Come spend time on our tranquil farm in a thriving community near Benfeita, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 99 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I am a single mum who chose to move to Portugal to let my kids grow up surrounded by beauty and nature. My daughter, Shyamalii, is 10 and my son, Narayan, is 7 years old and they are both full of love, life and curiosity and love meeting new people.

    I have been trying my best to follow a yogic lifestyle for many years now. Life for me is all about learning, growing and opening. I would probably best describe myself as a seeker of truth. I am learning more how to be still, to feel and to listen with all my senses. I am into natural holistic health and wellbeing. I love to spend time in nature, swimming and dipping in my idyllic waterfall pool. I enjoy dancing and singing and creating with my hands.

    Our home is in a quiet valley close to the national park, Mata da Margaraça, in the mountains of the Serra do Açor. It is a small farm with terraces and a big flat piece of land at the bottom and borders a river with a beautiful waterfall. It is incredibly peaceful and full of life and the air is a pleasure to breath. We have a beautiful xisto house which we rebuilt since the fires of 2017 and a cuddly black cat called waffles also shared our home.

    While our farm is quiet we are lucky enough to be surrounded by others with their own farms who have also chosen to return to the wild and build a life in nature, 'off grid'. There is a colourful community here with people from many countries and all walks of life, collaborating, learning from each other, sharing art, music, skills and talents.

    My children attend a home education project walking distance from where we live and it is easy to walk to the nearest villages of Pardieiros and Benfeita from us as well as other farms and beauty spots including Fraga de Pena.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can learn about living in nature, off grid, in the Portuguese country side. I am British, but have some Chinese Malaysian roots and my kids are a mix of many cultures themselves including Chinese, Malaysian, British and South American. You can also learn about the yogic diet and lifestyle and spending time with children who are very free thinking.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I have lots of little projects I would like help with on the farm. For example this year I would like to expand my garden and would love to have people who have knowledge of gardening and permaculture come and help me create the beds and help me plant the seeds using principals of companion planting if possible. I would also love some help with designing the use of the land better to help me build a vision.

    I have some building projects I would like help with to create some outdoor structures and I have some indoor DIY tasks as my house isn't completely finished. There are also general maintenance tasks to do on the land such as clearing brambles.

    My kids absolutely love meeting new people, spending time and learning from them and I am keen to have help engaging them in different activities while I do some work or have some quiet time.

    Finally it is always enjoyable to have people around sharing time together and sharing cooking and creating and also helping me keep the home in order. My daughter particularly is very creative and absolutely loves to work with creative people on different projects so any creative skills especially with the hands - sewing, knitting, crochet, mosaic, basket weaving, cooking, baking etc etc are always very welcome. My son loves board games indoors and out so people who enjoy playing games are also very welcome :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I love to learn languages and am really keen to learn portuguese especially with native speakers so we are particularly interested in having native Portuguese speakers (from any continent) come and stay with us. I am also very patient at teaching english.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There are a few options. We have a lovely big caravan at the top of the land which is very spacious and comfortable. It has several beds including a large double and also a kitchen area. There is also an outdoor compost toilet and an outdoor shower connector that can be used to pump water from a bucket. There is no running water but we have plenty of sources locally that we fill up bottles from. You can also park your own van up by the caravan. It is about a 5 minutes walk down to our house or 10 minute walk up from it to the caravan. Another option would be to put up a tent on the flat piece of land on our lowest terrace close the house.

    We like to share cooking and eating with workaways but because there is a kitchen in the caravan there is also the option to cook yourself or do a combination of both.

    I cook healthy, hearty, nutritious vegetarian food and love to learn new recipes from others.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is plenty to do around here. There are lots of beauty spots such as the Mata da Margaraca, national park and Fraga de Pena within walking distance. There are also lots of hidden beauty spots along the river and amongst the trees. There is a lot going on socially especially as we approach spring and summer. We have regular markets, bhajans and other types of gatherings and workshops ranging from permaculture to natural building to basket weaving to circus skills. The list is endless!

    The easiest way to get around is either by foot or in a car although there is a local bus which comes in and out of the area a couple of times a day.

    As I have said we like to share our life with others but we also like to have our own place to retreat to which is why we don't have volunteers stay in our house.

    While volunteers don't need to be vegetarian they will need to respect only eating and preparing vegetarian food at our place.

    While I accept people for a week my preference is for people to stay at least 2 weeks as it can take time to get into a rhythm with eachother. Normally we like to review after a week how things are going which gives everyone involved an opportunity to assess how it is working.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    The caravan at the top of our land has good Wi-Fi reception. I don’t have a spare router or dongle though so you would have to bring your own or they are easy to buy around here. The caravan is well set up for working from with a lovely big table.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a big space by our own caravan to park up with a campervan or motorhome. The track to get here is a bit rough but I drive it with my ford focus when it is dry and it is fine. It is a bit more dodgy in the rain.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    I am happy to accept people with dogs.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 223559551652