Help with our son and daily family life near the sea in Xylokastro, Greece

Country

Grécia

atualizado  

Favorito 109 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    09/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a family running a travel community in Greece. We live on the northern coast of the Peloponnese, in Greece (Corinthia region). Our house is located in an authentic village close to the sea (900 m away) in a neighbourhood with local’s country houses. A 2kms long seaside pine forest is 4 km away.

    We strive to follow an eco-friendly and zero waste concept and we'll ask you to help us with this important issue, as you will also be a role model. Your approach will be also very welcome. We like equity, share housework tasks, and try to teach the kids (most of the times my 5 y.o. son) to do the same, as in every aspect and level, they can do so. Although we are omnivores, we cook meat very rarely at home and try to consume minimal dairy products (e.g. we love to make handmade pizza once per week when possible!)

    Although we have a car, we mostly use bicycles and public transport for our transportation, so it is quite important that you can bike 5-10 km when needed.

    We are very happy when we host friends and workawayers from around the world. We enjoy the community of people on the same page, meaning people trying to find sustainable, ethical, non-discrimination, all diets welcome approaches. We also love spending time showing them the beauties of our area (especially things related to nature and culture), eating and travelling together when possible.

    As it's important to have some stability in our routine/daily life, we expect that you'll be ready to embrace a new culture and way of living, even if your creative and effective ideas will always be welcome.

    We have already hosted many unique persons from many countries with a common profile for the two parents. Since 2020 we (the parents) got divorced and continue our lives in separate houses, so we have two separate profiles also. This one is the father's (Nikos').

    We are happy to bring you in contact with many previous workawayers (unique personalities from Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, UK, USA, Serbia, Switzerland), to discuss with them anything you may want.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ensino
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are located in a small village close to the sea. Although the area receives quite a lot of tourists in the summer, it is mostly Athenians on a break from the big city. This means that the area has retained most of its authenticity and charm. The village itself keeps calmness even in high season. If you are looking for a place where you can see how real Greeks live, this is a very good opportunity for you!

    As individuals, we are very interested in
    -music (I am a guitar and byzantine music teacher and I co-run a conservatoire in Athens)
    -cinema nights (projector, good speakers, dark room etc) with any movie has something to say, even if this is Avengers or Tarkofski or Taviani brothers)
    -gastronomy
    -outdoor activities and connecting with nature all year round (free camping etc)
    -DIY projects, with much love for carpentry
    -ethical living
    -deep conversations (e.g. Philosophy, Theology, Psychology)

    Living with us you will have the opportunity to learn Greek; join us as we roam the mountains and the sea around us; taste wonderful wines (we live in a wine-making area) and taste great quality food!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The main help needed is having quality time with our 6 y.o. son: creative play, improvising various games depending on his or your unique fantasy, helping him become more and more autonomous and suggesting ideas on how to solve every day's issues etc. Other skills that would be appreciated are graphic design, content creation, photography & photo editing. You can also feel free to contact us if you are into Art Projects, Language practice, help with Eco Projects, Teaching, Gardening, DIY and building projects, Creating/Cooking family meals, Help around the house, General Maintenance, Help with Computers/Internet or anything else that you consider genuine, ethical and unique. The help we ask for has to do with our private home and not for our business.

    •We are looking for a caring and sweet person to help us take care of our child. Communication with him will be in English, so excellent English language skills are a must!
    •Your tasks will include taking him for walks so that he can have time outdoors, playing with him, helping him have a bath, reading, putting him to bed occasionally.
    •Please note that we consider the time you spend with the kid to have a minimum of a. personal ‘phone distraction’ and b. spending time just for yourself (e.g. reading your book by yourself, while he plays alone). We try to avoid ‘screen time’ for the kids, so we would be happy if you will not use it at all or rarely.
    •Around the house, we will need help with keeping things tidy and clean. Regarding tidying, we try to keep the 1. 'a place for everything and everything in its place' & 2. 'first finish/pick up our things, then anything else' concept.

