Help me with some gardening in the centre of Pembroke, Wales, UK

  • Reino Unido
  • Favorito 114 vezes
  • Última atividade: 06/02/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Pre-profile alert: I have had more than one (two, in fact) comments that I look out of character grumpy (in my photo profile). I don't think so and don't particularly trust smiley things or people or photos so I shall keep the profile as it is. I am not Grumpy, I declare.

    I am a male, retired architect and shopkeeper and am renovating a 250yr-old property in the centre of Pembroke, Pembrokeshire. I have spent this year restoring old paneling and adding new on the ground floor. At the rear there is a large garden, the combination of two medieval plots (burgages). It needs clearing and landscaping before the Spring growth gets growing, an enjoyable and satisfying task.
    I do have family but they are in London and doing other things.

    Pembroke is a historic, walled town in the far West of Pembrokeshire. It sits on a limestone ridge five or so miles from the coast. There is coast to the West and to the South. There are spectacular beaches which I am happy to visit too.
    If you are interested in castles, Pembroke has the third largest castle in Britain. There are plenty more castles aroundabout (Tenby, Manobier, Laugharne, Cilgerran, Kidwelly etc.), left over from a turbulent, medieval history. in which I am interested.

    Although Welsh is taught in the schools, Pembroke (apart from a few years during the the Civil War) was continuously royalist, so this part of Wales is almost wholly English-speaking.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I have transport and can ferry workaways to and from places within reason.
    I may also want to paint and draw and workaways can do that too or not. There is plenty of varied coastline to choose from and some superb beaches.
    There is a reliable if dull normal bus service and the house is within yards of the main local and national bus-stop in Pembroke. There is also a 'beach-hopper' 20-seater bus service connecting the beaches (with rack for surf boards) in the Summer.
    Several beaches are good for surfing (surfing as in UK, not LA).
    I like to tap into cultural events, as and when they occur, although they are pretty rare.
    August is the month for village fairs and fetes. Events quieten down between October and March, but those months are arguably more enjoyable.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    In the garden, some help clearing and levelling and steps and planting beds laying out.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There are three bedrooms: two large and one small; one large has a double and a single bed; one has a double bed but could easily have another single; the small room has a single bed.
    I might have other guests so it would be best if two workaways shared a large room, if not a double bed. I am assuming that I host two workaways.
    There is a big kitchen with a fridge and freezer and a large table.
    Breakfast you help yourself from provided ingredients; cold lunch or soup I provide; hot evening meal which I will cook and I'm not a bad cook. I bake my own bread. Workaways to wash up.
    I shop at the Country Market (home made) and Lidl.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I like chasing around the County finding odd or interesting buildings or landscapes. Workaways can accompany me or do it for themselves: I have some guided information.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Basic broadband.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 386943947133

Comentário (3)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)





Enjoy all the opportunities for cultural exchange while helping at our hostel in Edinburgh, Scotland
Language exchange in Deal, Kent, UK