Looking for someone to help with our family and home in the Algarve, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favorito 671 vezes
  • Última atividade: 28/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi guys, We are looking for a volunteer (single person) to come and give us a hand starting from May 1st. Basically it's a supporting role. Whilst we are busy doing emails, check-ins, running tours etc, we'd really appreciate someone helping us around our home. Just giving us a daily hand to do such things as making dinner, keeping our littlest one entertained (lego and reading etc) helping in the garden and just generally giving us a hand round our place. Think your up for it and want to spend a few weeks in one of the most stunning locations in Europe, then please drop us a line. In return we hope with this extra pair of hands we will actually have time to go off for a day to the beach, countryside, ride in the Landrover or take a bike ride. You'll be included in these activities if you wish or take a day off to go and sight see.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    For most of the volunteers so far, enjoying the natural beauty of this area has been a major factor. We have incorporated volunteers into our tours and taken them on day trips to the beach, bar-b-q's on the beach, snorkelling etc. We do not do day trips everyday but when we can. We know a lot about this area and can recommend places to visit or travel to.

    My biggest request from you the volunteer is that if you say YES to coming and we book you in, then please realise it's a commitment. If you change your mind or just don't fancy coming PLEASE advise us in plenty of time to arrange another volunteer. Standing at the bus stop at 9pm waiting for a no show is a waste of my time and takes the opportunity away from another volunteer who would have been glad to come...That's all we ask. Thanks.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Here's just a selection of the possible tasks that we could as you to help US with

    - helping around our own home
    - entertaining our son, e.g. doing arts & crafts with him
    - gardening or weeding
    - taking the dog for a walk
    - prepping/making evening dinner
    - folding laundry

    Anyone who has experience or qualifications in child care will be highly welcome and anyone with mechanical or building/gardening experience

    You will be asked to work independently as well as with us. Once we have given you a task we would hope you can work independently, HOWEVER we are always happy to help and answer questions if in doubt about any given task.

    We also need volunteers to be flexible regarding the hours. Sometimes it is busier on weekends in which case you will have 2 weekdays off instead of the weekend.

    We think it's best for volunteers to stay at least 2 to 3 weeks, which will give you time to integrate. However, if we or you feel like things are not going as expected, we should be honest enough to raise the issue and try to resolve the situation.

    Some days (maybe that should be most days) can be a bit chaotic, having to juggle, tours/rentals and clients arriving with the school run and waiting for deliveries etc. A sense of "no worries" and a fair bit of flexibility in your approach to tasks will definitely be a bonus for us all.

    I hope any volunteer that comes enjoys living in the peaceful countryside and loves exploring forests as we are very close to the Natural Parque and situated on the very edge of a forest.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We provide a caravan where you have privacy. It is on it's own plot of land but only 20m away from the house. It has an outside table and chairs and is nicely situated near a stream and under an oak tree. You can also use the guest bathroom in our house for showers and of course you would eat with us if you choose or take food down to the van. You are welcome to make it your own and if you desire some privacy just chill out at the van. We have wi-fi in the house so you can log on and stay in touch with your family/friends.

    Please be aware that we are living 6kms from Aljezur. There is a bus service to Aljezur and Lagos from here several times a day. We provide you with bicycles so you can explore the surrounding areas when you want to.
    We are happy to give you a lift to Aljezur, Lagos or the beach when we go there.

    So far the volunteering experience has been a good one for both parties and I would hope to carry on in the same vein.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We hope the workaway experience will be interesting for the volunteer. We enjoy hearing traveller's stories and learning about different cultures & backgrounds. I'm happy to say that several volunteers have fallen in love with this area and now reside here and we have maintained a very close relationship/friendship with quite a few volunteers, which has been lovely.

    We offer a hands-on experience of a multi-lingual and multi-cultural family running a tourism business in the Western Algarve including all the challenges that cross our ways. If anyone says YES they agree to come and then decide at the last minute they are not, please, please, please be adult about it and let us know. Waiting at the bus stop for a non appearing volunteer is a massive waste of our time leaves us without the extra help we always need and is quite rude. (previous experience).
    Seeing volunteers making the most of this area by cycling, walking in the hills getting involved with tours etc really makes us so happy. It is a wonderful, calm, quiet, healthy environment and is a pleasure to explore around here, so go for it.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours, 5 out of 7 days

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 326479563781

Comentário (12)



Fotos

Comentário




















Join our happy family and enjoy life on a family farm in Alentejo, Portugal
Learn about our organic project in very traditional village in Cernache do Bonjardim, Portugal