1 / 5
atualizado  

Come and help us with a permacultural eco-project in the Alpujarran mountains, Spain

  • Favorito 22 vezes
  • Última atividade: 8 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello! We are a Spanish & English couple on their 30s that moved to the Alpujarras three years ago. We have just over 2 hectares of land in the mountains where we live in our lovely stone farmhouse with our ten month old baby and two dogs.

    We would like for our land to become a biodiverse and resilient space filled with native and productive plants and trees. We follow principles and techniques from permaculture and regenerative agriculture, value the soil, as we understand it as being key in the health of the whole ecosystem, and use water responsibly at home and in our land, as it's a scarce resource. We love to share our space with other people and we welcome input and new ideas that allow our vision for our place to grow organically.

    To help you understand where we're at, the land had been abandoned for several years when we got here so we have done quite a lot of clearing and maintenance - removing bramble and pruning and caring for the trees - as well as some landscaping and planting. We are now concentrating most of our efforts on planting native species, creating an orchard and an organic food garden, and improving the water system we have in place.

    We would also like to introduce animals into our land soon - we are thinking chickens and bees - for which we'll need to build the infrastucture they need.

    We would like to find someone, ideally a couple, who wants to come for at least a week but ideally two weeks.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We offer breathtaking views in a unique mountain spot, nice homely food, and very comfortable and private accommodation. We are very happy to share our knowledge, exchange ideas and practice both Spanish and English with you. We love creative people and can give you the time and space to explore and do whatever you want to do.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We'd love to host someone, ideally a couple, with gardening & landscaping and/or some building experience to help us with some of our projects. This might include digging and preparing beds, sowing seeds, tending to plants, planting trees, fixing or redoing fences, cutting wood, building a chicken coop, etc.

    We appreciate knowledge on how to use and care for some tools, such as a strimmer, wood working tools or even a good grasp of basic gardening tools. We expect you to help 4-5 hours a day/5 days a week.

    We'd like to find someone friendly, active and hands on, but also respectful of our place and our family dynamic - our baby's wellbeing is a big priority for us - and with a healthy lifestyle (please note that we can't at this moment host smokers or allow parties or loud music in our property.)

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Our home is a stone farmhouse, fully off grid. It is solar-powered and we get all of our water from the mountains. We heat the house with a wood burning stove with wood gathered from the forest and have gas heaters for the rooms for the coldest months. But off-grid does't have to mean uncomfortable, and we have a modern kitchen and renovated bathrooms, the rooms are comfortable and we have wifi in the house.

    You'll be sleeping in an ensuite double room with direct access both to the house (your door is lockable) and to the outside. You'll have some storage space and a desk where you can work if you need to. We'll provide you with bedding, towels and basic toiletries.

    There's also outdoor space you can use at your convenience - a couple of hammocks and a outdoor seating area with table and chairs where you can eat, read, work or simply relax. We have a work-in-progress outdoor gym if you fancy a workout, and the whole land is quite charming so we invite you to explore it and find secluded places if you wish to do yoga, meditate or just enjoy nature.

    We can provide you with breakfast, lunch and dinner, although you are also welcome to store your own food in our fridge and to cook your own meals, so long as everything is cleared afterwards. We have a mostly vegetarian diet and get organic produce or grow our own depending on the time of year.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our house is in the mountains, a 25 minute walk up a hill from the nearest village. Public transport is fairly limited in the area, so it would be best if you had a car. There are loads of walks to do and things to see around our house, including a Buddhist temple and the famous villages of Pampaneira, Bubion and Capileira.

    If you're after activity, then the Alpujarra is a paradise for cyclists and trail runners, and the Sierra Nevada ski resort is about 1.5 hours away by car. There's also climbing and bungee jumping in the area, windsurfing on the lake in the valley, and kitesurfing & kayaking down on the coast.

    But if you want to relax then you can simply chill in a hammock, enjoy nature around us, head to the beach (about a 45 minute drive), or visit the spa in neighbouring Lanjaron.

    We are happy to recommend nice places to eat in the area as well as people and places where you can attend activities such as yoga, photography art, concerts, etc.

    Granada is also about an hour away by car, so very easy for a day trip to see the Alhambra and explore one of southern Spain's most vibrant and historic cities.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We are digital nomads ourselves so can definitely accommodate you! Decent wifi & nice coffee always available at home.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We are happy to have a small van parked in our land. The main difficulty is getting to the property with it as the drive is windy and at points pretty steep. We would reccomend to check with us first if you're interested in this.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 325214917658

Comentário (1)

Fotos

Comentário


Campervan conversion, gardening, renovation works and DIY projects in Casares coast, southern Spain
Join our healthy-oriented family while you give me a hand with my 6-year old daughter in Girona area, Spain