Cultural history projects and outdoor help in Roberts Creek, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 88 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Oops! I thought that I had done this. Retired university prof. Father of 7 grown children. We have a large, beautiful, country home on 15 acres of woodland.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live in an area rich in cultural diversity with numerous opportunities in the arts, music, recreational activities, sports, and education. We also are well known in our community and are much involved in community affairs. Our home is in a lovely rural area known as Roberts Creek that is located midway between the towns of Gibsons, BC, and Sechelt. We are a one-hour ferry ride and bus trip to the major center of Vancouver, BC, where I used to teach at the University of BC. In our area there is also a branch of Capilano University where guests can enroll in courses of interest.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I am a retired university prof and former school teacher. I have a number of projects where I would welcome technical help, including digital entry of stories that have been sent to me from contributors. One of my dominant interests is in archiving and sharing stories from adults around the world about their childhood play. I have an ongoing collection of such stories that count into the thousands. The project is all about preserving our cultural history. Data entry, keyboarding skills, and a good command of English would be necessary skills.
    I also would welcome help on our 15 acre, woodland property, that is a wonderland of forest, streams and ponds.
    I confess to not being a good cook, so would also welcome help in that respect.
    We would endeavour to provide a good balance of indoor and outdoor tasks to helpers. We also do these tasks alongside our guests.
    I would really like to build a large treehouse based upon the advice of well known craftsmen who practice this art. I have books and other references. It would be good to have a guest/helper who had carpentry skills.
    We also have a new Bernese/Pyrenees Puppy (soon to be a giant) that requires training. Could use a good 'Dog Whisperer'
    Hope this gives a good idea of our home, the environs, and out lifestyle.
    WELCOME TO BEAUTIFUL ROBERTS CREEK AND OUR FOREST HOME!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Happy to help with language skill aquisition.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a large, country home on two levels. There is a nice bedroom, lounge, and separate bathroom for WorkAway guests. We are happy to provide groceries, but would welcome help with cooking given my poor skills in that regard.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are on a good bus route and would help with transport as we go out most days. Community opportunities for helpers include swimming at the Aquatic Centre, beach activities, skiing in season, golf, tennis, raquetball, boating, hiking, art, music (we have a piano), Pickleball, local libraries, trips to other centres (including to Whistler, BC). among many others.
    We are non-drinkers, non-smokers, and live quite, healthy life-styles. I have seven grown children. Most days I go to the Aquatic Center for classes and helpers are welcome to join me. I work on the property a lot. As well, I volunteer at my old elementary school and our local community school.
    I think we are happy, positive, good natured people who are much involved in our community. We would like to host helpers who have similar positive dispositions and a good helping ethic.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 245525427674