Come experience our off-grid cabin near Lake of the Woods, Canada

  • Favorito 17 vezes
  • Última atividade: 27 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My husband Paul and myself, Karen along with our adorable dog Frankie have an off-grid property with a cabin and two new-built bunkies. We are located on a quiet lake in Northwestern Ontario near Lake of the Woods.
    From early spring to late autumn we spend every weekend and the occasional full week at the cabin. Along with Paul and I, we have family from Brooklyn, New York who come to stay with us for two months from late July to late September.
    There are only two other properties on the lake, both of which are far away. We have 154 acres on this lake so there’s plenty of exploring to be done. There’s a private swimming platform a short boat ride away where you can enjoy beautiful sunsets. There’s great walleye fishing, kayaking, canoeing, hiking, swimming, or just relaxing and lounging on the dock.
    You would have a private bunky to yourselves but would share the kitchen and dining in the main cabin. You would have the place to yourselves during the week and although we’d provide some food, you would be responsible for preparing it and cleaning up after yourselves during this time. We would be there on the weekends and would provide at least two meals a day. I was a professional baker for many years and so there’s often fresh baking to be had.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    If you are looking for an off-grid, Canadian Shield experience on a very quiet lake that’s only 20 minutes from the nearest town, this is the place for you.
    We have a fantastic property surrounded by crown land and love to share it with others who would like to experience an off-grid lifestyle. We have solar power to charge our devices (USB), a solar fridge and solar lights but we we are not set up for AC power, so there’s no TV.
    Because of our location in the wilderness, we share the forest and lake with a wide variety of wildlife. We regularly see hummingbirds, loons, turtles, deer, beavers, garter snakes and bald eagles. We’ve even seen the odd black bear and although it’s somewhat rare, we have seen wolves right outside the cabin on our trail camera. There’s nothing quite like lying in bed at night and hearing wolves howling at each other across the lake.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We have many ideas and potential projects that we’d like to complete but because of our jobs in the city, (Winnipeg) we are unable to get as much done as we’d like.
    We would love assistance with wood-cutting/chopping, gardening, blueberry-picking and potentially dog-sitting while we’re in the city. We have a charming small island and would like to do some bush-clearing on it as we intend to eventually build a third bunky on it.
    We also have some bigger projects that we may want assistance with. We will be replacing the kitchen cabinets this spring, putting a metal roof on the main cabin this summer and we are also in the planning stages of building an outdoor kitchen and would love to host someone who has experience building a pizza oven.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    My husband Paul took a course in New York City to teach English as a second language and would love to share his knowledge with you.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will have a cute, private bunky all to yourselves. There is no kitchen or washroom in our newly-built bunkies. The only washroom is an outhouse and that is certainly not for everyone, so if this is an issue, please do not apply.😉 We have a beautiful, private cedar outdoor shower.
    If you are travelling by camper van, we have plenty of parking available.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Kenora and Lake of the Woods, Ontario is a twenty minute drive away. Winnipeg with an international airport is just over two hours away.
    We cannot provide an extra vehicle for you but we’d be willing to drive you to and from Kenora and Winnipeg on the weekends.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We can accept workawayers with dogs assuming they get along with Frankie.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 356177398712

Comentário