Help with building a sustainable life on Flores Island, Azores, Portugal

  • Favorito 1191 vezes
  • Última atividade: 18 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Welcome home

    Looking for a couple for house and pet sitting as soon as possible. Ideally people with gardening and off grid experience.

    I'm Laia, passionate about nature and sustainability.
    Some years ago I purchased this land on Ilha das Flores, about 3000 square meters, and I then began planting an abundance of veggies and restoring the stone house to make it comfortable for living with respect to the environment. It was my aim to create a safe space of calmness and creativity.

    The view from the house is just magnificent, you feel lucky to be surrounded by such beauty every day. The soil is extremely fertile with an abundance of moisture and minerals. This surroundings are very well suited and connected with the rhythms of the earth and nature.

    The property is fairly remote, we only hear the ocean waves and the birdsong most nights, which cultivates the right environment for creative processes.
    I'm creating a food forest system based on principles from agro-ecology and permaculture. There are already some adapted vegetables growing by themselves and some fruit trees.

    The property doesn't have road access, the path is a 5-10 minute walk down a footpath from the village. That make you feel really immersed in nature but also make things more difficult since sometime we need to carry materials to the place.
    This spot is very special but is not for everyone, you need to be really fit and wanting to fully live this experience and overcome challenges. The path can be really dump in winter and the weather can be challenging sometimes.

    The closest shop or bar is about 15 minutes drive, and if you don't have vehicular transport it's more like a 2 hour hike. There is a bus two times a day, however.

    I am looking to share the land with like-minded people who would like to stay for longer periods than just a few weeks, although this can be accommodated also.

    The house is small, 24 square meters divided in two floors. Is made out of stone and wood and is pretty off the grid. We have consistent and plentiful solar electricity. Downstairs there is a fridge-freezer, a gas cooker and a wood stove for heating. Upstairs there is a bedroom and living room.
    There is a separate wooden out-house that contains a compost toilet. Right now the shower is outdoors (but you can also make a bath) and there is a wood water heater.

    The water is not treated and it comes from a spring with a long pipe. Is used by some neighbors for the cows to drink. Sometimes we run out of water for some days especially in summer. It can happen in winter also tough. I have a 200 liters tank to keep water for washing purposes but if that happens you will need to carry from the village the drinking and cooking water.

    There are two options of being part of the project. One is house-sitting while I'm away. For that purpose I prefer responsible couples with experience in building and gardening since part of the exchange is taking care of the garden and doing maintenance of the existing accomodations or improving them.
    The other option is as a volunteer while I'm there during the spring and summer months. In that case the sleeping place will be in a tent.

    I like to work on a base of freedom, equality and responsibility. We can discuss the things needed to be done and decide what we are going to work on during the day/week/month.

    Also I ask responsibility and care with the stuff. If anyone break or lose something should be repaired or replaced. If that's not possible we can talk about other solution.

    I can only host people who is autonomous and able to make decisions and take responsibility being active part of the project.
    If you see the possibility take responsibility.
    I will be away for some months and need to have someone trustable and communicative. Also with the basics skills for working with tools, gardening, cleaning, cutting wood and fixing things. That's a challenging environment and the work to keep it in good condition it's constant.

    I’m part of a work exchange with some friends, once a week we spend a day helping another project. Usually once a month they will come to our farm. That’s very interesting because we get to know other realities and we have lots of fun!

    If you need to have more information about anything let me know, I will be happy to answer your questions.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I can share my knowledge about plants and permaculture. I like to make natural soaps,creams, kombucha, sauerkraut and some more things that we can do together if you want.
    We always learn a lot living in such a isolated and beautiful place making experiencies and creating things with our hands.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I need help for house-sitting. Take care of the cats, chickens and the garden. Cut the grass and keep the veggie beds alive. Also the house needs always some maintenance so a handy couple will be the ideal.

  • Idiomas

    Catalan: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Is a small house off the grid. It has 220v solar electricity. Also a fridge and gas stove with oven. The compost toilet is in a cabin outside the house. The shower is outdoors and there is a wood water heater.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a creek with beautiful waterfalls 5 minutes walking from the house were you can refresh in summer.
    The island is plenty of beautiful hikes to do and some free campsites. Many waterfalls and secret spots in the sea to visit and take a dip.
    As well it's interesting getting to know the beautiful people living on the island and participate in activities and parties.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    There is electricity to charge computers and data connection.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 442574383637

Comentário (2)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Help with gardening in the calm countryside in Foros de Almada, Portugal
Help with DIY and enjoy surfing in Aljezur, Portugal