1 / 3

Farm-Animal Sanctuary in Wellington, New Zealand

  • Nova Zelândia
  • Favorito 1602 vezes
  • Última atividade: 26 mar. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais



  • Descrição


    Hi everybody! We are a vegan farm animal sanctuary in Otaki, just over an hour drive from Wellington, New Zealand. Every day we care for over 200 animals (ponies, cows, goats, pigs, sheep, chickens, ducks, cats, bunnies and more) who have been abandoned, injured or mistreated.

    We are looking for people, either single or couples, to come and join us for a minimum of a month. If you are the right fit there might be a more permanent place for you – some people choose to stay for a year or more.

    Please only apply if you are vegetarian or vegan (you would be expected to eat vegan whilst at the sanctuary). We are hoping to find people who shares our commitment to animals and the environment and who we can connect with ethically. Lesbian/Gay/Bi/Trans/Queer+ friendly is essential.

    We have a lot of inquiries so a priority is always given to activists and people with passion around the environment, human rights, animal rights and other social concerns. We consider ourselves feminists and anarchists. If you are a cis male person please only apply if you share these values. On site women*️️️️️ are encouraged to learn new building skills etc.

    To finance the Sanctuary, we run 2 op-shops. As part of your volunteering with us you might be occasionally be asked to help with these or our fundraising markets

    Daily tasks are feeding the animals and projects in exchange for a room and meals. Running the sanctuary and the op shops is a lot of work especially when we take care of baby animals or sick animals who need intensive care all day around. We are between 7-12 people living up here, most are other volunteers. The day usually begins with morning feeds at 8am. The work up here can be quite physical but all skills can be learned on site.

    Tasks are predominantly animal feeding and animal care, however we also do fencing, tree planting, gardening, animal shelter building on site. We sometimes do baking and cooking for market stalls as well as volunteering in our Wellington fundraising opshops, Opportunity for Animals.

    We have a variety of accommodation including house trucks, caravans and a shared house, all with heating . We provide food and depending on the season some food grows on site. You would be expected to do communal cooking for yourself and the other volunteers.

    We would love to meet friendly, independent volunteers who aren't afraid to get muddy and learn new skills. Please understand that if we don’t answer emails right away, we’re probably busy looking after the animals and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible.
    Please include the dates you are interested in staying.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    A great opportunity to spend time with animals in a beautiful area. Nearby river walks and fantastic river swimming plus 10 mins drive to the beach.

  • Ajuda


    Tasks include animal feeding, animal care, fencing, tree planting, gardening, animal shelter building, communal cooking, sometimes baking and cooking for market stalls as well as occasionally helping in our fundraising opshop Opportunity for animals

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    A bedroom in the communal house, a sleepout, caravan or housetruck all with heating and internet

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We usually have a spare car available for use for those with a drivers license over the age of 25

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 322582473838

Comentário (10)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Help organise my garden in Auckland, and housework, New Zealand
Creating beauty in a tranquil setting. Join us in Takou Bay, Northland, New Zealand