Small farm needs help with various projects near Darfield, Christchurch, New Zealand

Country

Nova Zelândia

Favorito 438 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    04/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    369

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I have a beautiful and picturesque small sheep farm (50 acres) located near Darfield, and am located about 45 mins from the edge of Christchurch. The farm house is a 4 bedroom Victorian style period villa with lots of character and wonderful views. Some of the land is leased out, but I farm on the remaining 20 acres. I have 30 sheep who are very friendly, all have names and their own stories to tell. I also have 1 horse and 2 ponies, 2 goats, 2 dogs and a cat, all of who are friendly and love attention. There is also a large vegetable garden, a young fruit orchard, a couple of farm buildings and a river that runs through the farm.

    Celia (a solo Mum) works 5 days a week (from home) providing support for Doctors and Medical Centres, as well as running the farm, looking after the kids and everything else!

    Leon (11) and Freya (9) both attend school in Darfield. They play rugby, hockey (turf not ice), and basketball. Freya dances (hip hop, jazz, ballet, contemporary, musical theatre and acrobatics!) and is learning to play the piano, violin and recorder. She also rides her pony at pony club. Leon rides his motorbike, likes target practice with his air rifle, want's to be a pro-scooter star, but is more likely to be an Olympian athlete! This is all in-between spending most of their awake hours outside on their bikes and scooters, or getting wet in the river, or helping out on the farm!

    We grow lots of vegetables and fruit in our garden, fill the freezer with home grown and made food and try to lead wholesome lives. We work hard and play hard!

    We are a fully vaccinated family.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    This would be the chance to experience a real kiwi rural family lifestyle. I can share my knowledge of farm skills, animal husbandry, gardening, environmental management, sustainable living and maintenance skills.

    We eat as much home grown and raised food as we can, which reduces my food bills considerably and reduces my carbon footprint significantly. Everything we eat is cooked from individual ingredients with as little processed content as possible. I can share with you how to prepare, preserve and store home grown produce.

    Helping us would mean you could become part of our household and family. Previous helpers remain in contact with us and some even plan to return to visit us on their next trip to NZ. We've made some wonderful friends through hosting our previous visitors, and we hope that you could become friends for life.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I need help with the following....

    -Help looking after the animals - dogs, cat, sheep and lambs, plus horses.
    -Farm and outside chores - for example: gardening, weed and bush clearing, stacking wood, landscaping, river management, fencing, sheep work, house and building maintenance. We never run out of jobs outside the house!

    If you have a good and knowledgeable background in horse riding then it is possible that you may be able to ride the horses, however you would need to be very experienced and capable of riding young/excitable horses. This offer is not able to extend to beginners or novice/nervous riders.

    The farm is a 18 km from Darfield and shops/cafes, but the views at home are epic, the company is fun and it's a safe, friendly home.
    The help we need would be approx 20 hours per person each week....depending on what projects we have going on at the time.

    So, if you want to stay with us and have access to family and farm life then this may be just what you need!

    We would need you to:
    -speak a fairly good standard of English
    -be a non-smoker (100%)
    -stay for a minimum of two weeks

    I can cater for and accommodate meat eaters, vegetarians, gluten free and Coeliac diets. Any other dietary requirements can be discussed but purchase of specialised foods would be the workawayers responsibility.

    I have two (very friendly) dogs and a cat who live in the house too, so you need to be happy to have animals around you.

    There is a daily (Mon-Fri) bus from Christchurch to Darfield if you have no transport of your own, or I may be able to collect you from Christchurch at the weekends.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Everything would be provided for you including fun, food, internet, washing machine, fresh air and mountain views!

    You would have great company, lots of new experiences, a room to stay in and no living costs.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are close to the mountains, Arthur's Pass, Castle Hill (features in Lord of the Rings & Narnia), Cave Stream, 2 Ski fields (Mount Hutt and Porters ski fields), Rakaia Gorge (Salmon fishing), Waimakariri Gorge (swimming place), local amenities at Darfield (big ice creams at the dairy, shops, library, post shop, mechanincs etc), and only an hour from Christchurch City centre.
    NZ, and Canterbury specifically is the best place to live in the world!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Unlimited WiFi from my mobile phone hot-spot, so when I'm out there's no Internet. I'm home most of the time though!

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20 hours per week per person - flexible

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 243694144434