Help our family to bring the garden and land back to life in Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy

  • Itália
  • Favorito 78 vezes
  • Última atividade: 25/01/2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    We are Cally & Nick and in 2016, having spent nearly 20 years running international summer camps in the UK, we decided to embark on an overseas adventure of our own. Our search for a different way of living and working, brought us to Italy and ultimately to an abandoned farmhouse in the beautiful Crete Senesi area of Tuscany, south of Siena.

    We have spent the last 5 years lovingly restoring the original property. The house is situated amidst breathtaking countryside and the property includes two areas of woodland, ponds, an olive grove and a lavender field.

    We are now entering the final stages of the house renovation and are looking to bring together a small team of workawayers to help with the external areas - creating the garden and helping with the farmland.

    This whole project has been a jump into the unknown for us, with lots of new experiences and some fairly steep learning curves. We are really excited about the next stage of this project and feel that establishing the garden and integrating the different aspects of the land is a great opportunity for us and you to co-create something very special and long-lasting.

    All workawayers will share our home with us and our two children (aged 12 and 4) as well as our dog and 3 cats.

    Since establishing a new life in Tuscany we have enjoyed growing closer to nature and more in touch with a seasonal way of living and eating. This really is a place to slow down and appreciate the small things, like watching the sunset, talking a walk in nature and enjoying great company with local food around the kitchen table.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Tuscany is quite simply stunning! The landscape is breathtaking - so much so that the nearby Val d'Orcia, an area of agricultural landscape, is a UNESCO World Heritage site. We are immersed in the countryside famous for its rolling hills and cypress trees. Nearby, we also have natural thermal springs, the wild Tuscan coast, known for its Maremma Pine forests as well as inland Mount Amiata with its snowy slopes in the winter and natural treks the rest of the year.

    Delicious food, incredible wines, art, architecture and culture are all in abundance.

    We are a 25 minute drive to the centre of Siena, a beautiful medieval city famed for its annual Palio horse race which takes place right in the Piazza in the heart of the city.

    75 minutes away is Florence, with its world-famous art galleries and incredible Cathedral.

    Hill top towns like Montalcino, Montepulciano and Pienza are all under an hour away, where you will find no shortage of wine and cheese tastings.

    The property is in a peaceful rural area, yet in under 10 minutes you can drive to our local town with all amenities: supermarket, weekly market, bars, banks, pizzeria, hairdressers.

    At the house there will be opportunity for regular yoga sessions (Cally is a qualified teacher practitioner) which can take place in the purpose built yoga studio. Plus we can arrange art classes, wine tastings, olive oil tastings, pasta-making workshops and local guided visits.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We would like our workawayers to help us with tree-planting, building fences, establishing pathways, clearing land, tending to the lavender field and creating a vegetable garden. There are also some finishing touches to the house such as painting and decorating. There are also general tasks around the house, tidying up, some occasional help with the kids and animals.

    We are also looking for 1or 2 workawayers to help prepare lunch and dinner for the team. We ask for around 4 hours per day from our workawayers, 5 days per week.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    The restored farmhouse is divided into a private living area for us and our 2 children, plus large areas for guests which will be available for our workawayers.

    All bedrooms are ensuite and we welcome solo travellers, friends and couples.

    The bedrooms and bathrooms are all bright and airy with modern-rustic feel.

    Meals will be provided in the indoor and outdoor dining areas and the guest space has been designed with communal living in mind, including inviting open-plan areas and a large kitchen.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There will be plenty of time to relax, doing as much or as little as you wish. As we are in a rural location, it would be beneficial to have your own car, though we can also give you access to a car or arrange transport during your stay.

    We are looking for our workaway team to join us for 4-5 weeks, during the month of March, but would also consider shorter stays - a minimum of two weeks and up to a month, though it could be longer.

    If you are looking for a back-to-nature group experience, with like-minded, light hearted individuals surrounded by incredible Tuscan countryside then we would love to speak with you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 416679953664

Comentário (4)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)