Small hostel with a family-like atmosphere in Windhoek, Namibia

Country

Namíbia

Favorito 588 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    11/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    546

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    59.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 15 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our Backpackers is a small hostel in Windhoek with a very family like atmosphere. It is very close to the City Centre, just 10-15 minutes walking distance. Most of the guests are longterm guests who stay here between 3 months and 1 year. Therefore it feels more like living in a shared house than in a hostel.

    I was running it with my husband. But we are separated and now I am sharing the work with my Cuban-Namibian Assistant Manager . We need some help during Christmas time and from May to August when we are having the most guests around. But even during the other months of the year it would be fine to have someone who can help. I am not interested in work awayers who want to come for 1 week or 2 or see Work away as a cheap way to keep up travelling as long as possible. I am also not interested in work awayers wo copy and paste their application. If you do not have time to write us a personal mail please refrain from requesting a place for you. The minimum time to stay here is 3 weeks and more. It takes a bit of time to learn the things so it does not make sense to show someone the work and after learning it the volunteer is gone.

    Sometimes we have local interns who are studying tourism who need to do internships who are helping out as well. Apart from the hostel we are organizing tours around Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and South Africa. Therefore we have a huge knowledge about many places where to stay, how to get there and where not to go. We can share that with you if you are interested.
    Our place has a huge pool and a garden that also needs a lot of attention. We have cats and a dog. The dog likes to be taken out which we cannot always manage but I try to take her out at least 2-3 times a week.
    We are very environmentally concerned therefore we try to teach all our guests how to recycle and safe water.

    Our other employees are Christa the cleaning lady who keeps everything nice and shiny and Mr Six who is the security guard watching over us during the night.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Volunteers can experience the different Namibian cultures. We take them out to cultural events if there are some like concerts, theater, dance, markets etc. They can accompany us on hikes and walks. They can participate in showing kids how to skate in the skatepark that was built 3 years ago by an NGO that regularly visits us with volunteers.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The work would be to attend to the guest’s requests, check in and out. Make bookings and reservations. On the weekends sometimes beds must be taken off and made new as the cleaner is off on the weekends. Sometimes prepare some breakfast, take the dog out, go shopping, make payments. Repair some little things like exchanging bulbs. You should have a driver license and be an experienced driver. You should not be afraid to drive on the left side. I am also very happy about people who can keep our social media profile up to date or who are handy and can repair or maintain broken things.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Italiano: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    If possible you will have your own room. But sometimes it's not possible then you would have to share a dormitory with other guests.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    If there is a possibility you can join others to visit the typical attractions in Namibia while beeing here. The guests normally travel over the week ends and they rent cars and go by themselves. So there would be possibilities to join them.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We are having a stable internet connection and several places where you can work

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    We do not have an hour schedule and we are open during 7 days a week Maximum 25 hours a week volunteering







Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 875754923297