Help out on our permaculture-inspired restoration project in Orgiva, Granada, Spain

  • Favorito 34 vezes
  • Última atividade: 30 mar. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are Sumi and Kagan, and we have an 8 year old son Hayyan, and we are looking for help on our 1 hectare farm restoration project. We have an ancient olive grove with approximately 40 olive trees of different varieties, which we harvest in November-December. We also have 20-30 neglected citrus trees which need a lot of care to regenerate. We use a method of flood irrigation using ‘Acequia’ channels originating from the farming methods of the Moors in Al-Andalus. We also have almonds, fig, pomegranate, quince, mulberry, pear, plum, walnut trees and grape vines, and a newly planted herb garden.

    After restoring some of the irrigation channels and installing some drip irrigation we have plans to plant a syntropic inspired food forest; keep chickens; sheep and build a large pond for biodiversity and just because we have a big hole in the land that’s needs a purpose, LOL. We are also aiming to create a multipurpose event space in the land with power, kitchen, seating and shade area.

    We are a Turkish -English couple with family connections in London, Wales and Istanbul.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have chosen this lifestyle in an attempt to become more spiritually connected through a deeper connection with the earth but we are certainly not professionals and we have a lot to learn too. Staying with us there are opportunities for mutual exchange to explore about living more sustainably, regenerative agriculture and permaculture. Sumi used to work as a university academic and is also on the governing board of a small alternative primary school in Orgiva so is interested to talk about all things education and Kagan is a proud Turk so there is much to learn about Turkiye also (whether you want to or not, LOL).

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    There are two options for working at our farmstay. Working on the land, or working in the home.

    Land tasks include digging acequia channels, simple tree pruning, weeding, mowing, watering, making compost, preparing firewood, small building or carpentry projects like building a chicken coop, general maintenance. We try to give a choice of jobs and vary manual Labour with some opportunities to learn new skills and knowledge. In summer it is incredibly hot so we reduce working ours and switch to early morning labouring and late evening watering, with a daytime meal, a long siesta during the day and plenty of time to swim.

    Alternatively, if you prefer and it suits you, it is possible to take on the cooking and child care, and then Sumi is freed up help on the land.

    We look for people who can work independently and show initiative. We trust our volunteers to be responsible for their tasks and keep track of their own hours. We also want to provide opportunities to learn and share skills and knowledge so we want to build in time for that.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Turco: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We provide a caravan, with two double bed sleeping ends, so would suit a couple, a family, two friends or two sharers. We also have a tent with airbed if there are more than 2 volunteers, or if you prefer not to share for sleeping. The caravan is well equipped with hot and cold water, a fan, a gas cooker, microwave and CD player.

    There is also a hot shower and compost toilet on the land not too far from the caravan.

    There is Wi-Fi access at our house for occasional use. So really this suits those who want to ‘unplug’ during this trip.

    We have a proper swimming pool which you are welcome to use in designated hours.

    We ask for 5 hours a day with breakfast stuff provided and 1 main meal. 5 days a week. Or 3 hours a day and fend for yourself for meals. Our cooking is typically traditional Turkish including meat but we can also cook simple vegetarian and vegan meals.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are a 20 minute walk to Orgiva, so you can easily stay with us without a car and walk to the shops or markets and cafes and restaurants. Orgiva is a small but multicultural town in the Alpujarra mountains about 50 minutes drive or bus from Granada.

    The town has a nice vibe with a weekly vegetable market, craft market, some lovely boutique shops, and some nice hangouts including a Moroccan cafe, a nice daytime hangout and a delicious falafel bar with music in the evenings. There are often weekend markets, parties and festivals in rural communities around Orgiva.

    Our farm is alcohol free and drug free. Children are welcome, and we can adapt volunteer hours for couples to suit childcare arrangements, but we point out that there are no boundary fences to our farm. We like to share meals and some social time but we like private time also. Aswell as the caravan for volunteers there is also a yurt available to rent for holidays.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    If you need it we can make a space in the office for you.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have had a 7 metre long HGV campervan access our land.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We have kittens so friendly dogs would be considered.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 313821265286

Comentário (2)


Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicação: (5.0)