reachable by bike, by bus or even on foot if you like to walk. The bus stop is just a one-minute walk from the house. We may also lend a bike. From Reggio you can quickly reach Parma, Modena, Bologna, Milan, the Alps or even the seaside. The nearby mountains (the Appennines and the Bismantova Rock for example) offer beautiful nature and sport possibilities (biking, hiking, climbing...). We are available to drive our guest to nearby places when it is possible and are more than happy to help getting oriented in town.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4/5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 511635874998