Come and help on our little farm near Windhoek, Namibia

Country

Namíbia

Favorito 285 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    23/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our little farm is only 11 ha, but has a lot to offer. The house is standing on pillars and on top of a hill, from where you have a near endless sight, without seen any houses.
    The whole setup resembles a mix of holiday house and farm yard. We have a stable, a big chicken run, a big duck pond, a fish pond with kois, a swimming pool, a small veggie garden and a Lucerne garden.
    The whole setup runs on Solar power and own bore hole for fresh water.
    This inhales only about 2 ha which is surrounded by bush veld,
    We are developing this little farm to a self sufficient place, where you reap what you sow and you eat what you breed, with bush veld to get your herbs and medicines for minor ailments and game you can see from the porch.
    Our vision is a self sufficient bio farm and it would be very interesting for work aways to be part of the development of this, being able to learn and also to put in there own know how or craftsmanship.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are both German. One of us has immigrated from Germany to Namibia many years ago and the other was born here in fourth generation.
    We live near to Windhoek, where there are a lot of cultural tours, which can be booked on own costs.
    As the farm is on route to the South and West, a tour to Sossousvlei, Swakopmund or Walfish bay is possible on own cost.
    Being born here and living on a farm my whole live, I have a broad knowledge of the field, it's plants and game animals. This is what the Namibian culture is about, no matter which ethnic group. Living in and from the land.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The help will inhale the care of the chickens, ducks, fish, horses and cows. Milking, feeding, gardening and general care of the farm animals.
    Craftsmanship or the willingness to work with your hands are essential. We are planning a little Aloe Vera plantation, a bigger veggie garden, a shed, a container house and a little fruit orchard. This will not be done in one shift, but taken on according to priority. Knowledge about welding, building or any craft would be a big plus.
    Mending fences, general gardening and general farm work will be part of your day.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation for the time being would be an en suite double bedroom with own porch and a nearly endless view towards the far blue mountains. There are plans for a little apartment with own entrance for volunteers.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are living our dream, by staying on a little farm and having free running game around us. This is something we would like to share. Being self sufficient and producing bio products is our aim.
    Our volunteers would be living in the house with us, eating with us. Tolerance of each other thus is essential.
    Trips to Windhoek can be arranged.
    We have Internet, but not for downloads of films or videos. Adequate use of Internet can be arranged according to needs of all house inhabitants, without bursting the limit.
    We also have quite good cell phone reception.
    Because of Namibia being so dry, the growing of vegetables and fruit is very limited. Thus we can not cater for any special dietary needs like vegetarians or vegans. Alcohol or any other beverage, except water and self made juices, have to be supplied by the work away.
    Please no drinking of alcohol during a working day.
    Provision should be taken for any allergies. We do not cater for lactose intolerance, gluten intolerance or vegan lifestyle or diet. All foods will be prepared in our kitchen as we would do it every day. If there is any perks you need, you have to supply at own cost and help with the preparation thereof.
    We love a sense of humor and adore people that have dreams, plans and are eager to learn. Own initiative and thoughts towards building a sustainable farm is always welcome.
    It is about hands on experience and getting your hands dirty and practicing a sustainable and self sufficient lifestyle should be what you want to experience. For this, you are at the right place.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)












Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 434124299133