    Regarding cleaning, it involves sweeping, mopping, laundry, cleaning etc. We try to keep a balance between 'too much cleanliness' and 'griminess' so that we can live in a clean house, while we save time for more interesting things (e.g. day trips!).
    -We try to share all the above tasks in equity terms, sometimes, though, you (or you with Orpheus) will be asked to clean alone, so that I (Nikos) can catch up with some deadlines and we have free time for some quality time all together.
    •Although it's not mandatory (I cook almost every day), we would be grateful for someone who cooks well and can help us out with family meals, the way that you already use to cook, as long as they are healthy and ethical. If you don't cook at all, I will show you how to prepare something fast and easy (e.g. just boiled rice), so that you can cook something for all of us, when a day is quite demanding for me.
    •There is a possibility that we will move to another house next month/s, which may need a mild renovation (=dealing with lots of dust, paint, moving things etc). The house will be of the same concept, hopefully with one more room and space outdoors. Please check if you would be happy with the above data!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I 'd be really happy to learn some basic words of your one language. If I had one more life, I'd be really happy to learn it much more!

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will be lodged in our home. The house has
    •two bedrooms with amazing sea view
    •living room with home cinema and quality speakers (to enjoy music and movies)
    •kitchen
    •bathroom and a
    •quite a big courtyard with a comfortable hammock.

    -Workawayers bedroom is being used both as private and as shared. Private whenever you need it (for your private time, sleep, work etc) and shared whenever a. we need to take something from the room (e.g. some clothes, toys etc) b. it's ok for you if we use it (e.g. me to work with the laptop in the office, Orpheus to play with his toys etc)
    -Every other part of the house is shared, but you are welcome to ask for some private time even in these other parts (when possible)
    -Free wi-fi is available
    -The house has a big courtyard with an amazing view of the sea, where we use to eat, chill out, do various constructions, yoga etc many months of the year.

    -We usually eat together. Though, we are flexible to each one needs and special occasions. We share what is needed to do, dividing up into teams, such as the cooking team, setting-the-table team and cleaning team, as with any other house chores.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The house is located 900m distance/50m altitude from the sea and 4km from a wonderful seaside pine forest. You can take the suburban train from Athens airport and come directly to our place in less than two hours.

    In your free time, you can enjoy
    •practising yoga, pilates etc (one shared yoga mat provided)
    •swimming in the Corinthian Gulf (we swim all year long)
    •strolling/hiking/jogging or biking around the rural landscapes or by the sea
    •playing tennis in the communal renovated tennis court (2 km away)
    •windsurfing in a seaside hotel which offers windsurf lessons (1.3 km away)
    •many more ideas, depending on your profile

    All of the above are things that we also like doing (except surf!), so we can enjoy them together if you want.
    It is true that there can be smaller or longer periods where I will not have free time to hang around, so it's better to be in a status that you can spend time with yourself only.

    You may use our bike, as long as you are basically experienced and take good care of it (we love our bikes!). We offer tennis rackets and generally speaking a healthy and authentic location! We are located about 1.5 hours from Athens, so you can spend some time getting to know that great city too! The village has a traditional ‘kafeneio’ (coffee shop), where you can have greek coffee or homemade food, as well as a small mini-market. The closest town is 6km away and you can reach by foot or bicycle through a seaside walk and a pine forest. There you will find shops, tavernas, bars etc.

    From Athens airport, you can take the suburban train and come to a station which is very close to our home (about 2 hours ride).

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    You will be able to work either from your room (desk provided) or from our beautiful courtyard with a spectacular sea view!

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    You are welcome to come/park with your campervan. Please send me the dimensions of your campervan to check that this can be done.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours per week as an average, divided in 3 or 4 days per week as an average (there may be longer periods that we'll need help, with equally longer periods for days off for you).

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)











Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 314575397943