Experience island living while helping with some garden tasks in Denman Island, BC, Canada

  • Favorito 33 vezes
  • Última atividade: 1 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I have done a lot of travelling and enjoy meeting people, especially young people. I live alone on a small island and run a small b&b. Workawayers will not be helping with the b&b. My property is surrounded by forest next to a lake where I have a private dock. The lake is great for swimming. The island has a small commercial centre, general store, craft store, 2 coffee shops and arts centre. There are also 2 community centres where many events happen through the year.
    There is also another island nearby.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The boundary of the island is defined by the seashore and that then defines the community. Many people don't enjoy the benefits of a strong community and what they can accomplish. We are passionate about our island and many people are involved organization working towards addressing problems and creating solutions. There are 2 main organizations focusing on the environment, one for land, the other for the ocean, working with government or taking the government to task. The community also comes together to celebrate the richness that we have.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I mostly need help with gardening. I have a sizable vegetable garden as well as flower gardens. Gardening jobs would include weeding, thinning out plants in the vegetable garden, mowing and possibly transplanting. There may be odd jobs needed doing but nothing that needs any expertise, such as window washing, stacking fire wood and collecting seaweed.

    Workawayers will not be helping at the b&b.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation is in the house, you would have your own bedroom. The house is small and comfortable. There is a composting toilet. Cooking can be shared or not. Breakfast and lunch would be self serve unless I am cooking something.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I enjoy showing both the islands to people and taking them on hikes. There is a fair amount of wildlife to see. You can rent a kayak to go on the ocean. There may be public transport depending on the virus situation.
    I like a fairly tidy house. I expect to have help in sharing the day to day cleaning up, eg dishwashing.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 419415436129

Fotos

Comentário