Family living in an old Farmhouse looking for helping hands in the rolling hills of Kilb, Lower Austria

Country

Áustria

Favorito 76 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    17/07/2020

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Ongoing Projects:
    First priority is building a vet office in our old barn! We started with the first wall, and it's supposed to be done by May (we hope...). Still a lot of work to do as we want to do as much as possible by ourselfes, so if you are an plumber, electrician, familiar with any type of construction work, we are happy for any help!
    we need to take our old shed down this year - it will probably not survive another winter. We planned that for June or July - if you fancy taking down an old house, apply for this time this year!
    Building a new rabbits home, a new chicken coop floor and a dung pile from concrete. Are you familiar with concrete work? Join us in March/April for these projects!

    We (Arabella, 36, Florian, 37, Victoria, 2) own an old farmhouse in the heart of Lower Austria. Our little village is located in a beautiful surrounding with fields and pastures around us, 5 mins walk to the village. Kilb itself is about 25 min (by car) from St. Poelten and 20 min from Melk. It's 1hour to Vienna, even less than that to the next mountains (hiking, skiing), so there is plenty to see and do. There is public transport, but it's slow (bus to St. Pölten takes around 1.5hrs).

    We live here for 2 years now with our 3 dogs (2 golden, 1 mixed breed - they live with us in the house), some cats (they live outside), rabbits, chicken, ducks, geese... Just now our 4 sheeps moved in!!!
    We do not make a living out of farming, it's more of a hobby, but there is still enough work to do!

    We are looking for help with various projects. The main house is already in a pretty good shape, but there is still plenty to do. The range of work starts with some help in house and garden, maybe also some babysitting, and does not end with painting and reconstruction work as well as just regular maintenance.

    Some of our plans to come within the next years: building a swimming pond, reconstruction of an old wine cellar, revitalizing an old Vespa (1962), clearing the shack and building a fire place,... (nothing started by now)

    We offer housing (as long as we have not build the guest house you will live with us in a guest room [one single and one queen size bed] with own bathroom and toilet) and food (we are NOT vegetarian but very interested in foreign cuisine and more than happy to learn what you eat. We also love to BBQ in summer.). We have internet at the house.

    We speak German and English, willing to learn some Italian or Spanish, too - but good english is the basic requirement for communication! :) We are looking for one person or a couple staying with us - no idea for how long, maybe starting with 2 weeks or so? Your weekends will definitively be off - you can join us in our activities (working the dogs - we do SAR work with them, hiking, climbing, biking, or we also are happy to show you the beauty of our area, trips to Wachau [vineries!] or to Vienna where Arabella grew up) or be on the road on your own.
    During the week it depends on the weather and our ongoing project, but it will not be more than an average of 5hrs of work/day. Arabella is in maternity leave and busy with the Baby and house work! She also is back at Univerity studying. Florian is at work during the days and also away some of the evenings, so we might not have a lot of time to spend with you during the week!

    Important: We had some last minute cancellations this year. As we pick our workawayers carefully and will not host more than 2 or 3 per year, this not a very nice experience. So please, even if we have full unterstanding for upcoming emergencies, just apply when you are really able to come!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Besides some help in the house and with the garden (weeding, mowing...) we have various projects planned - see above. If you are good in mechanics (the Vespa!) or have some experience in construction work, we will try to get these projects going when you are there! Just talk to us and we will find something! And if you just want to help - there's still plenty of maintenance going on - wooden walls to paint, build a fence...

    Projects for 2015: building a fence, clearing the shack and the working room, keeping my veggie garden weeded... We have openings in August and October

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    So far you will be living in our house: we have a large guest room with a single bed an a queensize bed. we have a second bathroom and toilet which will be for you only (not directly connected with the room, though).
    We have wlan, no tv, and we listen a lot to classical music, so please, don't be scared! :D We are not vegetarian, but try to eat healthy and use mainly local products. In summer we get our own vegetables, and we have plenty of own eggs!
    Non smokers only, please!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    3-5hrs, 5 days/week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 482479268637