Come and help out with childcare in a vibrant and diverse area of West Auckland, New Zealand



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês



  • Descrição


    Come and experience life out in Glen Eden West Auckland, gateway to the Waitakere Ranges and Karekare, Piha beach.

    Kerri is as Kiwi as they come, and works as an Early Childhood teacher for Play and Learn in one of Auckland glorious and oldest parks Cornwall Park.

    She has been teaching for 20 years and has lots of experience and knowledge.

    When she is not working you may find her in the garden or running errands for the kids or reading, or fixing stuff in her shed.
    This summer is almost over but Autumn is very lovely too, and our house has an internal heating system for winter.

    Aniela is 9 now she is a happy go lucky young lady, she is very kind and energetic, she loves languages, she is learning Polish and Te Reo Māori and NZSL sign language.
    She rides her bike, loves to dance around, swim, play on monkey bars and has many friends.
    Ive bought her up to reuse, repurpose, and be creative.

    Lukasz is nearly 7 , his favourite pastimes are skateboarding and he takes his skateboard everywhere nowdays he likes generally living life on the edge, but he also has a very serious side, he loves to draw comic books, make blue prints for designs and construct with cardboard and wood he also likes riding and scootering, and swimming.
    He is an innovative boy, he is musical, and big on ideas.
    I don't believe children learn by being told everything that can go wrong in life, let them make mistakes and learn how to fix those mistakes and there is a pretty high chance they will be active thinkers that don't repeat those mistakes.

    Both kids are pretty busy with school, ,they also attend Polish classes on a Saturday but also just love adventure and down time.
    Our children help with everything, they unpack groceries, are responsible for their rooms, help in the garden, fix stuff, they are independent.
    Every second weekend they are with their Dad in the city, so there is plenty of un interupted downtime for you.

    We have 2 cats, they are crazy lovely.

    Kerri's Dad helps out with childcare as well, Ian's passions are travel and he is widely travelled chances are he has been to your homeland.
    He also used to teach English as a second language and would be helpful with travel tips.
    He has also worked in the car industry all his life and has only just retired, so he has helped workaways find a car.
    If you have time to listen his stories are elaborative.
    My Mum loves animals and has dogs and shows them in dog shows and does agility, you will see a bit of my parents if my dad is not away traveling.

    We like to think we are really easy going and friendly and would make anyone feel at home and relaxed.
    We don't have many house rules, just be open and communicate and be honest.

    The kids Dad Mieszko lives in an apartment in the city, he is an expert on Urban development and infrastructure and transportation and transport planing as well as leadership.
    He also loves football, he is English/Polish/Irish heritage you will see him around around from time to time

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    To the West of Glen Eden is Oratia where you will find farmers markets and vineyards, To the East is New Lynn with trendy eateries and shopping malls.
    Southwest is a Suburb called Titirangi.
    West Auckland has stunning Fauna and Flora and trees, it is a diverse area with so much to offer.
    The beaches are spectacular if you have time go and see them.
    Check swimsafe online to see if they are safe to swim and if there are flags aka ways swim between the flag.
    NZ West Coast beaches have an undertow and rips which can be dangerous.
    We are not far from the centre of Glen Eden with local shops and a 15 m walk to the train station, bus services at the end of our road.
    I have a Hop card you can use but if you are coming from the airport you will have to buy one to be able to use the bus.
    There is so much to do and see in Auckland, we don't consider ourselves close to Auckland CBD, but its only 40 minutes on a train.

    From Kerri Learn about Children's development and why children are becoming risk adverse and what skills children need to survive nowadays to grow up to be contributing to society.
    Auckland is a vibrant diverse town, if you are open to learning then you can learn what ever you want.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    You main role would be to take Aniela and Lukasz to school some mornings and pick up some afternoons, the school is 10 minutes walk away, or we all have bicycles, you can use mine.

    Also general help around the house is appreciated.

    The children have been learning Polish so if you speak Polish then we would love to teach them some more, us as well.

    Cooking wise, you would make dinner a couple of nights a week when i work that would be appreciated.
    We typically have a food box that has all the food and recipes of how to cook the meal.
    We don't have much in the way of foods with sugar in the house but they can have treats on weekends and I don't mind if you buy your own sweets but you have to keep them in your room and not eat them in front of the kids.

    We will provide basic food, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, breakfast and Lunch in NZ is very casual and you just find your own from what we have.
    There is always Veggies, Fruit, Bread cereal and eggs, although we do have an egg shortage in NZ so we limit it to one egg a day each person.
    I am happy to include foods you like in the grocery shop but if you are a big eater then please buy your snack foods yourself.
    I don't drink coffee, sorry you have to provide your own.
    There are usually plenty of leftover in the fridge for lunch.
    Kiwi's do not have a big sit down lunch, we will eat out in the garden, or grab some food to take with us or mostly forget to eat lunch.
    I hear that is different from other cultures.
    Most workaways enjoy using our kitchen, it has lots of space.

    Kerri has worked as a Nanny in England and America in her past before kids so i know what it means to be a good host and enable a workaday to develop there own life away from home and have days where i won't need you at all, it would be just about achieving a balance between us all to keep everyone happy.
    I love workaways that see a job that needs ding and can be indepenent and do it, that is the best!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Maori: Iniciante
    Polonês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    It’s is so beneficial to be exposed to new languages I love this for my children. We would love to learn more Polish and begin learning Spanish.

  • Acomodação


    Single dwelling house Small study off the garage with desk and chair, single bed wardrobe, Internet, your own access through the garage if you want but most people just use the main access with us.
    You would share a bathroom with the children with a bath and a shower.
    You could help keep it clean.
    There is a fridge in the garage as well for your drinks and any special foods you buy. The garage has carpet and it is very cosy.
    We like all food but Aniela is diary intolerant so she has rice milk and olive oil spread.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    It would be ideal to have someone very responsible and independent and with initiative when it comes to caring for our house.
    We have lovely indoor and outdoor spaces so just treat it as your home and look after it.
    Mindfullness is a must, someone that is Able to think about others and has maybe come from a big family and has a lot to teach us as well.
    We want to learn from you, teach us your language.
    We are so close to the train and bus services I imagine they would like to just go off and explore but we do have a car if you are a confident driver over 25, any younger and you are not insured on our policy.

    There is a great initiative called EcoMatters and they have a hub in New Lynn where you can purchase sustainable products, this is where I refill my shampoo and conditioner and cleaning products.
    They also have a bike hub where you could buy a cheap bike or go to fix your bicycle and access free use of tools and maps, this is where my children have got there bikes from.
    Google them.
    Ecco matter and bike hub New Lynn

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We are down a long drive so there is ample room, but no turning space so as long as you can reverse well, all good.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 487157335297

Comentário (4)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.8)

A horse riders dream on a large farm. Waipukurau, New Zealand
Come to the sunshine capital Havelock North, Hawkes Bay, and help with some landscaping projects, New Zealand