Come and help us rebuild our farm and explore beautiful Haida Gwaii, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 12 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    The farm is located on the north end of Tlell, a small community on Haida Gwaii in Northern BC. This entire archipelago is the unceded traditional territory of the Haida Nation and has a population of about 4200 people spread out over 10 different communities. To get to Haida Gwaii, there is a nice, long (7h) ferry ride across the Hecate Strait from Prince Rupert or you can fly to either Masset or Sandspit from Vancouver. Our 15 acre farm is about 2km from the ocean on the east coast of Graham Island, almost exactly halfway between Masset and Queen Charlotte. The land has been mostly cleared by the previous owners, but there are some stunning forests all around the property including creeks and a beautiful surrounding bog.

    Our family of two (my husband and I, our two cats and a varying number of sheep and sometimes chickens) moved in three years ago and have been steadily rebuilding the place since then. My husband is a carpenter with a love for theater and music and I have a background in horticulture and landscape architecture. I work in Masset four days a week so you can catch a ride into town with me on my workdays if you do not have your own transportation.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Mainly it is about learning about the building a farm, garden work, animal husbandry and some construction. We speak English and German and I have an interest in learning Spanish. My Husband is quite musical and we have a few instruments kicking around.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Our property was previously a cattle farm at some point and more recently had a semi-commercial greenhouse operation. We are working towards developing a small-scale, mixed-use family farm. Depending on your skills, experience and interest you will be helping with a variety of tasks around the farm. There will definitely be lots of garden chores such as weeding, planting, watering, fertilizing, mulching, compost turning, harvesting, prepping and storing as well as work involving clearing and splitting firewood. Processing food, baking bread and preserving the harvest are some chores that can be done indoors. There will also be helping with the sheep (mainly feeding and cleaning out the pen) and fence building. March is typically lambing time with butchering in September if you interested in the grubbier sides of animal husbandry. We have lots of construction projects on the go and tons of ideas for new ones. One plan for this year is to add a geodesic dome for short term rental to the mix.

    There are lots of opportunities for your own small projects as well. We have dabbled, with varying success, in tanning, concrete casting, pottery, cheese making and fermenting and we are happy to learn from you!
    We live in the rainforest, so bring your own gumboots and work gloves. No smoking in any of the buildings, but outside is fine. We are looking for individuals who want to learn and share knowledge and enjoy working 4-5 hours a day/ 5 days a week. Minimum required stay is 2 weeks.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will have your own space in our small bunkie - a very small sleeping area attached to our cabin. The bunkie is a self-contained unit with basic kitchen equipment, a single loft bed and a comfy chair. There is also an outhouse nearby and an outdoor shower by the sauna in the main garden (and in the house in the winter.)
    Most days you will take care of your own breakfast and lunch with basic groceries provided. Dinners will be eaten together with us, mainly made of local ingredients out of the garden and locally harvested meat or fish. We can also try accommodate vegetarian or gluten free dietary needs for shorter work stays. We will take turns cooking. There is a small country store/ cafe about 10km away that you can bike or catch a ride to if you are missing specific items (be aware, the store's opening hours are decided by a quantum probability generator and are difficult to predict, like most things on these islands)

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are lots of hiking trails in the area including the Anvil Trail, the Pesuta Shipwreck trail and access to the Tlell River for swimming or fishing. You can listen to the Sandhill Cranes in the spring or pick wild cranberries and mushrooms in the fall. Beside visiting the different communities on the island, the Haida Gwaii Museum is well worth a visit as are the sandy beaches on the north end. Surf is up in the winter and crabbing in the early summer. We have lots of great spots for camping and a nice lake for kayaking and canoeing close by.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    stable satellite connection

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have room for a campervan in the summer

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 485262239438