Help on our self sustainable farm on Vancouver Island in BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

atualizado  

Favorito 134 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    03/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 6 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    *CLOSED TILL SPRING*
    Hello! We are a farm located on Vancouver Island in BC Canada.

    We are 2 families plus - growing food and learning to live with nature in harmony. We do not grow for market but for self sufficiency and connectedness to nature.

    We are a dynamic group and engage in many activities such as cooking, musical jams fireside, kayaking, climbing and nature walks. Some among us are yoga teachers, breath work practitioners, meditation guides, counsellors / coaches. There is a collective interest in personal health, wellbeing, and spiritual development.
    We mostly eat a plant based diet, that is both delicious and nutritious.
    The Farmers Market and Diner down the rd. offers delicious items for your cravings and treats.

    ***What works best for booking dates with us is to arrive on a Sunday and depart on a Saturday.
    That way it gives you time to settle in and a chance for us to wash bedding etc.
    *We have a 2 week minimum but prefer longer stays*

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live in an area called the Cowichan Valley, which is lush with mountains, rivers, lakes and waterfalls. Spring, Summer and Fall are the best times but winters are quite mild and enjoyable. You can learn about wild plant medicine and wild food plus growing food and making delicious plant based meals.
    We are all very knowledgeable about natural health and wellness, using herbs and food as medicine. With some occasional juicing and intermittent fasting.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We need help with the daily chores of the farm such as: helping in the gardens, orchards and tending the 20 chickens - watering, weeding, planting, perhaps some grass mowing, and collecting eggs.
    Now that we are into the autumn weather, the chores are changing and the weather is cooler.

    We would like help with small building & repair projects. Each day and week will differ but some things will need to be done regularly - it’s all in flow with nature!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We understand a wee bit of French, German and Spanish but would love to expand on those and any other languages. We admire people that speak more than 1 language.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    #1 The Caravan is a built-in converted extended camper, completely covered with a roof and surround deck. It is located in a wonderful forest serenaded by the sounds of the rushing creeks

    The Caravan includes: Queen size sleeping platform a small fridge, closet, storage cubbies and a small kitchen sink with only cold water. .

    #2 Gypsy summer cabin located in the forest with a double bed, big comfy chair, a small sitting table and shelf for personal belongings. Space underneath bed to store suitcases etc.

    The rustic open air kitchen cabin is outfitted with all your cooking tools including fixings for breakfast and lunch. Fridge, freezer cupboards and large dining table. Cold water only

    There are 2 outhouses close by. The shower is located in the Farmhouse and there are laundry facilities.

    Dinner will generally be had together with members of the community. Your kitchen will be supplied with dinner fixins for your weekends off and for evenings that we don’t do a group meal.
    ***plant based meals and supplies***

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is so much to see just walking out of our driveway, bike to the waterfall or walk to the nearby farmers market with deli and diner. The ferry terminal to go to Saltspring Island is very close, we’d be happy to drop you off and pick you up. Search the Cowichan Valley and you will find many wonderful sites to see and events to attend. We are not on a bus route but will provide bicycles and the occasional lift into town (Duncan or Chemainus).
    ***Getting to Vancouver Island***
    There are various ways to get here on Vancouver Island, one way is to take a BCFerry to arrive at the Duke Point Terminal in Nanaimo, I can pick you up from there. Catch the ferry from Twsaassen Terminal to Duke Point Terminal.
    Or fly over on a small plane “Harbour Air” and arrive in Maple Bay for me to pick you up.
    If you take the ferry I can only pick you up from the Duke Point Terminal, the other Nanaimo ferry is too far for me to drive. There might be a bus from there to Chemainus, where we live and I can pick you up there

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have good wifi and an office space for local phone calls, a printer and a large Mac monitor. One family member works online as a web developer etc.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.4)

Comunicação: (4.6)








Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 464523584862