Join me in nature, healthy living and ecosystems preservation in Quintãs de Cima, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 3 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    22/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi, I'm Frederico, a Portuguese guy originally living in Lisbon.
    I have a master's degree in management and finance but after spending several years sitting in front of a computer in a soul crushing routine I decided to take action on my love for nature, healthy living and ecosystems preservation.
    I gave up my job, gathered all my savings and after a couple of years voluntering in farms around Portugal I found my dream land and my calling.

    The quinta is a 45 hectare (111 acres) farm located on the northern tip of the Serra da Estrela Natural Park.
    There is a village neighbouring the farm with a small coffee shop and a town 6 km away with all the shops and services.
    The land is mostly a mixed forest of oaks, pines and chestnuts growind wild. There are two streams bordered by willows, hazels and wallnut trees. Besides the forests there are smaller areas for grazing and farming and slightly larger areas with brush and invasive species.
    There is a small stone house completely renovated by me in 2021/2022 with all modern living conditions.
    At the moment I am the only person living permanently on the farm with the ocasional visit from friends and family.
    There are a lot of interesting and chalenging things to do so I would apreciate both help and pleasent company very much.
    My project aims to protect and regenerate the forests; the grazing areas and the farming areas and to restore the areas that have been invaded by brush and invasive species because of wild fires and incorrect pratices from previous owners.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am very interested in healthy living. Besides farming I like to cook healthy food, including fish and meat, and have experience cultivating probiotics like Kefir and Kombucha. I also know how to make saurkraut altought I am not completely satisfied with the results so far.
    Other major hobby is music, not only listening but also playing and writing.
    I will be glad to teach any of the skills I have and the rich culture of the locals

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    At the moment I will need help with clearing the land from brush and invasive plants.
    In the short term I will also need help building a fence to keep animals.
    Later I would apreciate help taking care of the animals. I plan on raising goats and small numbers of chickens and other farm animals.
    I also plan to start planting gardens and creating an orchard/food forest.
    Workawayers can learn the old and the new practices of tending a mountain farm and spend their free time walking in the trails inside and outside the farm or relaxing by a stream or in the natural pools.

    As a volunteer I always liked hosts who were clear about what they wanted from volunteers so l will do the same.
    I ask for 4 or 5 hours of help per day, at maximum, excluding weekends.
    In the summer we will do things in the early hours of the day, to avoid the scorching heat.
    During the rest of the year the help will depend on the tasks at hand stopping if there is rain or other unpleasent conditions.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The volunteer will have a private bedroom, for 1 person only, and access to the rest of the house.
    Meals can be shared or not depending on the preferences of each person. I will provide the ingredients necessary that are available here.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    For lovers of nature and culture there are many interesting things to do in the farm and close by.
    The farm itself as well as the surrounding Natural Park are beautiful and worth long slow walks to apreciate and discover.
    There is an historical village near by with a towering castle and old streets and buildings also worth a visit.
    The town is also a good place to go with many shops, restaurants and activities.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 232741691477