Help build our off-grid finca and work with rescue dogs in Matarraña, rural Spain



Favorito 60 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 7 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    We are Simone and Julie, a German and French couple who chose to build our little off-grid finca in rural Spain, with a permaculture garden, fruit trees, and a straw bale house with dry toilet and grey water recycling. We moved here at the end of 2020 and are still busy setting up a lot of the infrastructure. We have a small house where we both live at the moment, with electricity, decent internet connection, and (limited) running water.
    We are building our home on six hectares of olive and almond orchards and woodland and always have big or small projects going on. We have two adopted dogs, four cats, five chickens, a small vegetable garden and a some young fruit trees. We both volunteer at the local animal shelter about once a week and sometimes foster dogs in our home.
    Our place is around 2 km from the nearest village, set in the beautiful landscape of the Matarraña, with old olive trees and amazing views of the Els Ports natural park. What you hear when you wake up in the morning is our rooster crowing, the birds in the trees, the bells worn by the nearby cows, and maybe the tractor of one of the small farmers from the village driving to work.

    We love animals and eat almost exclusively plant-based food, although we do eat the eggs from our own happy adopted chickens.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will see an alternative lifestyle in rural Spain, enjoy some peace and quiet in nature, and get an impression of animal rescue and shelter work.

  • Ajuda


    Depending on the season and our progress with construction, you might be helping us with the following things:
    - pruning almond or fruit trees, harvesting and processing almonds
    - watering fruit trees
    - continue refurbishing the old stone cottage where our volunteers sleep
    - rebuild dry stone walls on terraces
    - build a grey water recycling system
    - build a straw bale house
    - taking care of the chickens
    - gardening and landscaping
    - cleaning the forest area from dead wood
    - cutting firewood
    - walk or train our dogs
    - volunteer at the animal shelter: Clean kennels, cuddle dogs, provide walks, assist in photoshoots for their online adoption profiles, build climbing structures for the cats,...

    Basic construction skills, woodworking skills, experience with power tools or with dog training are helpful, but not a must. We have jobs for different skill levels. We are looking for people who are not afraid of getting sweaty and dirty :-)

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    You will sleep in a little stone cottage with two single beds (ok for two friends or a couple), basic camping style lighting and cooking equipment, camping shower and tap, and a basic dry compost toilet outside. The place is cute, but really simple, you should not be afraid of the occasional bug. It can get cold at night. We provide blankets and bed sheets.
    We also have space for people who might want to live in their own camper van.
    You can have your own coffee and small breakfast in the morning before we start work. We will then have an Almuerzo (second breakfast) break and lunch break together. We will take turns preparing our shared meals. Dinner depends on our individual plans, you can relax in your own space having your meal (we will provide ingredients for your cooking) , but sometimes we might also cook together.
    Appart from solar small light, there is no electricity in there. You'll be welcome to plug your phones and computer at our house of course.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    if you like hiking, you are in the right place. We have beautiful walking and hiking opportunities in the area, some of them starting right on our doorstep. A section of the Via Verde passes by the village, with beautiful views. In the warmer months, you can also visit one of the many natural pools in the rivers around here. Cretas, Calaceite and Valderrobres have cute historic centres.
    This is a rural area and public transport is very limited. You will be much more flexible if you bring your own car. However, if you don't, we will probably be able to show you some nice places using our car on your days off.
    You should not be afraid of large dogs. One of our adopted dogs is afraid of men and might bark and try to defend his territory against them. We expect our male volunteers to have a bit of patience and go along with our little introduction ritual which is necessary in the beginning so we can all relax with each other afterwards.

    Our scarcest resource is water. We have dry toilets here and we take great care to not waste anything. This means short and efficient showers, for example :-)

    Travelling to and from Cretas is easiest by car, but buses get to the nearby villages from Barcelona and Valencia, for example. We can pick you up in Valderrobres, Calaceite or other villages in the area.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have internet via a mobile contract with unlimited data. This is ok for sending some large files and for streaming of films etc. The internet is in our house but does not reach the volunteer cottage. If you need internet for your job, please tell us in advance, depending on your needs we will see if we can make it work.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have more than enough space for a van or caravan to stay on our land for a short time. We can help out with electricity if needed. It is better if you bring your own water, as this is a very limited resource here.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Dogs are ok if you are SURE they do not chase cats or chickens and if they get on well with other dogs.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.8)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 378944836831