Hands on assistance on our acreage in the beautiful Windermere Valley, BC, Canada

  • Favorito 81 vezes
  • Última atividade: 8 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our Pack (an older couple with some rather large rambunctious dogs) is currently in the midst of several renovation projects (husband a cabinet maker/wood sculptor/log home builder) on fifteen forested acres with a log home and portable sawmill.

    Our location is amazing in that, though the property feels like living in the forest, it is located 10 kilometers away from the great small town of Invermere BC and numerous golf courses, hot springs, hiking trails and lakes. In the winter there are two ski hills, skating lake and skinny ski opportunities as well. The Banff/Lake Louise Alberta area is approximately a two hour drive away with more fantastic activities. The city of Calgary offers lots of urban activities as well three hours from us.

    We are very interested in longer term stays. As public transportation doesn’t reach us, you will need to have your own transportation (four wheel drive ideal for winter months).

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    An interest in learning new skills or honing existing ones with respect to a rural renovation. A desire to learn and share knowledge regarding doing any kind of home renovation, landscaping and also working with different types of wood, carving and woodworking. As well as our accommodation listed above we also have a back country basic cabin (no electricity, no running water, no internet or cell phone service) about half an hour away available for a getaway for a real wilderness experience with amazing hiking/cross country ski/snowshoe and gorgeous vistas! And balancing that with a love of the outdoors, and meeting new typically Canadian EH! folks would make this a great stay.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The property needs brush clearing and landscape love. Work on wooden decking/carport and rock work; wood staining, basic carpentry, fencing and firewood. We are a great place for someone interested in learning about working with wood/wood slabs/logwork as in structural or project driven. We have a portable sawmill for milling our own logs from our property and hoping to continue milling into the late Fall. Experience with handyman type tools required and some experience with chainsaws, basic electrical /plumbing knowledge would be extremely helpful.

    Helping out with the dogs (three very large Newfoundland/Great Pyrenees mixes) possible grooming, play yard maintenance, occasional dog sitting.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We are asking for 24 hours per week with a flexible schedule.

    Accommodation is a private suite located above the shop 100 ft from the main house. It has a kitchen, bedroom with king bed, second bedroom with queen bed, linens and dishes all supplied, satellite TV, and deck with small BBQ. Cute little wood burning stove (all wood supplied). Laundry facilities available in the main house. As with the entire property, it could use some work as well but is quite comfortable. Lunch supplied on work days, helpers responsible for making their own evening meals and all meals on days off - reasonable grocery stipend plus food supplied locally sourced as much as possible.

    We also have the capacity for camper/van potential with less required hours etc. - pls reach out.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We work hard and are pretty chill. Low key lifestyle, generally early evenings. We try to be very respectful of other folks space and hope for the same. Prior to our return to Canada we hosted many work exchange individuals (often found through word of mouth) a positive experience with new found friends and family along the way. We are hoping that Workaway will help us with the same now we are home. We have both been fully vaxed/boosted with respect to Covid.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Now have Starlink

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Easily accommodate most sizes Have a private site with electrical hookup and hose available - interested workawayers please feel free to reach out as our calendar availability is ONLY based on the Suite as described. Check in regarding dates as we have much more availability for this type of hosting.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Possible in certain circumstances - definitely need to discuss.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    24 hours weekly, fluid schedule to be discussed

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 211375775967

Comentário (5)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)








Help with looking after our home and garden and enjoy city life with access to nature in Fredericton, Canada
Experience ranch life in Merritt, Canada