Become a part of our reindeer herding family in Storslett, Norway

Country

Noruega

Favorito 103 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    22/11/2022

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a Sami family living in Northern Norway and our family has one day and three children who are 7, 12 and 13 years old. We have one dog and reindeers in the wilderness of Northern Norway. The children live in my home every other week.

    NOMADIC LIFESTYLE
    Everyone who lives with us must be prepared to live a nomadic lifestyle that means all sorts of changes through the year. Our location is changing, the weather is changing, the nature is changing with big contrasts, the reindeers are changing locations and the nomadic lifestyle means that we embrace changes.

    REINDEER HUSBANDRY
    As our reindeers are wild and the work with reindeers are decided by the reindeers, then we never know what we will be doing. We cannot guarantee that we will be working with reindeers through your stay, but we can guarantee that you will be working with us reindeer herders. So, you must be flexible, and be able to adapt and embrace our culture as your own.

    HOUSEHOLD
    My children are super independent, and they organize about everything by themselves. I do like to make sure they eat dinner after school and eat well after football trainings. They train football at least 5 days a week, so this takes most of our spare time. The weeks when they are at my home we will have to stay at the house near their school, so most of the help will be needed at the residence.

    WORK STYLE
    The Sami People always work as teams and therefore you will always have someone with you when you are doing stuff. Except for at home, where we just do whatever tasks are needed and whoever has time.
    ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    WHAT QUALIFIES YOU
    1. You must have a personality that don’t require instructions to do tasks, but you have an eye for household tasks, and you start without anyone asking you. Just like you were the head of our family.

    2. I am a positive person with good humor, and I want people living in my home to have same attitude. In our home we never fight or argue, but we laugh and have good sense of humor.

    • You are hardworking
    • You are responsible person
    • You stay one month (or more?)
    • You have driver’s license
    • You like children
    • You are talkative and communicate well

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ensino
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    If you are a curious and adventurous personality, then you will have loads of benefits living with a Sami family at Northern Norway. We speak three languages fluent and our everyday life has huge contrasts. Sometimes we are at the mountains herding the reindeers without any technology, just like being 50 years back in time, and other times we are at home when kids are at school and our homes are very modern.

    In the Arctic there are many options for people who love new things and especially at Reisa valley there is fishing, hiking, bicycling and all sort of activities right outside your door. We are a very active family doing sports like football, hunting with dog or fishing. We hike a lot and do many sorts of things that benefits our well-being.

    When we visit our home in Kautokeino you can see and experience the oldest culture of Europe, the Sami Culture, and reindeer husbandry as no other places. There are theaters, museums, stores and many other things to see.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    If you have previous experience in carpentry and know how to do basic maintenance, then these tasks are the ones I never have time to do myself and I am always looking for someone who can help me with these things.

    HOUSEHOLD HELP:
    • Driving to store, trainings etc.
    • Cooking and cleaning
    • Taking care of children
    • Teaching language
    • Organizing and doing chores

    CARPENTRY HELP:
    • Indoor work (molding, painting etc.)
    • Outdoor maintenance/improvements
    • Building skills
    • Concrete skills

    REINDEER HELP:
    As Reindeer herding is a continuously process where people cannot decide anything, we cannot make a clear plan for when the reindeer work is happening. Shortly we can say that in August and September we mark the reindeer calfs, in October to November we herd the reindeers, December is a super dark month without any daylight, January to February we slaughter reindeers and have them in fence, between March and May we have reindeers in fence to mark the calfs that was not caught in August, in May we herd the flock and summer is for repairing stuff. Super short explanation, right?


    ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente
    Sami: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Spanish, German, Russian, Tagalog

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We are nomads, so we have several homes where we stay at different times. In periods we are on the mountains also living in smaller cottages, sometimes tents, sometimes modern houses etc. Every season has its own charm, and we don’t live by the calendar as other people do.

    Every day we have one common meal after the children come from school and all other meals everybody makes for themselves as they want. We hold a traditional Norwegian diet blended with Sami diet based on fish, meat, bread, rice and so on. Obviously, we will try to customize our diet and food for your taste.

    But when it comes to our homes then they are all new, clean and well organized.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our surroundings are perfect for nature lovers and people who like hiking, fishing, hunting, skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling and those kinds of activities. We are not living in a big city or even near a big city, but we do have very modern homes with all needed.

    You are free to do all sorts of adventures with us or even alone of you want, and I believe all stay will feel like “time off”. We have cars available for you if you want to go somewhere alone and all sorts of other adventure equipment.

    We also have adventures business and therefore access to all sorts of equipment for paddling, fishing, and various nature excursions.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I have super fast fiber internet with 100mb up/down speed in both homes and this will make it easy to work online at my home.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We don't live in a city, so we have loads of space.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    As long as it's not a cat or rabbit.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 445918398734