atualizado  

Get close to nature in the beautiful countryside of Østfold, Norway

  • Favorito 1163 vezes
  • Última atividade: 5 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Please read the whole profile and check our calendar to see availability before contacting us!

    - - - - - - -

    We are a family of three. Julie is working in a pre-school, while Jens is working part time, helping other farmers, and our daughter goes to the local Waldorf School.

    We are the 7th generation living on this old family farm, although the history goes even further back. We are living, and transforming the small residence on the farm, renovating it and making it our little homestead, where we keep our animals for private consumption.

    The house is over 150 years old, and we started to renovate in 2017, as the house was condemned. Our house is very small and rustic - the renovations are not finished, and the living room is obviously occupied by a little girl, Julies sewing and knitting, and Jens' tools. On the positive side - it keeps us dry and warm. The renovation is done with reused materials as far as possible - and we tend to collect anything that can have a purpose.

    We have a few goats, pigs, chickens and cats at the moment. We want to grow some vegetables, but up until now, the goats and pigs have eaten it all. In the summer and autumn, we pick berries and mushrooms in the forest and make jam. There is always a lot to keep busy.

    We are based in Norways biggest agricultural area - the beautiful countryside of Østfold (centre of central Norway),

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Come and experience slow Scandinavian living and get close to nature.

    We will give you an experience with Norwegian day to day family and farmlife. You'll be a part of our family during your stay, come with us to family occasions etc if you want, and come close to the Norwegian way of life.

    One workawayer described Julie as a Victorian Housewife (young granny, who knows forgotten, basic skills)

    We do things the old fashioned way, and more basic and natural. We use a lot of maual tools, and our animals live outside the whole year. We also reuse a lot of stuff to save both money and the environment. Norway in general is huge on DIY, and you might learn something new, or get inspired.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We would like to welcome ONE volenteer over age 20 who will stay for at least three weeks. We don't accept couples.

    We're looking for an open minded, self going, positive and handy person, which has no trouble getting their hands dirty.

    You can expect a rustic and simple life in the country - we're 10km away from any town or village.

    You must be friendly with children (and tolerate some tantrums, although no babysitting, but she would love to play when she gets to know you).

    You will be a part of our household - you are living here too - which means that sweeping and empty the dishwasher isn't work. You need to clean up after yourself, dishes, bathroom etc.

    We have boots and a small selection of work wear available for volunteers to borrow. You need to bring with you clothes for all weather (and temperatures considering the season).

    Some tasks is manual labor, so there is no need to go to the gym! You will help on some tasks alone (which mean you should show initiative, be responsible and hands on) and some tasks together with us. You need to be prepared to help outside in ALL kinds of weather and temperatures, as most of the tasks is outside work. Help is ANY suitable task that needs to be done.

    Contact us to get a link to a video of Jason's help routine which is on YouTube. (He did workaway with us in winter 2020)

    GENERAL MAINTENANCE
    Whole year.
    Our house is old, and any handy person would be welcome. Fixing small things that are broken, gather firewood and cut it for the winter, as our main source of heat is three fire-ovens. Putting up fences and general maintenance like fixing huts for the animals and paint the house.

    In the summer, we need help with the upkeep of the garden (rake leaves, mow lawn, weeding, some planting). There is also a great wish to have a vegetable garden at a suitable place, wich need to be set up from scratch.

    Tidying up outside (a lot of tidying up that needs to be done as it's very messy for the time being).

    HOUSE AND YARD RENOVATION
    Whole year - especially April-September
    We are in need of someone who knows how to use tools, as we need help to finish the in and outside of the house, as well as building new huts and fences for the animals. There is also a lot of painting inside and outside to be done.

    HELP IN THE HOUSE
    Whole year includes tidy up the kitchen every day (as the housewife needs to work). The cats makes a mess at night.
    September-May, tasks include a maximum if 1 hour housework (a list is already made for this and the housework is spread out through the week to lighten the burden) you may be asked to help with some housework during the summertime too, on rainy days.

    ANIMAL EXPERIENCE
    Daily tasks all year around includes feeding and watering the animals, collect grass and branches for the goats. Mucking out when necessary (daily care of the animals take max. 1. hr), other than that, assist with all care of the animals (setting up and fix fences, build new huts, assist with care of the goats and pigs) We hunt and keep animals for food - vegetarians are welcome, but you need to keep in mind that our animals will be slaughtered one day. Our animals live out the whole year, and are antibiotic free - which are satisfying and focused on animal welfare.

    YOU MUST NOT SCARED OF PIGS, CHICKENS OR GOATS! Some of our pigs are quite big (250kgs) - and the goats do have horns. You can't be allergic or afraid of cats either, as they also live in the house.

    During slaughter and hunting season, we also need help to divide and pack meat

    HELPER HOURS
    25 hours pr week, 5 days pr week 0900-1430 (this includes 30min lunchbreak),

    Days and hours are somewhat flexible, to be agreed on when you arrive.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Julie is a c1 level English after working and living in Ireland, and can help with English. We can both teach Norwegian. Germans are much welcome.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Shared bathroom and showers, kitchen and livingroom in the house. Also shared Laundry as electricity in Norway is crazy expensive, air dry inside or outside.

    We provide in-house meals - at least dinner is a shared meal pr day, depends on our work schedule - breakfast and lunch is usually something you have to make on your own, unless we have a day off work. Any junk or snacks etc you have to get yourself.

    We have bike(s) available, as you might be stuck in the country.

    SEPTEMBER - MAY
    Simple sleeping arrangement inside the house - in a SMALL alcove in the upstairs hallway - on the staircase landing - mattress on the floor with curtains for privacy (there is electricity)
    SEE PHOTO!

    MAY-SEPTEMBER
    Voulenteers have their own cabin across the road (no water, but possibility for electricity trough a extension cord)

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our farm is remote, and it is 10-15 min drive away from ANY small village/town.

    We have bike(s) available. Unfortunately, we don't have the time to drive volunteers around - please keep this in mind when writing to us, as you may be "stuck" in the country. We can sort out pick up points, but this is not to be relied up on.

    The forest is just outside our door. If you love to spend time in nature, this is your place to be. There is a lake not far with a bike, where it's possible to swim or fish (we do have some fishing equipment).

    A small town nearby has everything you need by stores, and in our nearby area you will find folkmuseums, music hall, cinema, restaurants, pool, gyms, cafes, bar/pubs, horse riding, golf, fishing, library, gocart, etc. (Aprx 40 min with the bike)

    Public transport to Oslo (1hr trainride from Askim st.), one hour by bus from Halden, Sarpsborg, Fredrikstad and Moss, and 30-40min drive from Sweden border. Car rental 15 min drive away.

    There is some old viking graves and a lot of local viking history around.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a 4G broadband with limited data, digital nomads have to follow our schedule and fit their work hours into that.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Summer only.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25hours pr week (SEE DESCRIPTION)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 316478295816

Comentário (22)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)



































Join us in developing a small farm into a communty space in Innlandet, Norway
Forest gardening and animal rescue in Øygarden, Norway