Help with our permaculture homestead project in the beautiful countryside in Haloze, Slovenia.

Country

Eslovênia

atualizado  

Favorito 194 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    17/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a native english and slovenian speaking family (irish/slovenian) who recently moved from London for a new way of life closer to nature. We are not farmers, we have a background in performing and media arts but we are learning fast. We are restoring a traditional stone farmhouse and working with the land according to permaculture principles. We have 18 acres (7 hectares) of land which is a mix of meadows, woodlands and soon to be herb and vegetable gardens. We live on the land in tents in the summer months, cook on an open fire, shower using water heated by the sun and use compost toilets. We have electricity, a water supply and some limited Wifi connection. We are low on infrastructure at the moment and that's where we need help! We are not a working farm but we grow some vegetables and might soon get some goats.

    cold weather update: before reading on please jump down to the AUTUMN / WINTER / SPRING SITUATION subsection of the accommodation section to see if the situation suits you - our feedback is all referring to the summer fun we have :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Learn with us about permaculture, gardening, building, herbal remedies, improve your english or slovenian, play music, sing. Learn (and help us!) to identify wildflowers, trees, insects, animals.

    Learn about growing and looking after trees and orchards and the importance of preserving natural ecosystems and wilderness.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    If you are skilled at building/carpentry/natural building this would be useful (for example we have a partially collapsed stone barn that needs new lime mortar and eventually rebuilding). also we have the shell of a house (old stone downstairs, new first floor / roof space) in which we need to do everything, plastering, fixing old mortar, building internal stud walls upstairs

    there are lots of things to do where no previous skill is required including: maintaining woodland, cutting grass, fixing fences, strimming, weeding vegetable gardens, cooking communal meals, moving piles of stuff from A to B.

    we have two young children 10 and 3 years old so the ability to get along with children is important - some childcare might be needed

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Slovenian: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Camping. Basic.

    SUMMER

    Around mid September it gets too cold and damp for camping so we will only take workawayers with their own warm camper vans etc.

    Bring a tent if you have one. We some small basic tents.

    We are "flexatarians" we mostly eat meat-free diet but from time to time we lapse... we are happy to eat vegan etc. if that's what you like to cook (we know its the right thing to do!) .

    AUTUMN / WINTER / SPRING SITUATION

    We have really closed things down and no longer have a community of volunteers
    also we are sleeping in a nearby (50km) city now as the kids have school there

    Its getting colder and wetter and we have no running hot water or heated indoor spaces.

    There is one long term volunteer, Kathy on site staying in her van, and her partner joins at weekends.
    I try to get there at least 3 days a week between 09 and 14:00 sometimes later and sometimes overnight

    i;m currently preparing a wood stove in a section of a converted shipping container for winter volunteers so that might be an option (the other section is my sound studio) .

    Also we have a new roof on our house but this is not yet insulated but is dry and fine for sleeping with lots of blankets etc. at least in the autumn and spring

    But just to let you know that its not so fun as the feedback might suggest during the colder months.
    You would need to be quite independent.

    We do have a clothes washing machine and a outdoor kitchen where water can be heated for washing and cooking etc.

    If these conditions sound OK for you let us know and we can get into the details.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    If you like hillwalking we are on the path to the famous local mountain Donacka Gora. The locals love to forage and collect mushrooms in the woods around us, we are amateurs but learning. There are not much options for nightlife apart from listening to the owls. The skys are often clear and we like to learn the constellations when we are not staring into the campfire.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a 4G LTE+ SIM wifi router which provides a connection around the property via a couple of extenders. we have a monthly data package of 200GB.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    we have some good spaces for campervans and love to host van based travelers #vanlife

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    so long as the pets are child friendly

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)













Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 261348156138