Help our family with starting a sustainable homestead on The Shire, Quebec, Canada

  • Canadá
  • Favorito 21 vezes
  • Última atividade: 22/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Help us work on the development of our homestead in exchange for staying in our RV on a beautiful property immersed in nature in southern Quebec, Canada. There will also be community exchange opportunities as well as linguistic exchange with us in english and french during your stay.

    We are a family of 4 with another on the way in August. We have a beautiful dog and a cat and live on a beautiful 30 acre land. We have access to a lovely river and plenty of wilderness.

    My husband works in construction, he is interested in sustainability and building projects. He has a passion for fitness, health and nutrition.

    I am a stay-at-home mom, yoga teacher, massage therapist and aspiring photographer. I am interested in wellness, parenting, home-birth, healing, community, sustainability (zero waste- which should really be called less waste). I love tiny houses and eco-villages, and I have dreams to build one. I have a passion for plant-based foods and nutrition.

    We are looking for help in starting our homestead, renovating our 175 year old farmhouse, implementing gardens. We are also looking for a cultural exchange opportunity and someone who can help us care, teach and play with our children. Our goal is to eventually grow into a sustainable (off-grid) homestead.

    We need help with..

    -Restoration and building projects in the home and on the land
    -Gardening
    -General land maintenance and improvement
    -Help around the house and with the children would be an additional bonus

    It would be a bonus for a couple to join us and help build our dream in becoming a sustainable homestead and foster a sense of community.

    We live in a very rural part of Quebec, but we are also only about an hour drive away from Montreal (from sights and attractions). We live about 20 minutes from the nearest town Lachute, Quebec which you can find all essentials.

    We speak manly english at home, but Quebec in general is a predominately french province.

    ******
    In exchange for your energy and time...

    We will provide you with some interesting activities, accommodation in our RV, pizza friday night (homemade organic, a shared communal meal) and community gathering around the fire (when no outdoor fire ban is in place). A weekly Yoga class taught by me (if interested). We also have an awesome movie projector, and we are willing to set it up for a weekly movie night under the stars.

    Depending on the time of your stay and your interests some of the potential workshops and activities could include;

    -Bread making from scratch
    -Canning tomatoes
    -Fermenting vegetables
    -Foraging for wild edibles
    -Harvesting medicinal plants
    -Soap making
    -Salve making
    -Candle making
    -Sewing projects

    (small donation for materials)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are a Canadian family. My husband was born in Lebanon. I am Canadian Born with Scottish and Portuguese roots.
    We speak english at home. We live in a pristine environment in southern Quebec, only about an hour away from Montreal (which is a major cultural hub and my home town).

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for helpers on our beautiful land. We are looking for a few workawayers to help with the restoration of our farmhouse, implementing gardens, general maintenance and building projects. We are also open for any helpers who would like to help with childcare- teaching, creating fun activities and baby sitting.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Fully equipped RV

    you will also have access to laundry once a week.

    We will be providing self serve breakfast in the form of bulk oatmeal.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    You can visit Montreal on your time off. We are open to drive you to the nearest transportation to have access to the surrounding areas as well as transport that takes you to Montreal. We have a beautiful small river beach area on our property. We live on 30 acres for you to enjoy and explore.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 325738374159

Comentário

Help with childminding in beautiful Kelowna, BC, Canada
Help with farm and ranch projects and the daily routine on the edge of wilderness, Canada