atualizado  

Help in a small farm and organic garden between Noosa and Rainbow Beach, Australia

  • Favorito 281 vezes
  • Última atividade: 26 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi!
    We’re Marc and Kerrianne and we live on a beautiful 32 hectare property 50 minutes north of Noosa and 15 minutes from Gympie on the way to Rainbow Beach. We’ve been having international volunteers stay with us for ten years now (Workaway & HelpX), and we have lots of friends all over the world because of it. Many of our visitors have come back because we have made sure they are comfortable and like to show them the best of Australian hospitality. Some have even returned four times! It is easy to get here – by bus or train to Gympie from Brisbane. We can pick you up from Gympie on Monday, Thursday or Friday or other days if necessary. You will be greeted by our family pets (cows, tiny ponies, sheep, chickens and sometimes the native wildlife),

    Marc has worked in conservation and environmental education for many years and is happy to share his knowledge of local native plants and animals. Our goal for the property is to provide a sanctuary for wildlife. Wallabies hop around everywhere, Wedge-tailed Eagles fly high in the sky and if you’re lucky you might see Koalas in the trees or platypus in the creek! The birdlife is absolutely abundant. It is a joy to wake up and hear the morning chorus.
    There are many plants and animals living here that are threatened with extinction, so we feel it is up to us to protect and improve habitat for these special inhabitants. We love welcoming people who are interested in the environment and sustainability and it is a good opportunity for you to learn and participate in making the world a better place.

    Kerrianne loves to grow food and we eat year-round from our organic garden and a wide variety of fruit and nut trees. Every day is a harvest. We like to cook and eat with our guests and to discover new dishes from different parts of the world. The meals are vegetarian, but don’t worry, we love our food - it is always really tasty and you will always be satisfied. Please let us know if you have any special dietary requirements, so that we can cater for your needs.

    The property has a creek to cool off in when it’s hot and there’s 2 double kayaks for a paddle. There’s heaps of really good walks, from the shady rainforest ravine or the creek to the beautiful open ridgeline where the cows graze and you can look out into the distance. We also have some pushbikes if you like to ride.

    You will have your own room in the cottage out the back of our house and share the games room, good wifi, TV screen for movies and 2 decks where you can relax and read a book or enjoy the views. There is a separate bathroom and toilet for the helpers (and the occasional frog). The kitchen is in the house where we all share meals.

    The help is for about four hours a day (20 hrs a week). We’ve been told we’re not slave-drivers at all and we like to find work that suits both you and us. There is always work on the land, in the garden, building upkeep, nursery or help with cooking and cleaning. We always like it when visitors help us cook or like to cook themselves!

    In return you will get a comfortable bedroom to yourself in the cottage and tasty, nutritious meals with many ingredients straight from the garden. Marc is an avid kitesurfer and often goes to the beach, so he is happy to take workers on beach expeditions. We always make an effort to show you some of the beautiful sights or local events. Most visitors stay 2-4 weeks, but if everyone is happy a longer stay would be OK too.
    Cheers
    Marc and Kerrianne

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We both have much experience to share in sustainable living, permaculture, growing, processing, preparing and eating tasty, healthy organic food. We have lived a sustainable lifestyle for much of our lives and love it. We also have a few cows, sheep, tiny ponies and chickens .....all treated as pets. Marc is a local expert in conservation and habitat management and an environmental educator. Helpers would get to see and learn a lot about local wildlife and plants, bushfoods and improving habitat. There are friendly wallabies (one we even pat), Kangaroos, Platypus, Echidna and Koalas can be heard most days.

    We love getting to know and interact with our visitors and treat them as friends / guests rather than just workers. We also enjoy learning about their lives and the countries that they come from. Helpers will improve their English and we always take them to some of the beautiful places or events in our area.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Help we need includes environmental projects (eg treeplanting & bush regeneration), working in our permaculture style garden (planting, mulching, picking and processing fruit & vege's), preparing meals or help in the kitchen, working in a small nursery for local native plants, cleaning. We sometimes have building or building maintenance projects as well, but don't require building experience.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Helpers stay in a 2 bedroom cottage. You will have your own private space when you need it, but we share meals in the house kitchen. Rooms have fans, insect screens and the buildings are insulated for comfort. You will have your own shower and toilet facilities separate from the house. Beds are double or queen sized and clean sheets, towels etc are provided. There is a shared laundry for you to do your washing. You will also have access to good wifi.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are many things to see in this beautiful area that we live in. At home on our lovely 80 acre property there are walks along the creek (with Platypus). We often go to Rainbow Beach as Marc is an avid kite surfer and we visit local swimming holes, mountains and national parks. There is a little known national park within walking distance of the property and we have pushbikes for you to ride through the countryside. Sometimes we go kayaking on the creek at home, on the Noosa River or even in saltwater areas near Fraser Island. There may also be local music or cultural events to go to. There is no public transport as we live in the country, but we regularly go to town if you need a lift or we can drop you in places to catch a bus to Noosa for example.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Any size is OK. You can park your camper next to our barn / bush kitchen with a shower and toilet close by. The barn has basic furnishings so you can spread out under shelter.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    We expect 3-4 hrs 5 days a week including help in the kitchen.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 335382592474

Comentário (21)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)







































Help with gardening and stay in picturesque Brunswick heads NSW, near Byron Bay, Australia
Help me around the house with gardening and cooking in Rye and the Mornington Peninsula, Australia