atualizado  

Come to our conservation charity garden in Wiltshire, UK

  • Reino Unido
  • Favorito 399 vezes
  • Última atividade: 06/02/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    INTRODUCTION:
    How about a study holiday at our our education Trust? It's a registered charity to advance education in horticulture & conservation). I have hosted over 29 students from 12 countries.

    It's a friendly, mellow, rural atmosphere: to explore England, learn skills and enrich your outlook. Study activities include: horticulture, heritage, painting, wildlife, landscaping, crafts, conservation. Residential placements for male students age 18-28 (female accommodation dependent on local host families). And since this is a study holiday you can also be flexible in your timetable to have (for example) 3 or 4+ days long weekends away for private excursions,/visiting friends etc.

    WHAT WE DO:
    Receive visiting groups; teach horticulture & conservation; make videos; skill training for the unemployed, resource for adults with learning difficulties (with Wiltshire Council special education unit).

    Also linked to 7 British universities for student conservation research articles, and for making conservation videos.

    TUITION: No previous experience or skills required as tuition provided. But you need a reasonable standard of English.

    Large LIBRARY: on wildlife, conservation, art, history, horticulture, heritage, landscape design etc.

    SPORTS: Gymnasium (twin weight stack/fixed weight/3 seating position system + free weights). Small Pool. Good countryside for jogging. Use of a bicycle.

    LOCAL FACILITIES:
    In the village there is:
    general store, post-office, village hall, 2 pubs, church, golf resort, sports field, woodcarving club, football club.

    Chippenham (8minutes by bus) has:
    2 night clubs; lots of pubs; good range of shops and sports facilities.
    Calne (2 minutes by bus) has: skateboard/bmx park; good restaurants; motor museum.

    PLACES TO VISIT NEARBY: Major attractions include: Stonehenge; Roman Bath; Bristol; Malmesbury; Longleat House; Lacock Abbey; Salisbury Cathedral; Avebury Stone Circles; Bowood House & Gardens; Cotswold Water Park; Somerset coast; South Wales castles & mountains.

    Railway station (direct from London) is Chippenham. Bath= 11 minutes by train, Bristol= 23mns. Nearest airport : Bristol.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Companhia para idosos
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Gaining a wide range of skills & insights in horticulture, landscaping, garden crafts, art & design.

    Improving self reliance, initiative, confidence.

    Improve/polish spoken and written English.

    Developing an understanding of English heritage, traditions, history, society.

    Explore this part of England and its wide range of historical and cultural attractions.

    Opportunity to interact with the local community and events, incl the church and the wood carving club.

    Join training sessions with local football, volleyball, basketball clubs.

    YOUR HOST:
    Stephen is a gardener/
    designer/conservationist who created a registered charity. He has made an unusual garden from a field.

    He has written many hundreds of articles on: history, heritage, design, gardening, conservation, wildlife, climate change, and education. He is now writing a series of e-books on horticulture, conservation, and well-being.

    He will welcome students interested in any of these subjects who wish to study with him.

  • UK chairty

    Registered charity

    This host is a registered charity in the UK and is looking for help with their charity project.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Some of the free study opportunities you can enjoy include:
    1. Horticulture- all types.
    2. Wildlife/conservation/ecology.
    3. Landscape design.
    4. English culture, history & customs.
    5. Digital platforms/social media
    6. Video making & photography.
    7. Research
    8. Heritage excursions.
    9. Sports opportunities (we can offer you our links to local sports clubs e.g. football/volleyball,basketball)
    10. English language improvement.

    ALL our work is charitable & educational and not-for profit. We do not employ staff/workers. We seek to enhance individual life skills & experience and improve international friendship. The specific skills/subjects you learn will be listed on your Testimonial on leaving.

    Application process includes receiving our student documents/protocols (e.g. student welfare, safeguarding, local facilities/guides, health & safety, etc). You can also chat on Whatsapp to get to know more before you make a decision.

    VISAS:
    (i) For standard tourist UK entry to stay with us (as a charity) for 30 days you do not need a visa.
    (ii) For longer stays you will need a Tier 5 Youth Mobility Scheme (working holiday) visa.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation is in a traditional English semi-detached rural house (built 1885).

    Simple vegetarian meals 3 times a day (milk,cheese,eggs are used) Tea/coffee breaks during the day.

    BEDROOM: Single/private. Wifi. Small table. Big window.

    OTHER: There is a cat. Large fish pond in garden + aquarium in house.
    No smoking household. Low energy usage & ecological living. Organic gardening.

    You can also use the acoustic guitar, and bicycle. Very good collection of contemporary and classical music, films, books, Satellite tv + Netflix. Unlimited wifi/internet.

    Nice big fully equipped summer/study house & additional library at bottom of garden. Vegetable & salad & fruit gardens.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Bus from Chippenham/Calne/Swindon stops outside the house every 30 minutes. At Chippenham you can get a bus to many other places; or use the main-line railway direct to: London, Bristol, Oxford, Wales and all over England.

    Many interesting walks and lovely English countryside with views of the Avon Vales and the Wessex Downs, & River Marden Valley.

    The famous Bowood House & Gardens (and its acclaimed Golf Resort) is a 12mns walk away.

    Locally there is also:
    Fishing. Cycling. Jogging. Basketball. Volley-ball. Tennis. Museums. Golf. Bmx bike & skatboarding park. Cycle Track Chippenham to Calne. Several Football pitches. Football clubs. Swimming. Friendly church. Walking groups. Pub quiz nights. Wood-carving club in the village.

    If you have any particular hobbies/interests we will try to find connections/outlets for you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    There is a garden room for the student to use for online studies in complete privacy. It has a desk and chair, table lamp, wifi access, day bed etc.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Entirely flexible and up to you- but maybe allow yourself 2 or 3 hours study Mondays to Friday.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 393882544539

Comentário (11)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

















Stay with our family and discover the hills and mountains of southern Snowdonia, Wales, UK
Bring new ideas and a new energy to our family in Uckfield, UK