Experience life as a member of a traditional Mayan community.

Country

Guatemala

Favorito 321 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    07/02/2020

 
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My family and I live in Santiago Sacatepéquez, just outside of San Lucas in Guatemala. We are a 40 minute bus ride from Antigua, totaling 8q each way. In addition to working full time I like to do all I can to help out in the community. Our local schools are in need of English teachers. The kids love learning English, but don't get enough practice. I'd like to open up my home and welcome you to come teach the children and adults in our community. This is not a large scale volunteer organization, but rather a chance to work closely with and experience life as a member of a traditional Mayan community.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Prática de idiomas
    Ensino

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Volunteers can expect to teach for around 3 hours in one of the local schools on most week days, and tutor privately for 1-2 hours on the week end. Some days will not require any teaching at all, and you will be free to simply relax or explore the surrounding town and scenery, or help to construct one of our local community gardens.

  • Idiomas

    English: Fluente
    Spanish: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A large private room on the top floor of our home, with access to a balcony overlooking the village. There is electricity, hot water, wifi, cable and a kitchen available for use.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    This is a true work exchange opportunity, and as such I am not asking for any sort of payment from volunteers. However, you will be expected to provide food for yourself. Our home is about five minutes away from a large outdoor market with tons of local fresh produce, as well as a supermarket, panderia, and butcher. There are also a number of food vendors, and restaurants, where meals can be purchased for 5-15q. There are typically multiple people staying in my home. Volunteers in the past have often worked out a system where they would cook one bulk meal a day for the household in exchange for other meals throughout the day.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    3

  • ...

    Este anfitrião cobra uma taxa

    Saiba mais
    2$ a day


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 212272528848