atualizado  

Help street dogs in Xela (Quetzaltenango) Guatemala

  • Favorito 368 vezes
  • Última atividade: 20 fev. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    PLEASE NOTE:
    **You need to be able to communicate in Spanish**
    **We have a 10.30pm curfew so as not to cause chaos with the dogs and the neighbours at night**
    **We have a double room and a single room available. These rooms share a bathroom**

    We are a small street dog rescue located right in the centre of Quetzaltenango (Xela), Guatemala.

    Following a funding crisis in 2022, we had to move from our large country property into the centre of town. This means we have less space, but we're more conveniently located for travelers to enjoy all that Xela has to offer.

    Presently, we have 24 dogs. The smaller space is somewhat chaotic with this many dogs, which is why we always need help with walks and supervision.

    Historically, we picked up mainly female dogs, spayed, vaccinated, flea treated and wormed them and provided whatever other treatments they needed. We returned about 25% of the dogs to the street, found homes for about 50% of them, and the remaining 25% went back to their low-income owners, or people who look after them in the street. However, now in the smaller premises we are simply unable to bring in dogs and are changing the way we operate.

    We plan to close the project in July 2024, and right now we are focusing on finding homes for the dogs that we still have. This means part of your role is taking dogs out in the central park or to weekend adoptions fairs with "Adopt Me" clothing on, and talking to people about adoption.

    The project is run completely voluntarily by the very young at heart Alyce (Australian, 51, has lived here for 8 years, Spanish & English) and Mario (Guatemalan, 44, Spanish only).

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Here you will learn about the street dog problems in Guatemala, and learn about different treatments for common conditions (mange, skin infections, sexually transmitted tumors), as well as vaccination and worming schedules, export procedures to send dogs overseas etc. We are NOT veterinarians, but we see enough things that you're sure to learn plenty.

    Many long-term travelers in Xela are here studying Spanish. This is a great opportunity to obtain free accommodation with a flexible schedule while you study or do other work online.

    Our caretaker Mario speaks only Spanish, so you will definitely get to practice your Spanish. He understands a lot of English, but can`t really speak it.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We need help with the dogs for about 4 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    1) Clean pee and poop from the patio and inside the house - this is ongoing, whenever you're around and you see an accident, clean it up.
    2) MOST IMPORTANT: Walk dogs - about 2 hours per day. Some days might be a long 2 hour walk with other friends in the hills, other days might be 15 minutes per dog leash training dogs on the street outside, or a half an hour or an hours walk in the nearby cemetery. The aim is to get 10-12 dogs out a day. Usually it's possible to take 2-3 dogs per person. Often one of us can come with you.
    3) Stay home with the dogs and supervise if we need to go out. You can do other things during this time like study or cook or clean - you just need to be around at times agreed on to supervise the dogs. This might not be every day... some days it might be 1-2 hours, and other times it might be an entire day while we travel somewhere.
    4) Wash dog blankets and towels and hang to dry - every second day, a couple of machine loads.
    5) Attend veterinary visits and assist with vaccinating, worming, wound care etc in the house - if you'd like to help with this we're more than happy to show you how it all works. We usually go once a week to the vet.
    7) Help with weekly adoption fairs (hang out with dogs for 3-4 hours on a Sunday in a nearby park or shopping centre and hope people are interested in adopting them).
    8) Bathe dogs from time to time.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will stay in a private bedroom and share a bathroom with the other volunteer room (there are separate additional toilets).

    We have 2 rooms - one with a double bed, and one with a single bed. Both have a bedside table, chest of drawers and a desk.

    We can provide you with a Q200 allowance for food each week and you'll have access to a kitchen with all the equipment you need to cook with and a water filter.

    Mario is an experienced chef and will probably cook for you once a week, something exotic like Thai or Indian food. Mario also makes tofu and tempeh, which you can use for free in your own cooking.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are located about 4 short blocks from the very center of town, right by the Las Flores market. You can walk within about 10 minutes to almost everything of interest.

    Within 1 small block of the house there is a fresh food market (Las Flores), a supermarket (Mas y Mas), a large liquor store and various small speciality stores (bakery, butcher, dairy). There are street food stands and other cheap takeaway food only 3 blocks from the house, in front of El Calvario Park.

    The most common thing to do in Quetzaltenango is study Spanish, which you can certainly fit in around the dog chores. It's a medium sized town, so there are enough restaurants, cafes and bars, and yet it's small enough that you'll meet everyone in a couple of weeks. There are several hills around town for hiking, as well as volcano hikes which are done with guides in a one day or overnight trip. For yoga fans there is the very affordable and popular Yoga House. Basically, Xela is a town for living in, not for touristy activities, and that's why we like it!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a 30MB internet connection. As with all internet connections in Guatemala, the speed varies from great, to slow, to the power is totally out today.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    If you have a very well socialized, spayed or neutered dog who is up to date on their shots, we can see how it goes. We have 24 free range dogs so there will be probably some scuffles initially. Our dogs are very used to accepting new additions. Cats and other animals, for obvious reasons, cannot be accepted.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible with hours)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 248218733138

Comentário (4)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Help out at our family lodge right next to the beach and river in Paredon Buena Vista, Guatemala
Help with gardening in Sumpango, close to Antigua, Guatemala