Help with gardening at my home in Pembrokeshire, west Wales, UK

  • Reino Unido
  • Favorito 312 vezes
  • Última atividade: 29/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Please note: I can't arrange a stay more than 2-3 months in advance. I don't like letting anyone down and long term arrangements aren't possible for me.

    My home is a wonderful 250 year old Georgian townhouse in Pembrokeshire. The house is large so always something to clean, tidy, repair or paint.

    If you contact me:
    Tell me what you can do, please do not send a generic email. I tend to respond the same day.

    There is a large garden and it needs weeding, tidying, cutting back, some digging. One area is quite overgrown.

    Those able to do lime stone walling, lime plastering, especially welcome. If you are able, I will consider a longer term stay doing general maintenance.

    Sorry, I cannot make food for vegetarians, you would need to cook for yourself though of course I will supply the funds for your shopping. Gluten free is fine.

    I sometimes offer B&B. I was semi retired before Covid anyway. For insurance and health and safety reasons, I am the only person who deals with guests, there is no cross over should I decide to take any. You're helping me and my home and garden so I regret there is no hourly payment.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I will do my best to assist you in your spoken English language and will take time to do so.
    My main interest is in WW1. I enjoy making things, especially millinery, beading, simple sewing, reading. If you are creative that will be great. Sharing knowledge and interests. If you can use a sewing machine, this could be useful. I really admire creative people and those who are good at something, whatever that may be.

    Wales is beautiful. This house and the area are steeped in history. Pembroke Castle is an ancient monument as are the town walls. There are many castles nearby. The marine life along the coastline is diverse and would be of interest to those so inclined. The nearest beach is 4 miles away, others 7-10 and many more further away. The Pembrokeshire Coastal Path was voted No. 1 in the WORLD by Lonely Planet.

    Fantastic walking, hiking, fishing, coasteering, canoeing and surfing, all within easy reach.
    Not sure what you can learn from me but you can certainly learn from the area.

    These days, I am semi retired and my business just covers some household expenses so you will not be earning money. But I will be offering excellent accommodation and food and you will have lots of free time to explore and take advantage of the area. I promise I'm no slave driver but would expect happy help for the times agreed.

    I would consider having you stay for several weeks, usually only once we have met, but if you have good reviews I will consider longer. You might want to get a paid job nearby and stay a while, we can see.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    REPAIRING LIME STONE WALLING
    CARPENTRY

    Gardening
    Painting walls inside and out.

    I have availability for up to 2 Workawayers.

    The house is historically listed so painting etc has to be done well. Little and large repair jobs are always waiting in a house like this.
    I have a regular gardener who mows the lawns and does all the cutting and work needing machinery. The garden is large, so help is always welcome.

    Cleaning, ironing etc and in help to tidy the house also welcome. I really want to declutter so I can move. If you are a neat and tidy person, you may be able to help.
    Man or woman, whoever has an orderly mind. Also knows how to sell on eBay.

    I would be happy to arrange a 2 month stay to someone with skills.

    Your help and effort will be appreciated, you will be treated with respect and I expect honesty and decency in return.

    My reviews are excellent, if you are fair with me, I will be more than fair with you, I like to have a happy home so we all have a positive experience.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The arrangement is that you help 5 hours for 5 days and have 2 off. I will do my best to take you out at least once during your stay. My offer is of a beautiful room inside an exceptionally beautiful house, quality food and you will be treated with respect and appreciation for your help. Quality work in exchange please.

    Own room or shared if a couple, possibly sharing a bathroom/possibly private bath, depending on business. Rooms are large, nicely decorated, comfortable, most have tv, all have kettle, hand basin, quality linen etc.. Wifi. The house is beautiful. There is an AGA in the kitchen which is ever ready to make food and the kitchen is always warm in winter. Huge garden to sit in.

    VEGETARIANS AND VEGANS PLEASE NOTE:
    I cannot make separate meals and I definitely eat meat, you can have the money to shop and cook for yourself, I want you happy.

    Generally I do the cooking for dinner, but you can show me your signature meals if you have any.
    Make your own breakfast and lunch.

    I'm happy to chat over meals but often by evening like to read or watch TV without much conversation. Netflix and chill! I would not want you to feel lonely, but you might be alone quite a bit if only one Workawayer here. Conversing in another language can be very tiring so you may be glad for the silence! I prefer helpers who are confident enough to venture out, use buses and trains without needing me. I don't want you to be unhappy and bored always waiting on me.

    I will supply: a dressing gown, bedding, towels, shower gel, soap, bubble bath, shampoo, conditioner.
    I supply gardening gloves, and goggles and a hard hat if necessary and tools for jobs.

    YOU WILL NEED SENSIBLE INDOOR SHOES OR SLIPPERS. NO FLIP FLOPS. too many stairs and uneven floors to slip or fall down.
    If gardening you will need sensible shoes/boots and or wellingtons and clothes which can get dirty and a jacket or coat which can withstand showers. (I have some spare wellies.)
    No smoking in the house nor alcohol.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I can offer advice on the cheapest ways to travel to Pembrokeshire, a hidden gem. It is 250 miles from London, please don't contact me if you don't know you will need to travel.
    There are 15 pubs in Main Street, few you will wish to frequent!! I like films, cinemas are about 15 miles away, I go if anything interesting is showing. There are nice cafe's serving breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea, one serves dinner too. Several take-aways Chinese, Indian and Pizza. There is a nightclub open Friday and Saturday nights. Pretty walks by the Mill Pond and around the town walls.
    Pembroke Castle is well worth a visit. This area has many castles.
    Fantastic surfing beach at Freshwater West, lessons can be arranged. Many of my Workawayers have loved to surf.
    Tenby is a very popular, pretty, seaside town, 20 minutes away by train, or 50 mins by bus.
    There is a good theatre and cinema in Milford Haven, using the bus, you can only get to and from afternoon performances. There is a pretty marina and some nice shops, an art gallery and places to eat. On your day off, if you go early, you can look around, have some lunch, watch a film, get the last bus and be home for dinner.
    Historic area with fantastic coast nearby. Buses within a minute or few minutes walk, local train 4 minutes walk away (Swansea to Pembroke Dock.) I can occasionally take you by car to nearby towns but you cannot rely on me for much visiting of the area.
    There is a theme park about 8 miles away with one of the few remaining wooden roller coasters in the world.
    Nighttime and winter public transport is frankly pathetic. In summer, daytime public transport around the coast is good.
    If you have transport or can get a lift, you can go further west. St David's is the smallest city in the UK but has a spectacular cathedral and some nice shops and good places to eat. Yet more wonderful coastline. I love the Pentre Ifan stones which are near Fishguard, a mini Stonehenge.

    Cardiff is just under 2 hours away by car or 3 1/2 hours by train and a bus at 9am daily a few yards from the house. London = 2 trains 5 1/2 hours. There is a coach which takes 7 hours 20 mins (Megabus to Pembroke Dock) and if you book ahead can cost as little as £5! Leaves London Victoria at 5pm daily. I can collect you at the ferry terminal in Pembroke Dock. (Pembroke and Pembroke Dock are two different towns about 2 miles apart.)
    If you surf, Freshwater West is a great place, or you can get lessons and use of equipment for about £40 Great rock climbing and beautiful coastal and inland walks. If you're energetic and live the outdoors, this is a wonderful area.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 212798177876

Comentário (7)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)













Sailing family living in the countryside with seven-month-old daughter, Edenbridge, UK
Exchange of ideas at an eco village community near Clunderwen, Wales, UK