Experience Off-Grid and Self-Sufficient Living in the Wilderness of a National Park in Italy

Country

Itália

atualizado  

Favorito 2714 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    08/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    73.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 24 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello!

    We are a young family - George 33, Sophie 27 Caio 3 and India 1.

    We're looking for enthusiastic volunteers to help us with collecting firewood for the winter, house renovation projects and gardening.

    We're hoping to host around 1-3 volunteers at a time to live along side us to help with the general day-to-day tasks around the house and garden, but also with minor DIY and house maintenance projects too. And if possible, helping us out with doing stuff with the kids would be a great help too.
    Between now and September we will host a small group of volunteers to help with big jobs such as collecting firewood for the winter or improving our road. In which case you will be a group of 4-6 volunteers together and spend a 1-3 weeks working on a specific project.


    The project...

    Our project focuses on maintaining and renovating two farmhouses. We live in one while the other is set up for guests and workshops/retreats in the summer. It's an ideal playground for the DIY enthusiast and for anyone wanting to practice more building/DIY skills. Any help related to house renovation needs doing here. We are committed to keeping the project off-the-grid, which means we are not connected to the mains electricity. We have only solar power for electrics. We have a large vegetable garden so help is always needed here because it is a never ending task.
    In the summer we host various workshops/retreats such as yoga and capoeira. During this time we focus on accommodating the guests so cooking, cleaning etc are the main priorities. However, depending on how many hands we have on board to help, we try to keep the construction projects going as well. The almost 3km road to the house is very bad so sometimes we might work on the road cleaning the ditches and filling holes etc. The road is only suitable for 4x4 vehicles, we have a 30 year old ex-military landrover defender which is our lifeline to the outside world!
    Collecting and chopping firewood is another never ending so this is something we'll always need help with whatever the season.

    We cook, eat and live together. We welcome single travellers, couples and familes. Dogs are also welcome

    About us..
    We're passionate about living the off-the-grid lifestyle, building things, hosting guests, baking bread and gardening. We enjoy the peace and slow pace of living in this environment close to nature and the commitment to the work involved in restoring and maintaining the beautiful off-grid farmhouses that we live in.
    Outside of the work we enjoy playing with our kids, walking around the forest, drinking some nice wine over dinner, going to the river, cooking food and baking sourdough bread.
    Using workaway has been life changing for us in many ways. The project is what it is today because of all the helping hands and great people we've hosted over the years. Not only because of the volunteers contributions through the work but also for all the good times and exchanges we've had - it's provided motivation and has kept the project alive and fresh.

  • Tipo de ajuda

    Tipo de ajuda

    Jardinagem
    Construção
    Cuidar de bebê / criança
    Manutenção geral
    Cozinhar / compras
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda nas tarefas domésticas

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Although we are in Italy we're very isolated so it's not the best place for volunteers to come expecting a Italian cultural exchange. We are English. George speaks Italian and is trying to teach Sophie (but he's not doing such a great job at the moment!) so there could be the chance for volunteers to join in these 'lessons'... even better, wiling to teach!
    We offer the opportunity to learn many life skills from cooking and baking bread to gardening and fixing the roof.
    We live off-the-grid and practice organic gardening, self-sufficiency and alternative technology. So our cultural exchange would be an exchange of lifestyle and knowledge rather than a typical Italian cultural exchange...however we can teach you to make Italian food :). Otherwise, if you'd like to learn how to drink English tea and talk about the weather then you're in the right place! ;)

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We're looking for enthusiastic volunteers who are passionate about nature, independent, hardworking and enjoy being outside and getting stuck in!

    What you will do here greatly depends on what you're capable of doing. There's always new stuff to build and old stuff to fix and renovate and it's an ideal playground to the DIY enthusiast.
    Depending on your skills such tasks could be....

    Roof building projects
    Painting and decorating
    Carpentry projects
    General manual labour
    General house renovation
    Building and repairing dry stone walls
    Fixing tools and machines
    Plumbing
    Electrics

    The garden and house need constant attention and improvement.

    General daily tasks can include...

    Cooking
    Tending to and watering our vegetable garden
    General cleaning and tidying
    Collecting and chopping firewood

    We have a small fruit tree orchard so help could include keeping the grass cut, clearing weeds from the around the trees, watering, and also clearing brambles to make space for to plant new trees.

  • Idiomas

    English: Fluente
    Italian: Fluente
    German: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will have a private room in the house, although sometimes it may be necessary to share with another volunteer. Camping is not allowed because the national park laws forbid it.
    You will have access to whole house. There is a separate bathroom for guests.

    The house is off-grid, which means we are not connected to the mains electricity. We only have a small solar panel system - not a problem in summer but it can mean we have limited electricity supply in the spring and autumn months. Our water, comes clean and natural to the house from a nearby spring. There is internet, however it is not always connected, especially in the evenings when there is limited power because the sun has left and there's no more charge coming from the panels to charge the solar batteries. So usually the internet is on for a few hours during the day around lunch time.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    About the place and your stay...
    We are in a very remote part of east Tuscany called the Casentino. In contrast to the rolling hills, vine yards and the olive groves of what you imagine to be the classic Tuscany, here it is very wild and mountainous and we are surrounded by lush forests. The houses are literally in the middle of the woods within the National Park of the Casentine forests. The houses are reached by a 3km old stone track only accessible on foot or 4x4 vehicle. The houses are fully off grid. Our electricity comes from solar and water is sourced from a natural spring. Hot water is supplied from a wood burning stove. It is an exceptionally peaceful place of untouched natural beauty. The nearest neighbor is a 30min walk away and there is no light pollution, perfect for stargazing and forest-walks. This is a very special place just to be and experience nature.

    Places to visit during your stay....

    La Verna - the medieval monastery of Saint Francis of Assisi. Perched high on a cliff face at the top of the mountain this sacred place is surrounded by some of the oldest and largest trees in the valley in a forest known as the 'foresta encantata' (enchanted forest). It is here where the Saint retreated in his cave and communed with the wildlife and nature and eventually received his stigmata. It is clear to understand why even to this day many pilgrims still visit this sacred wild place for prayer and meditation... or perhaps for some, just simply to enjoy the view!

    Next is the 'abandoned village' of San Silvestre. This once thriving village was deserted after the second world war and since then it has been left open to the destructive forces of nature and has slowly been eaten up by the wilderness. Here trees grow from the middle of the ruins and the only signs of life are the sheep loitering the old lanes and grazing the overgrowth. Although only abandoned this century, the village emanates a feeling of a 'lost civilisation'. Beautiful place for sunset!

    There are several waterfalls and rivers big enough for swimming in the valley. Indispensable on a hot day, these can be reached on foot and will no doubt be visited during your stay with us.

    ----

    Please be aware that we are isolated and hard to get to. The house is literally in the middle of the woods, it can only be reached by 4x4 vehicles and of course on foot. It is a place to immerse yourself into nature, explore forests and footpaths and to simply enjoy the peace. Fantastic for walkers. It is not a place to use as a base from where you can easily go on day trips to other tourist cities in Italy.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day maximum (max 25hrs/week)

The house we live in and the vegetable garden
Our son Caio (in 2019)
Building a new roof
Volunteers in the Spring 2019
Cutting firewood
The Kitchen at the guest house
One of 6 bedrooms at the guest house
The enchanted forest 40 mins walk away near the monastery or St.Francis

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicação: (5.0)



















































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 315467944d17