Come and help on farm and enjoy our remote location in Calvados, France

  • Favorito 23 vezes
  • Última atividade: 4 mar. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are originally from the UK. We worked as property Guardians from 2016-2023 and are now living at our smallholding, We bought part of a dis-used dairy farm several years ago but due to work commitments progress renovating the farmhouse has been slow, now are living on site we hope renovation progress will be much faster. We are both middle aged, love the outdoor life, our animals and have varied backgrounds. After years of being party animals we now enjoy the quiet life

    Ed has been a Landscaper/Gardener/Farmer/in property maintenance and security all his working life. Ed loves running and keeping fit, target shooting, his 37 Ouessant sheep and learning new skills.
    I have had many different occupations - Vet nurse/Personal Fitness Trainer/livery stable manager/gite manager to name a few. I have my horse, chickens and dogs and I'm an online animal activist. I also like to transform old furniture.
    Our ideal night is out under the stars by the fire pit eating/drinking alfresco with friends and family.

    We have fresh free range, organic eggs. We will have veg from the potager once i';s established and fruit when it's in season including apples, cherries, raspberries, goosberries, currants, strawberries, pears, quince and hopefully peaches in the future.

    Anyone who comes to us will have plenty of opportunity to share and learn skills. We have a plant based diet so rarely eat meat. Helpxer's who cook are especially welcome!

    It is essential that our visitors enjoy being in the countryside, don't mind getting dirty and like animals! They must bring appropriate work clothing and footwear (it gets really hot in the summer.) and be used to hard graft. Tools and gloves will be provided.

    We need help with gardening, cooking, walking the dogs, assisting with clearing our old farmyard, painting and erecting fences and shelters, this year we specifically need help cleaning the internal stone walls of our house ready for plastering and pointing so are looking for people who have building and gardening skills for up to 2 weeks, possibly longer but we will have to see.
    There is a private caravan for Helpxer's to sleep in but this accommodation is better suited to the warmer weather. There is a hot shower, basic kitchen and laundry facilities in the main house and we have a fire-pit for alfresco dining.

    I could collect volunteers from the station at Vire.

    I sometimes go to the beach and often long walks with the dogs, so it will be a great opportunity to explore rural Normandy, there is lots to see and do in the warmer months.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We speak English and I am learning French, but anyone with any language is welcome provided we can communicate - if all else fails ... there's DeepL the translation app, to help!

    Depending on what task need doing, visitors could learn;
    English culture/history/language
    animal care - sheep/dogs/chickens - feeding/recognising illness/keeping in ideal conditions etc
    gardening/weeding/planting skills
    farm maintenance skills

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    pointing stonework and painting fences
    cooking and keeping your own accommodation clean
    walking the dogs
    gardening and planting
    fencing and erecting animal shelters
    clearing out barns
    trimming hedges
    using ride on lawnmowers
    sheep and horse care (optional)
    cleaning out the chickens
    picking in season fruit

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I am learning French and need to improve so a French speaker would be very welcome, but any language is interesting to learn, I have a very good command of the English language.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A dry private caravan is offered, situated in a barn, but we also have a Teepee and a tent if guests prefer. Due to the nature of the accommodation spring and summer stays are better. There is a hot water shower in the house and a basic kitchen with washing machine but the main part of the house is not yet habitable. We have satellite internet but downloading needs to be done at specific times due to data usage.
    I go into Vire for coffee and it's possible to visit Granville and Mont St Michel amongst other places if there is time.
    We have 2 bicycles that guests are welcome to borrow.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Work clothes/walking/work boots/wellies and old clothes will be needed as visitors will get dirty. We will provide work gloves and any necessary protective clothing (i.e. minding the bonfire) and tools.
    We often have a beer or glass off wine in the evenings, and love to exchange stories with people. There are books and a TV for DVD's if visitors like to watch films and a radio but no live TV. We have wi-fi but in rural France it is not very fast, so streaming movies has to be done overnight due to data usage.

    I love to walk and go out for coffee, so there will be opportunities to visit local coffee bars and try local food/ markets/shops/tourist spots/ beautiful sandy beaches and visit our neighbours. Copious amounts of dog walking is actively encouraged!
    There are no local bus routes where we live but we can drop off/pick up on days off.

    Paris is one hour and forty minutes away by train from Lisieux, our main largest town near work and Lisieux hosts a great Saturday morning market.

    Visitors will be expected to work productively alongside us, keep their living area clean, respect our values and have spending money as vegetarian meals are provided but any extra's wanted should be bought by guests.

    Coffee/tea and squash/water will be 'on tap' and some beer/wine in the evening for 18+ aged guests.

    Please make us aware of any allergies or dietary requirements (sadly, 32oz steak and champagne is not available... :)) and so long as these are reasonable we will do our best to accommodate.
    We look forward to welcoming you to our home, thanks for reading our profile.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I enjoy writing (I am not published as yet) and learning tech skills so would enjoy the company of a Digital Nomad! I would require the same level of help around the smallholding.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    On our own farm we can host Campervan's and caravans

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We have dogs and are happy to accept dogs if they are sociable and well behaved - our 3 are very excitable, 2 are from rescue shelters and one is still learning how to behave around people and animals. All dogs must be kept under control around the animals and are not allowed to sleep on the beds.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 393886935475

Fotos

Comentário