Help with restoration, building and arts and crafts in 152 year old church in Pennsylvania, USA

Country

EUA

atualizado   Última hora

Favorito 429 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    24/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    1552

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Este é um anfitrião de última hora. Eles nos informaram que precisam de ajuda imediata e também para outras datas ao longo do ano.
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We have a church we have turned into a home, workshop and studio.

    My husband is Scottish & I'm American. We've traveled a lot and love meeting people.

    This is a huge project and extra hands are always appreciated!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have a really positive attitude, love talking and exchanging ideas, love sharing knowledge and learning from others too.

    Remodeling a bell tower, adding & remodeling bathrooms, firewood gathering & lots of projects going, we like people who have skills & are happy to teach those that don't.

    We try to always do a local tour of the area with our Workaway friends. Our area is a very diverse cultural heritage area, with people from all over the world that came here over150 years ago to work in the coal mines and create new lives.

    We love to listen to music that our helpers like, and share our music with them. If there are local music events, we try to go to them. :)

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    2022 is going to be fantastic! We’re removing the crumbling front stone steps & turning the reclaimed material into planters, creating an outdoor kitchen, growing unique organic gardens, cutting firewood, and will be designing a special & seasonal outdoor living area.

    If you enjoy being outdoors in the fresh mountain air, incredible night skies and meeting new friends, you’ll want to get in touch. We’re filling up our spring & summer Workaway calendar now.

    From building decks, installing stained glass windows, building a greenhouse, wood working, creating an outdoor shower, stonework and many more learning opportunities, our project needs strong, positive people.

    Really need help with gathering, splitting & stacking firewood, this happens year round.
    Also building an outdoor oven, kitchen area and fire pit. We want to make a magical outdoor space for all to enjoy.

    We are doing lots of remodeling, art projects, floor refinishing, organic gardening and much more. Mosaic work, garden creation and lots of different deck building.

    The church building is huge and we are in a very quiet village. It’s a very unique place to stay.

    We have a studio that we teach art & craft workshops in. It has a bathroom with shower that our Workaway helpers use as well as a full kitchen. We are vegetarian.

    We are a totally nonsmoking place.

    We ask that you volunteer 5 hours for 5 days a week in exchange for food, lodging and fun things near us. We also have bicycles and helmets available for you to use.

    Food is provided free. The private Workaway area has it’s own kitchen and it’s well stocked with food. You will be expected to cook & clean up after yourself on your own time.
    Washing machine on premises and we use indoor & outdoor clothes lines.

    Our typical day is 9 am to noon, then an hour break for lunch. Then 1 to 3 pm. After that, your time is your own.

    Of course we flex this schedule with trips to the stores, around the area and you're always welcome to go with us!

    Helping days are usually Monday through Friday, but that's flexible too, depending on what we have happening in our art & craft studio.

    Beautifully situated in the mountains with lots of hiking trails right outside our doors, we're at the top of a quiet little village. There is a town just a mile away with shops, restaurants, cafes, library & more. We are 15 minutes away from a wonderful amusement park, Knoebels, an hour from Hersheypark & lots of other fun things to see.

    We are about an hour north of Harrisburg and pickup/drop off our Workaway friends at the train/bus station or airport there, free of charge.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Interested in helping you with your English and learning your language too.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Our place is super quiet with incredible birds like bald eagles, wild turkeys, hummingbirds & lots more, plus a lovely outdoor area.

    Spring & summer 2022 we’re creating a outdoor living area where you’ll have your own private canopy to call your own while you stay with us!

    We have four new canopies that provide your own space with a tent under it with a cot, bedding & towels provided. Each will have electricity and fairy lights and you’re welcome to make it a real glamping experience!

    We have grills, outdoor furniture and we want you to feel welcome and at home here.

    Winter helpers, we get snow here! Sometimes lots of it and snow shoveling & snow blowing is a seasonal task.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are in the beautiful coal mining region of Pennsylvania. Lots of things to see and do in the area.

    State parks, swimming, fishing, hiking, bicycle riding and true tranquility here at the former church.

    We are happy to pick up & drop off Workaway friends in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. There is a bus & train station, as well as an airport there. Our church is an hour and fifteen minutes north of Harrisburg.

    Lots of musical instruments here, books, art opportunity with paintings, various crafts and projects.

    We are vegetarian and enjoy meditation and yoga.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a large parking lot with privacy, shade and the possibility of water & electricity.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (5.0)





























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 384431839869