Starting a homestead on 14 acres in Northern Alberta, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 18 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    28/07/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are starting a multigenerational homestead bordering a provincial park that has many trails connecting 4 lakes. It's a beautiful area if you love nature. We plan to have a large garden and we have been experimenting with permaculture, last year we created a small food forest for the first time and it worked really well, we would love to host someone with gardening experience because we are learning as we go. We love animals and we have some chickens, ducks, cats and dogs. We have plans to build little cabins on the property and to turn it into a lovely little retreat and eventually we hope to be able to assist people who are underhoused/unhoused by creating a safe space for healing within an understanding community (that's our long range goal). We first need to get cabins built and then a collective of likeminded people to join us. We already started on a larger cabin that some great workawayers helped us with, it is on another property but we hope to move it here in the summer. It's an off grid cabin in the country near our parents farm and we would love to find someone interested in helping us finish this project. I work full time for a not-for-profit and I also make jewelry and aromatherapy products that I sell at markets and galleries. My kids and I play hockey in the winter and in the summer we love to camp. We are surrounded by many lakes so there is always outdoor activities nearby. We enjoy kayaking, canoeing, and hiking in the summer and snowshoeing and tobogganing in the winter. My husband also hunts in the winter to provide food for the family. I also enjoy baking and crafts. Most of our family is gluten free and one is dairy free so a majority of our cooking is gluten free. My husbands family is French and our children attend a francophone school so if you like to converse in French some of us are fluent (not me).

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Companhia para idosos
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are part of a very welcoming large French family so we can share our French Canadian culture. My husband was raised on a farm and we are now starting our own small farm which is all about increasing self sustainability and caring for tha land and animals that provide for us. I can also share some Metis culture. Years ago I took a teaching English as a second language certification so I can also assist someone who is learning English.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Since I work full time and we have children in school and sports some help around the house with some cleaning and animal care would be great. I am currently trying to downsize our belongings since our dream is to move into our off grid cabin so someone who is good with organization would be helpful. We try to spend our spare time working on our cabin project but that’s not everyday, so someone who is willing to help with building from time to time would be nice. We would be open to a couple coming since we know we are looking for some different skill sets.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    After the cabins are finished we hope to have people stay there but currently we have a second livingroom that has a futon and a pullout couch when the weather gets warmer we do have 2 campers that people can stay in as well.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live about 15 minutes from the nearest small town so if you like getting away from it all, this is the place. We recognize that transportation can be tough if your coming in via plane but we have no problem driving to the Edmonton airport to pick someone up.
    We will include our guests in activities we do and trips to town.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is a garage with an outdoor plug that a camper could plug into.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    As long as it gets along sith other pets we have 3 dogs 2 are large outdoor dogs. We also have 6 cats and in the summer we let the chickens tree range so the animal would have to be able to leave the chickens alone when they are out.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 338967936686