Help with a DIY project in eco-tourism in an amazing fishing village on Brier Island, Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 58 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 11 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi. We are Michael McKinnell and Lauren McCarron. Lauren is a chef, florist and artist and Michael has worked many jobs Including language and computer instruction, carpentry and various posts in the government. We are planning an Eco-tourism site for people to enjoy the many outdoor activities offered in the area.

    We live in the lovely village of Westport on Brier Island, Nova Scotia, Canada. The area is extremely popular for whale and bird watching. The warmest spot in winter and coolest in summer in all of Nova Scotia.

    We have recently purchased the old elementary school here and are going to fix it up over winter.

    The small cottage we live in also needs more work…and a sauna 🙂.

    Check out Brier Island on line. Right in the Bay of Fundy, super high tides twice a day, an active fishing village with a large conservancy area, incredible hiking and of course, ocean all around.
    Westport is 2 island hopper ferries to the mainland. Each ferry is a 7 minute ride with great views! The town of digby is a 1.5 hour drive from our house including ferries. We have an “everything store” here so trips to digby are about once a month.
    We have both been all over the world and this is where we landed 🙂. It’s really special. We have hosted a dozen times so we know the deal…and, did I mention Lauren is a chef.
    We are both double vaccinated, and would require proof that you are as well.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have quite a diverse skill set so there are many things you can learn (languages, carpentry, cooking, rug hooking, painting, fishing…and the list goes on).

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The school property requires a major overhaul. We are contracting out much of the work but there are always things to do. Our little cottage also needs to be finished. Other duties would include light housework and general help. We can teach you languages, cooking, construction, gardening and more. Focusing the work on a skill you would like to acquire or an activity you enjoy would be important.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Depending on the number of workers, we have a guest room in the cottage and we also have room at the school. Trust me, you will be comfortable and well cared for.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Let’s be honest…this is a small village that dips to about 66 residents in winter time. Winter is lobster fishing season and that is what most people do here. In summer there are a lot of tourists who come to enjoy the whale watching, hiking and bird watching. It is quite a quiet place in winter. There is one store. Yes, one store 🙂…that has pretty much everything including hardware, gas and liquor. We love it. Do a little research and you’ll see what a magical place it is. If you need nightlife, shopping, cinemas I would say look elsewhere. If you love the ocean, the outdoors and real salty people check it out.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Yes.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Lots of room.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 234395187795